We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO STAY HERE!! :P”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Ranked #29 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lost Horizon- Our Home at Alona Beach, Panglao Island, Bohol.. :)
We stayed here last April 2011 and May 2012 for our annual summer getaway and the location is totally AWESOME! It's a few steps to the beach, in the middle of the resorts, convenience stores and restaurants along the coastline, and offers easy access to boat trips for dolphin watching and island hopping. Masseurs and a henna tattoo artist can be found in front of the hotel's beach area.

The receptionists and staff are accommodating and friendly. They even let me use their main computer so that I could print our e-tickets and boarding passes for our flight back to Manila. :)

Our room (Room B) was clean, the beds and the comforters and the pillows were soft and thick like those at 4-star hotels. Hence, sleep quality was really great. Wi-Fi signal is average but internet connection can be really slow at times (probably due to the number of users). There's a fridge, mini bar, complimentary coffee (maybe 3-in-1 coffee is better than the individualized packet.. or you could just provide extra sugar since 1 sugar wasn't really enough), complimentary bottled water, potable water heater, shower heater, complimentary soap, complimentary shampoo, etc. There's no phone in the room so you have to go all the way to the reception area when you need something. Water from the faucets/ shower was quite salty. Water pressure from the shower as well as the drainage was ok, though. However, the shower and the switch was GRIMY (I hope they do something about this). It would be nice if there was also a bidet. Nevertheless, it was decent enough and everything was functional.

During our stay, our room was well-maintained and restocked with toiletries everyday without us telling them to do so. Minor requests like borrowing of plates/ utensils or requesting for toilet paper and floor towel were met without any fuss or frowns. :)

The food was okay but we found it a bit expensive so we often ate at other restaurants (Pyramid Restaurant is an excellent choice). However, we did have a drink at their bar during happy hour and enjoyed the ambiance there as a band was playing that night.

There are times when we could hear loud conversations and laughter outside our room at noontime. It turns out that some of the staff have gathered there and some of them seemed to be looking for something in the cabinet along the hallway to our room (I'm not sure if it's a supply closet). Anyway, they should really keep the noise to a minimum so as not to disturb guests. They have a really small pool but did you really come to a beachfront hotel just to swim in the pool?

Overall, this resort offered us the best value for our money since it met our limited budget without compromising the quality of our stay. This is definitely my preferred resort whenever I visit Alona Beach. :)

Room Tip: Room F (where we stayed during our first visit) is the best since you can easily access it after you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mifuyu_mikagami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 409 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

very well run place, rooms excellent for the price,serviced well daily, mearls and prices similar to most other places there.
Office staff did thier job, not very much enthusiasm

Room Tip: sea facing would have been the best, may need to go upstairs, we did try to alter ours, but was full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had adjoining rooms on the ground floor. Although the plumbing was sometimes fickle it was a great set up. Well cleaned each day - plenty of towels. We didnt care that there was no phone we were on holidays . Wifi was free and worked.
Only problem was a lot of noise one or two nights from bad karoke.

Room Tip: Its the philippines not ritz london - you're on holidays chill! The service will catch up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boracaybound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I've stayed here 3 times in my 5 times in Panglao and the place never disappoints me. Room rates are very friendly (compared to other places in the area), the rooms are decent enough for the price, room amenities are more than what you would expect for the price, location is excellent. It's right infront of the beach. It's about 20 steps from the beach. Staff are very courteous, polite and friendly and the place is secure too.

There are other resorts in the area that have better rooms and facilities than Lost Horizon but for their prices, you just won't go wrong.

Should I stay here again, definitely YES.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DennisMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
losthorizonresort, General Manager at Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your appreciation of all the details of your stay. Our team will be very very happy that their efforts were appreciated.We will look forward to accommodate you in your future visit.
THANKS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Loacated at the danao beach beside alona kew, our room is quite big but lacks furnitures, just a standart tv and rack, a closet and 2 queens size bed thats it. no chairs no tables, bathroom is simple not that big not that small, still a great place to stay and you'll be outdoors most of the time anyways, but if you plan to stay in your room for a long time this is not the place to stay, the hallways btw is kinda dirty sand are all over the hallway nobody seems sweeping the floor.

The resort is big, lots of rooms and the dinning area is big and beside the beach, especially breakfast time when the weather is great, cool morning beach breeze plus a cup of joe's and free continetal breakfast is absolutely perfect beside the beach in the morning, wifi is free also, but slow, lunch time is great too! you can order from the menu, takes a couple of minutes not hours, grilled seafood is cheap, paired it with an ice cold beer wow! perfect!

So many things to do in bohol besides the beach you can go day tour to the main island of bohol, or you can go island hopping but i personally recommend the sand bar! Dolphin watching is kinda boring coz you have to wake up very very early in the morning and you have to endure the very noisy banca ride for an hour just to chase the dolphins! And you have to have a fast shutter speed dslr with you if you plan to capture those intelligent mamals coz they are so quick!

Snorkling at the marine sanctuary is a must!!! you gotta love the drop off, wow! i mean wow!!!

By night, wife and the kids had lots a fun too, we ate beside the beach with lots of bar-b-q restaurants to choose from, they are all lined in front of the hotels, and so cheap! liempo chicken, seafood wow!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dragster180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed in room no 1 last March 9 to 11, 2012. Although I was expecting a room with a view on the upper floor as promised when I called and made my reservation few weeks prior to the arrival, it was good enough since it has easy access to the pool.

The room is spacious, bed is huge and comfortable even the extra bed we requested is very comfortable (not the usual foam) with two pillow for each guest including the extra person. There’s complimentary mineral water and coffee and you don’t have to request for hot water since a water kettle is already available in the room. There’s flat screen tv with cable channels. There’s no phone but its ok since our room is close to the reception and housekeeping personnel are always on standby whenever we have any request. That’s the same reason why were glad we stayed in room 1.

Swimming pool was okay but they closes at 9PM which is too early.

Food at Café Chicco D’Oro is good, the mango and chocolate pancakes for breakfast is the best.
The staff are attentive specially Helen who served us during breakfast and Lunch.

There was a Bohol wide blackout during our first night that lasted until the afternoon of the next day but the resort has generator back-up great!

Will definitely be back next summer!

Room Tip: Room 1 does not have a beach view but close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBro_Ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

My family went to Bohol last Feb. 27-29, 2012 and stayed at this resort. We stayed at eco3 and eco4 rooms. The rooms were spacious. The beds were comfortable. They gave us new towels everyday during our stay. Though they may not have phones in their rooms, they are attentive with the needs of their customers. Whenever we ask something, they immediately do something to fulfill our request.

They have a small swimming pool and a jacuzzi which is ideal for the place since the main attraction of the place is the Alona beach and not the swimming pool. I think they are the only budget-friendly resort along Alona beach that has a swimming pool for their guests. The food in the resort tasted well. Compared to other "paluto" along the beach, they are the most affordable with large servings and good taste. Though we had to wait for our foods to be served, the foods they served were worth the wait. All the staffs, specially those in the bar and restaurant were friendly and accommodating. (Special thanks to Ate Helen).

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at this resort. How we wish we could extend our stay. We would definitely go back in this resort in the near future.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roscelisip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 50 in Panglao Island
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 50 in Panglao Island
221 reviews
0 mi away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#23 of 50 in Panglao Island
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
189 reviews
1 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#22 of 50 in Panglao Island
91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palms Cove Bohol
Palms Cove Bohol
#3 of 5 in Danao
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort

Address: Alona Beach Rd, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: $57 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort offers low price accommodations with restaurant, Bar and beach BBQ as well as a live band 6 days a week, located in the famous Alona Beach, Panglao Island, Bohol, Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Horizon Hotel Panglao Island
Lost Horizon Panglao
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing