We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, beautiful resort.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
South Palms Resort
Ranked #2 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service, beautiful resort.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

I think this is a new resort and it is beautiful. Service was fabulous. However the resort is far away from stores, restaurant's and shopping so everything was very expensive. Food, tours, water, drinks. Even had to pay extra for mixers for adult drinks. The food was good and the breakfast buffet was very nice. Suggest getting the breakfast and dinner options included with room. You can also walk to the resort next door as they have good food and reasonable prices.

Room Tip: From what I observed all of the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales and Marke... S, Sales and Marketing Staff at South Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hello Bob M,

Thank you for sharing your Bohol beach holiday experience with us. We are overjoyed to know that you appreciated our resort and services. It is truly a pleasure to read positive feedback from our guests. Surely, we will continue our mission of giving our guests the way a Bohol beach holiday should be.

Thank you very much and we look forward in welcoming you back the second time around.


Yours in hospitality,
Alter John "AJ" Chatto
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    206
    49
    10
    5
See reviews for
259
246
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cainta, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Location is great especially if you're on the beachfront. There are more sea urchins on the premium beachfront. Pools are also well-maintained. The pool in front of the resto seem to be heated at night very comfortable and relaxing. View, location, and amenities are great. But the food and service are quite disappointing. The kitchen should have better quality control, based on their mistakes it seems like they don't have standards in this aspect. Same with room service. Be very clear with your orders, requests, and schedules. The staff are friendly but very laid back. They miss appointments, and fail to inform when outside vehicle services arrive to fetch you. Give detailed instructions for room service/make-up services especially throwing empty containers, replacing used glasses and containers. Turndown service available but hit and miss also.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales and Marke... S, Sales and Marketing Staff at South Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi J R,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback. You certainly made some very good observations. Although regret lays over us. we appreciate the opportunity you have given us to improve. Surely your comments will be forwarded to the departments concerned to take immediate actions. Again, thank you very much for your concern, and we apologize for any undue stress this may have caused you.

We hope to see you again and be given the chance to serve you better.


Yours in hospitality,
Alter John "AJ" Chatto
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Our stay in South Palms Resort didn't actually start out right. While the welcome greetings (with cold towels and refreshing drinks) were warm, we've been told that two of the three rooms we've booked aren't yet ready when we came (which surprised me tremendously since I've made the reservation like a couple of months in advance). One wasn't cleaned up yet and the other had an electrical issue. This pissed me a lot more because we actually came 30mins past 2. For roughly 90mins we were crammed to a single room- and we have a lot of stuff with us. So to let loose of my bad mood I decided to take a walk towards the beach, and boy was I stunned! The sea is just awesome, its sapphire color really made a very good contrast to the powdery white sands of the beach. The rest of the resort was tastefully designed- from the youthful colors of the bean bags scattered on the beach and pool area, to the open restaurant and infinity pool. The rooms have this modern touch, and very cozy. We never ran out of things to do esp since they have a gym, a tennis court and indoor recreation (billiards, table tennis and foosball). And true to its words, they have the longest beachfront in Panglao. Later that night we had our ala carte dinner in the restaurant and we absolutely enjoyed the food. The next day was my father's birthday and we had a cake served during our buffet breakfast, plus the staff surprised us when they all sing "Happy Birthday" to my father. We had our island hopping tour after that (which couldn't be more awesome) and when we came back, I checked with the reception if they could grant us late check out of 2pm (esp with what happened when we checked in), to which they obliged. So overall our stay was very good and the family definitely enjoyed. I still recommend this resort if you're planning to visit Panglao.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank sgt_sid16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales and Marke... S, Sales and Marketing Staff at South Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello sgt_sid16,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay at South Palms Resort Panglao. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed the longest white sand beach in Panglao Island. We hope that you get the chance to stay and relax in our resort. Thank you very much and see you soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Alter John "AJ" Chatto
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Went there with my wife and son last june 2, 2014. Stayed for 3 nights on beachfront room.. It was an awesome experience. My son loved the beach very much. The sand is white and clean. The water is clear blue and can actually see schools of small fishes near the shore. The beach is a very long stretch of white sand and not crowded. Very peaceful and relaxing.. Only thing is i hope they can arrange more frequent trips for the island hopping tour.. I think the tour doesnt necessarily have to start very early in the morning.. Anyway i hope we can try it when we come back on dec! :)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Benzene Toluene X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales and Marke... S, Sales and Marketing Staff at South Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Hello Benzene Toluene X,

Warm greetings from sunny Panglao!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at South Palms Resort Panglao. We are happy to know that you enjoyed our very long stretch of white sand beach. South Palms Resort Panglao is committed to provide excellent Bohol Beach Holiday with your family. Thank you very much and see you soon!

Yours in hospitality,
Alter John "AJ" Chatto
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

The place is great. Locals told us that the South Palms' beachfront is the longest in the whole of Panglao. Sand is powdery white - not as fine as Boracay's, nonetheless I enjoyed walking barefoot.

Ambiance here is relaxing. Perfect for R&R. Definitely had a relaxing and comfortable stay! Perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Hotel rates are worth the price and are not as steep and prohibitive as other luxury hotels. Great facilities. I also loved the pillows. :) However, be ready to shell out money for food. The hotel is not easily accessible as in other places. Apart from our booked tours, we were not able to leave the hotel by public transportation. We only went out once to eat food in the resort beside Bohol Beach Club. That was it.

Service is excellent! We were well taken cared of. From our conversations with the reservations officer, to the staff who attended to us for the complimentary airport transfers and assisted us in checking in and out of our room, they were all so nice and accommodating. Staff at the front desk were also very helpful.

My only beef was that they NEVER informed us when we were the drivers of the van and boat came looking for us for our tours. We booked outside tours. We understand that the Hotel wants their clients to book their own tours. However, I think that is only basic courtesy that they should inform us that somebody was looking for us. During our first day, I even asked the front desk staff whether somebody asked for us, but I was told that there was none. An hour later, the driver of our booked tour again went to the desk to look for us. It was only at this point that we were approached by a hotel staff to inform us. We lost an hour or so, thus missed out on a number of tourist spots that are supposedly included in our tours.

On our second day, a similar incident occurred. The boatman told a security staff that he was already there. We were again not informed. Were it not for our prior experience and our initiative to check the boat and ask if he was our boatman, we would have again wasted precious time. We would not have seen the dolphins that only swim very early in the day.

Nevertheless, we still enjoyed our stay. We just hope that this could serve as a lesson for them and they could improve their services moving forward. Will still recommend to my family and friends. However, will still caution them about the tour incidents.

Room Tip: We chose the deluxe beachfront. So glad that we did. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caleeice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales and Marke... S, Sales and Marketing Staff at South Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi Caleeice,

We are overjoyed that you had a great time at South Palms Resort Panglao. However, we would like to apologize for the circumstances that happened during your stay. Nevertheless, your comments and suggestions have been shared to the departments concerned to address the lapses you mentioned.

Thank you very much and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again for another Bohol Beach Holiday experience.

Yours in hospitality,
Alter John "AJ" Chatto
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tagbilaran City, Philippines
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had dinner with a small group. My baby back spare ribs were served cold and had to be returned to be re-heated. They were not baby back ribs but instead two large ribs containing as much fat as meat. The salt shaker did not work simply because it was not mixed with uncooked rice to absorb the moisture. Every restaurant in a humid climate should know that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales and Marke... S, Sales and Marketing Staff at South Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hello Jim S,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your feedback. Thank you very much for being very honest and straightforward with your comments. While we certainly regret the fact that the food served to you did not meet your expectations, we also appreciate that you pointed out the weak points for us to improve. Again, thank you very much for your concern, and we apologize for any undue stress this may have caused you.

We hope to see you again and be given the chance to serve you better.

Yours in hospitality,
Alter John "AJ" Chatto
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Excellent resort! The staff are very nice and friendly, the food was all good, our room was very clean and nice and most of all the beach is very nice. I highly recommend this resort. My family and I will be visiting again summer of next year.

USA

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eldz_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sales and Marke... S, Sales and Marketing Staff at South Palms Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hi eldz_2000,

Thank you for for taking the time to write a review of your experience at South Palms Resort Panglao. It's such a pleasure to hear positive feedback from our guests. We are always delighted that our guests' satisfaction are met. Hence, we will continue our mission of providing an unforgettable Bohol Beach Holiday getaway.

Thank you very much and we look forward for your next booking.


Yours in hospitality,
Alter John "AJ" Chatto
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
1.5 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
1.6 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Henann Resort Alona Beach
#6 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Palms Resort

Property: South Palms Resort
Address: Brgy. Bolod, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Panglao Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — South Palms Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The longest stretch there is in the entire island- South Palms Resort Panglao stands out with its unique blend of spectacular seascape, cool private villas and warm Boholano hospitality. Discover architecture that highlights local craftsmanship and Boholano heritage. Just a few steps from the beach, each of our tropical-styled rooms frames a panoramic glimpse of the sea. And just beyond our sandy shores, marine sanctuaries teeming with aquatic life awaits you. First-class amenities cater to a wide range of activities including sports, business and recreation. Fresh produce and live catch from our farms are delivered daily straight to our kitchens for fabulous meals everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your South Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Palms Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing