We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking Luster and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Reviewed August 7, 2012

What a trap, looks good in ad but don't live up to the expectations. Checked in, room was dirty, moldy and stinky, no towels, shower broken, and the electric didn't stay on with the key. Visited the lobby 4 times, seemed like the staff did not care or was to use to these complaints. We were scheduled for four nights, checked out after the first night. Even for the price, I would never stay there, I'd rather sleep on the beach and bath in the ocean. Try another hotel or resort, the extra $20 is worth it.

Room Tip: Try another resort, this is far from resort but more of a frustration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dougz1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losthorizonresort, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

We appreciate all comments from our guests. Upon checking out I spoke with you and listened to your linty of complaints. Afterwards I proceeded to your room and as you depicted all complaints was indeed valid. I do apologize for any inconvenience during your stay. I have taken disciplinary action by suspending one employee and reprimanding the other. The lack of towels has been rectified. The shower and faucets have been repaired. The air con has been cleaned and repaired to preclude leaking. I again apologize for the deficiencies noted and I will personally inspect rooms more often. Thank you again for bring these problem areas to my attention. I hope you will find the possibility to try our resort once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

214 - 220 of 407 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is not up to our standards. The water in the shower is salty. You have to brush your teeth using purified water. The sink has a foul smell. We reserved for additional persons and they merely provided mattresses placed on the floor.

The size of the pool is not as we expected. Photos of the pool shown in their website are deceiving. Pool is too small and is salty. I think, it’s not treated at all. You can feel the algae in its wall. Even the kids don’t want to swim in the pool.

Food at the restaurant is expensive compared to other Alona beachfront restaurants. Personal pizza, pork sinigang, sizzling sisig, rice and soda for 3 cost more than Php1K. You can order the same food in another Alona beachfront restaurant at half cost.

We made a reservation and down payment was deposited in their bank account. We even e-mailed the copy of the deposit slip and received a confirmation from them. When we arrived at the front desk, they said that we have no reservation. We were surprised and mentioned the name of the staff who confirmed our reservation. Hearing this, they said we indeed have a reservation. There is clearly lack of coordination among reservation staffs or reservation data base is not adequately placed.

Don’t try their eco-rooms. It is located at the back portion of the property. It is like the barracks for the staffs, not a hotel room.

They even allow cars and tricycle to park inside the property near the rooms. Thus, noisy.

The room split type aircon is not that cool.

Worst hotel I’ve been. We immediately transferred to another hotel after staying for only one night as the kids complained.

Room Tip: Avoid eco-rooms unless you like to sleep in barracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a week in July. There aren't really any amenities other than the restaurant and a very tiny pool so I'm not sure I'd classify it as a "resort" but overall it's good value for the money and the location is great. The rooms are small and basic but they are clean and decorated simply. The water pressure/temperature tended to vary by day but overall it was ok.
The restaurant is not the greatest and due to other negative reviews (foursqure mostly) we only ate breakfast here. I requested well-done eggs but that only actually happened 1 time out of 5... The service is ok, they're not particularly friendly but not pushy either. Unfortunately there was construction going on throughout our stay so it was quite noisy.
Basically if we want a great location and simple clean accommodations for at a good price you can't go wrong. If you're expecting something more don't stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here with family and friends last December, my review is long overdue but just happened to remember the hotel...we booked a sunview room and a deluxe room..the sunview room had toilet problems...lots of water coming out of the shower area and sink..and aircon problem too...really old aircon had a man to actually to do something about it but it was no use..was still very hot in the room...so we complained about it when we checked out,we stayed for 2 nights, and they apologized and just gave us some disount...as for the deluxe room..not too good really dark room so opted for a modern room but it was full,was offered the junior suite with a jacuzzi...more expensive but spacious,had a terrace but the jacuzzi wasnt working...if we ever go back to Panglao we would try another hotel..would give this a 2 out of 5...the only good thing about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nat623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losthorizonresort, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate all the concerns voiced by our valued guests. After talking to you during your stay we have recently upgraded the Sun View room to a 2 Hp split type Air Con, added additional lighting new king sized bed with a 13 inch mattress and repaired the bathroom water problem. We are currently upgrading the deluxe rooms to include split type Air Cons, additional lighting, new beds and new on demand water heaters. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here back in Feb 2010 with friends.

Place is affordable, and yet with good enough rooms. Beachfront is along Alona Beach. For more swimming fun, you can rent out boats to go snorkeling in nearby islands.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandnshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

I've stayed here maybe 8 times. It's a nice looking place in a good location with great potential, but they need to tighten up the ship around here. It's almost 5 pm and there still aren't any towels! I'm drip drying right now. also, the drains here never drain. It's just simple plumbing guys, just drop the trap off the pipe under the sink, remove the clog, and reassemble it! OK? It isn't rocket science. I will probably continue staying here, but the place isn't perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a discount or just say you have stayed here before. Worth 20%. Also definitely do the standa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losthorizonresort, Management at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2012

We appreciate your positive comments. We are also grateful for the negative ones otherwise we have no way of knowing these inconveniences that you have experienced. It is much appreciated if you also specified which room type you have stayed in that needs plumbing issue. Anyway, we have instructed all the Room Attendants to check all the rooms for proper draining. We made it sure that towels are provided to all our guests in daily basis. We are very sorry if you were not given a towel at 5PM. It should have been reported at the Office.

We are so pleased to accommodate all our Returning Guests. We have the records of these guests as basis to giving them a discount. We do encourage them to notify all the problems they have encountered so fixing things should be possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lost Horizon- Our Home at Alona Beach, Panglao Island, Bohol.. :)
We stayed here last April 2011 and May 2012 for our annual summer getaway and the location is totally AWESOME! It's a few steps to the beach, in the middle of the resorts, convenience stores and restaurants along the coastline, and offers easy access to boat trips for dolphin watching and island hopping. Masseurs and a henna tattoo artist can be found in front of the hotel's beach area.

The receptionists and staff are accommodating and friendly. They even let me use their main computer so that I could print our e-tickets and boarding passes for our flight back to Manila. :)

Our room (Room B) was clean, the beds and the comforters and the pillows were soft and thick like those at 4-star hotels. Hence, sleep quality was really great. Wi-Fi signal is average but internet connection can be really slow at times (probably due to the number of users). There's a fridge, mini bar, complimentary coffee (maybe 3-in-1 coffee is better than the individualized packet.. or you could just provide extra sugar since 1 sugar wasn't really enough), complimentary bottled water, potable water heater, shower heater, complimentary soap, complimentary shampoo, etc. There's no phone in the room so you have to go all the way to the reception area when you need something. Water from the faucets/ shower was quite salty. Water pressure from the shower as well as the drainage was ok, though. However, the shower and the switch was GRIMY (I hope they do something about this). It would be nice if there was also a bidet. Nevertheless, it was decent enough and everything was functional.

During our stay, our room was well-maintained and restocked with toiletries everyday without us telling them to do so. Minor requests like borrowing of plates/ utensils or requesting for toilet paper and floor towel were met without any fuss or frowns. :)

The food was okay but we found it a bit expensive so we often ate at other restaurants (Pyramid Restaurant is an excellent choice). However, we did have a drink at their bar during happy hour and enjoyed the ambiance there as a band was playing that night.

There are times when we could hear loud conversations and laughter outside our room at noontime. It turns out that some of the staff have gathered there and some of them seemed to be looking for something in the cabinet along the hallway to our room (I'm not sure if it's a supply closet). Anyway, they should really keep the noise to a minimum so as not to disturb guests. They have a really small pool but did you really come to a beachfront hotel just to swim in the pool?

Overall, this resort offered us the best value for our money since it met our limited budget without compromising the quality of our stay. This is definitely my preferred resort whenever I visit Alona Beach. :)

Room Tip: Room F (where we stayed during our first visit) is the best since you can easily access it after you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mifuyu_mikagami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 50 in Panglao Island
534 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#23 of 50 in Panglao Island
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 50 in Panglao Island
221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#22 of 50 in Panglao Island
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms Cove Bohol
Palms Cove Bohol
#3 of 5 in Danao
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort

Address: Alona Beach Rd, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: $52 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort offers low price accommodations with restaurant, Bar and beach BBQ as well as a live band 6 days a week, located in the famous Alona Beach, Panglao Island, Bohol, Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Horizon Hotel Panglao Island
Lost Horizon Panglao
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing