We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our beach stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Ranked #35 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
354 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“our beach stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed at this place according to the recommendation of our tourist guide. The room is quite spacious. The bed is quite comfortable. but just basic for hotel. The Lost Horizon is just a few steps from the beach shore. the resort is very accessible restaurants and they serve meals just across the beach shores, which makes it very romantic. But service, very very bad service at Lost Horizon. They are just lucky if the entire beach resorts are full which make tourists nowhere else to stay. I hope the owner of Lost Horizon will train their staff for customer service orientation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losthorizonresort, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We review and appreciate all comments received by our valued guests. I am glad you enjoyed our accommodation and apologize for the lack of customer service attention you received in the dining area. I have taken action to ensure personnel are attending to the customer needs. I again thank you for bringing this to my attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    147
    91
    44
    42
See reviews for
80
141
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

I couldn't find a specific entry on trip advisor for this hotels restaurant. I would not recommend it. We orders some fresh BBQ squid - which was not even cleaned. The ink actually squirted all over my boyfriend! Even the beaks were inside and to top it off it was over cooked and wasnt seasoned.
The rest of the food - pork adobo, garlic rice and grilled eggplant was small in size and actually cold! It was like it was sitting there for a while before it was served to us.
I can't comment on the accommodation but for sure we won't eat here again. Total disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

I booked my guests in this hotel, and as a privilege they gave me 1 night free accommodation as a travel agent partner. There services were great and especially the staff that makes our stay so great.. Hoping for the next bookings with this hotel partner...

Many Hotels/Resorts are there, but one of the few (LOST HORIZON) are chosen..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred_L0rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losthorizonresort, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We appreciate your positive comments. We are looking forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here with a lot of family in three rooms at teh annex. perfect choice as the rooms were clean, full service and had all teh amenities. Had planned on one fan room but decided to get an aircon when we discovered there was no TV in teh fan room. That was kinda strange...

Short walk to beach and that helps get away from teh music, singers and side show that's going on nightly. Tried teh food at the main resort on two occasions initially, but it took an hour to prepare each time and it was not impressive, so looked for other option up and down the beach. Did love the barbeque a couple of places to teh left 9on teh way to the thai place).

Room Tip: I would prefer teh Annex over main resort every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olaf k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was my second stay within the last 3 months, I chose this place because of my desire to dive with Bohol Fun Divers, who handled the hotel reservation on my behalf.

As others have pointed out, the water supply is brackish, but I suspect that is unavoidable given the location - I remember being warned of this several years ago when I stayed at the Alona Beach resort.

The rooms are ok, nothing more, nothing less. Sure there is a new flat screen SONY TV fitted, but to be honest when I go on holiday I have better things to do than sit and watch TV.

As others have commented, the staff are not very quiet when going about their duties. The clean linen store was just outside our room, and on several mornings we were woken before 0600 hrs by someone opening and closing the storeroom door very clumsily.

Service at the restaurant was my biggest gripe on both occasions - its very erratic, as is the food. When we stayed there in may, many of the staff we were told were "OJT - On the Job Training", so by August one might have expected rather more consistency, but alas that was not the case. It seemed to us, that what was missing was a level of supervision.

The other thing we did not enjoy was the "live musicians" in the evening. I am a lover of live music, but I'm afraid the music here drove me away. But there are a variety of good places to eat, including Guissepi's which is excellent.

Room Tip: I would ask for rooms on the 2nd or 3rd floors. the ground floor would be very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

If the construction was finished, I would recommend the Eco rooms. One night they were still working at 10 PM. I will give staff credit for acting quickly upon complaints. Right on the beach, room was clean and everything worked. My ONLY complaint was the construction after 5 PM. I would stay there again if the construction was completed, otherwise pay up and stay in a room near the pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesi_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost Horizon A, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We appreciate all comments both positive and negative received from our customers. We apologize for the construction during your visit but we were upgrading our standard and deluxe rooms with split type air cons. In some rooms we changed the beds, upgraded the lighting, added granite tables and mirrors. All construction noise was to stop by 5PM but on one occasion the workers continued till 10 PM. All major construction will be completed by 18 Aug 2012. Again we apologize for any inconvenience during your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a trap, looks good in ad but don't live up to the expectations. Checked in, room was dirty, moldy and stinky, no towels, shower broken, and the electric didn't stay on with the key. Visited the lobby 4 times, seemed like the staff did not care or was to use to these complaints. We were scheduled for four nights, checked out after the first night. Even for the price, I would never stay there, I'd rather sleep on the beach and bath in the ocean. Try another hotel or resort, the extra $20 is worth it.

Room Tip: Try another resort, this is far from resort but more of a frustration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dougz1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losthorizonresort, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
We appreciate all comments from our guests. Upon checking out I spoke with you and listened to your linty of complaints. Afterwards I proceeded to your room and as you depicted all complaints was indeed valid. I do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. I have taken disciplinary action by suspending one employee and reprimanding the other. The lack of towels has been rectified. The shower and faucets have been repaired. The air con has been cleaned and repaired to preclude leaking. I again apologize for the deficiencies noted and I will personally inspect rooms more often. Thank you again for bring these problem areas to my attention. I hope you will find the possibility to try our resort once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Panglao Island hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#14 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#23 of 48 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#10 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pyramid Beach Resort
Pyramid Beach Resort
#19 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#9 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms Cove Bohol
Palms Cove Bohol
#3 of 5 in Danao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort

Property: Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Address: Alona Beach Rd, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort offers low price accommodations with restaurant, Bar and beach BBQ as well as a live band 6 days a week, located in the famous Alona Beach, Panglao Island, Bohol, Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Horizon Hotel Panglao Island
Lost Horizon Panglao
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing