We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beach time”
Review of Bohol Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bohol Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We were there with a large group to use the resort and beach. We did not stay overnight. The beach is fabulous,the catered Filipino meal was excellent as well. Our group played volleyball, swam in the ocean and the pools. Both were great experiences. Nice breeze off the ocean kept the temperatures comfortable. The staff were very helpful. Overall it was a nice experience. The resort was in good condition, and about 30 min. from the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explrtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
There are newer reviews for Bohol Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 867 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

As a first time Bohol visitor, I was expecting an old and dated resort, since this was recommended by my older family members. But the hotel is newly renovated and with updated interiors and amenities.

We arrived 5:55 am and we did not check in the hotel as we arrived since we thought we could only check in at 2pm, so we went around tourist spots and each place we visited left me in awe.
Going to the HOTEL... It was a 28 minute drive from the airport, a lot rough roads due to the repairs, but the transporter told stories of each place we passed and the stories of recovery that the 28 minute did not matter. Our driver even bought us to the nearest restaurant and McDonalds as well as grocery store to get food and buy drinks and snacks for the trip, since he mentioned that the hotel drinks and food are a bit pricey.

Arriving at the hotel, the staff greeted us with a warm welcome, like coming back to an old home, the staff immediately took our bags and asked how our trip was and told us the room was ready even at 9am since we requested an early check-in. The staff and was waiting for stories of what we saw along the way... Bohol was hit by a massive earthquake and a category-5 hurricane so most churches and buildings were still left in in rubble but recovering and rebuilding. The smiles of the staff show all is well now and Bohol is back!!
The room is big, and as locals, we opted of the garden-view near the pool since it was cheaper. All linens are still new and furnishings new and a balcony facing the pool and the garden, and since it was private resort, there were only a few guests, so we had the garden and the pool on our own.

The beach is breathtaking, a long stretch of white beach, but my relatives told us that that Bohol Beach club was once 10+acres but sold almost half the resort. So we expected 3 swimming pools but the one they have was not full anyways, most guests were at the white sand pristine beach.

Night swimming at the beach was not allowed, but the security will not tell you to leave and still watch over you even at night. Snorkeling is a must! My daughter started counting starfish and fished and stopped counting at 620. Kids will enjoy the beach, parents too!
Breakfast!! Yummy but a bit limited for my vegetarian daughter, but fruits and bread was delicious! Lunch and dinner portions are big and can be shared for those on a diet. The adjacent resort is a little noisy, but my teenage daughter enjoyed it, since there was not bars and entertainment at night in the BBC Resort. Adjacent resorts have a grill restaurant where locals and some foreigners dine. Baby back ribs with vegetables and ice tea for 3$ USD is favorable enough, fresh seafood can be grilled, just select from the catch of the day, we had white marlin and grilled pork with sautéed vegetables. We ate while being serenaded by a man playing a harp, Yes a harp!
The resort had a game room and a business room that we never noticed, because just the amenities at the beach would take more than 3 days. The things at the beach that you see during low tide is a wonder, from shells to starfishes to urchins to little holes that spew out really cold freezing water on a summer was a wonder on its own.

BOHOL !! Amazing!!


PROS: Rooms with fast wi-fi, big comfy beds, clean sheets and towels, with refrigerator and safe, clean large shower, toiletries and water provided. Individual porch and clothes drying area for wet clothes. Staff is ready on hand for anything we need like extra ice and ice-cold water. Price of food and drinks was not as steep as we expected, room service soda with a bicket of ice is less than 1.5 $ USD. Meals and entrees is 200-350 Php, less than 6$ USD.

CONS: Can't think of any .. 3 days was too short!!


A MUST for beach lovers, people who need a quiet time and anyone who wants to relax and enjoy..

Room Tip: As a first time Bohol visitor, I was expecting an old and dated resort, since this was recommended b...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luv2Viaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The resort has been recently renovated. It's located on a big open space by the beach. As soon as you enter the resort , you can see all the lot up to the metal fence separating the resort from the crowded public beach nearby. It's obvious this resort aims to filipino guests rather than foreigners, and even if the price is kind of expensive, there is unfortunately no upscale vibe at all. Lot of filipino guests, guys wearing basketball jerseys and basketball hats drinking their San Miguel beer while the girls are taking selfies and checking their facebook, not very different than any place in Cebu, so long for the change of decor... It was screaming 'cheap resort' to me... Beachfront appears nice at first, although I really didn't like at all the presence of an armed guard standing next to lounge chairs where tourists was chilling. I didn't came to a resort to see an armed guard like I'm in a pawn shop in Cebu. My wife was feeling concious to wear her two piece and prefered to stay in our room because of this guy staring at the tourists. There is a swimming pool but there was a lot of people swimming, lot of excited kids. As for the rooms, ours was newly renovated. The soundproofing is mediocre, you hear slammed doors every minute The drainage of our shower was not working, it took one night to empty the water accumulated from 1 shower... The food served at the only restaurant of the resort was way below average. I really didn't like it. The so called usda beef they serve tasted like an old shoe. A lot of guests ate at the cheap barbecue place next to the hotel, that says a lot... There is nothing else in this resort than a restaurant and a swimming pool. No gym, no recreation center for kids. There is a restaurant, a swimming pool and of course the beach, that's it. Speaking of the beach, it was painful to go swimming because of the many small rocks. Also a lot of garbage underwater at a few meters from the shore. There was even a couple of tires ! During low tide, everyone could see the garbage, rocks and tires, and guess what, there was absolutely no one to pick it up! Anyway, I will not come back and I don't recommend this place to foreigners / westerners, you will probably be disappointed as I was.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jasperzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Thoughts on:
* Room - Really cold aircon in a nice clean newly renovated room.
* Food - Everything we had tasted good! Unfortunately there's not much variety. There are other places to eat nearby though.
* Service - Good service. Very helpful staff. They helped us with all our requests.
* Facilities - All the basics plus arrangement for water activities & tours. Pool was nice, loved the hammocks by the beach.

Pros:
* Newly renovated so everything still sparkles!
* Awesome beach. Probably one of the best beaches in Bohol.

Cons:
* They sold a good portion of the resort so the beach isn't as long as it used to be.
*  Car service needed to get to Alona beach. (Expensive!)

Verdict:
Great value as long as you don't need to go to Alona beach everyday. Perfect for a quiet vacation. Will book again!

Room Tip: Cluster 100 is furthest from piblic beach which can get noisy.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed at Bohol Beach Club (BBC) for 5 days (May 23 - 27). We normally go to Boracay but opted to try a new beach this time. We have heard fabulous things about Panglao Island and we're excited to see it. We were very happy with our vacation. My kids, age 8 and 5, both boys, loved Panglao and Bohol.
Before choosing our hotel, we read a lot of reviews and reading all these reviews got us even more confused! It was a tough choice between Bellevue and BBC. In the end,we chose BBC because we wanted to have that tropical resort ambiance and not the hotel ambiance. We definitely made the right choice.
Upon arrival, we were met at the airport gates and ushered to a Hyundai Starex van that was spacious and well airconditioned. The trip to the hotel was about 30 minutes. When we arrived, we got our welcome drinks of Pandan juice which was refreshing. We were given our room number and when we got to the 2-storey building that housed our room, we greeted by the staff and given cold face towels which was well appreciated, especially since it was so hot.
Our room had a queen and a double bed which was ample space for me, my husband and 2 kids. Room had a ref, TV which had cartoon network to entertain the kids, safe and an individual split type inverter aircon. The toilets were clean and spacious and came with toiletries. I told the manager that a bidet was the only thing missing. He informed me that they had already purchased bidets but had not completed installation yet. The room also had a coffee table and 2 seats outside where you can take your coffee while enjoying the view. There's also an electric kettle to heat water and a hairdryer. They've also made provisions for wet clothes to be hanged outside the room. Every night, housekeeping drops by to turn your bed down and they put a treat on your pillow. These are small thoughtful gestures that made me feel special.
Outside the room, we had a great view of the garden and the sea. BBC was struggling to keep the garden green despite the hot summer. It had sprinklers on practically 24 hours! But the water used is recycled water. I was told by the manager that there are 3 types if water - drinking water is the cleanest of all going through several levels of filtration. Then there's the water for the shower which is slightly salty, but also goes through filtration, albeit not as the same level as drinking water. Then there's the recycled water, that's the used shower water which goes through just ample filtration to make it safe for the plants. But all three types of water come from deep well.
Our room came with free breakfast for 2 valued at P450 each. The breakfast was a buffet and I'm happy to say that each day, they made variations to the buffet! Can't imagine having the same breakfast for 4 days! Each day there were 2 choices for juice, hot brewed coffee and tea. They had pancakes, arroz caldo (rice porridge), create your own omelet, salad and fruits. Then of course they had plain rice and garlic rice then a selection of about 4 to 5 dishes which they changed daily. During our stay, we had Daing na Bangus, Danggit, Tapa, Tocino, Hotdog, Spam, Corned Beef, Fish Fillet, Buttered Vegetables, Sausage, etc...
Our package included a 20-minute glass bottom boat. There's also various aqua sports available. The pool is well maintained and open for night swimming which was cool because it had lights that changed the color of the pool. Perhaps the best part is the Beach. White sand and very clean, it is beautiful! We checked out the beach at Alona and I tell you BBC has the best beach front.
Overall, we were very happy with our stay. The staff were very professional and courteous. Everywhere you go, you will be greeted with goodmornings/afternoons/evenings. But I always say, you get what you pay for. BBC is not exactly cheap BUT it is reasonably priced for the qualtiy you get. Remember though, just like any business, they need to make money. And remember you are in a resort so everything is more expensive. But this is the same with all resorts all over the globe. If you want a cheaper tour, get the brochures from the airport. We got Ramyer and we were very happy with them. If you want cheap bottled water, there's a sari sari store right beside BBC on the public beach. There's also a restaurant there, DBR grille, good food, cheaper but of course a cheaper ambiance too. BBC is an exclusive resort, not a party place. It is meant for relaxation and peace not for partying. Go to Alona if you want to party. BBC is secluded so you need to take a tricycle or get a car to bring you to anywhere else. Tricycle is P150 per way and a car is P300 per way. But why leave the resort, you already have the best beach!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank Carrie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was my first time visiting Panglao, Bohol. The hotel service was great but the deceptive tactics of all the staff, food, and salty tasting shower/faucet water was a BIG disappointment! I stayed for a total of three nights. The service, pristine beach, isolation and swimming pool was great but that's where it ends! I will talk about the deceptive tactics of the staff later.

First off, welcome drink on arrival was nice but the food of the restaurant menu was average. I was also surprised to see no fresh coconuts, fresh mango's or fresh pineapples on the menu in a paradise like this! I tried several dishes from the menu (fried chicken, fish and chips) and it wasn't that great. Undercooked! Luckily, i had included the breakfast buffet. Much better food and choices! I couldn't believe MOST of the dishes served in the buffet are NOT included in the restaurant menu! Shocking to say the least.

THREE bottles of 250ml water are delivered to you room each morning and that's it! The rest you will have to buy! First hotel i've ever encountered that doesn't provide you FREE on call, bottled water. Me and my wife usually consume at the minimum, 4-5 liters of water a day between us. Especially, in the pounding summer heat of May.

The included 15 minute bottomless boat ride is free but the tours to the island hopping will cost you an arm and a leg. 6500p per head not including lunch! My tip is and the better option for island hopping is to do it off the shores of Mactan island, Cebu. Its about 800-1200p a head and lunch included!

Now, to the water issue! When you enter the room there is a note telling all guests "to please conserve water because they have to clean all the linen etc. and hard to deliver fresh water every day blah, blah ,blah." Yet, i take a walk outside the BBC and BBC is running their sprinklers 24 hours a day to water their grass!

Every time i would turn on the the shower and faucet the water in the unit tasted salty, every time! Is BBC using saltwater in guestrooms to save on water costs? Yet, they use all there fresh water on there landscaping and linens? Only a madman would run a resort like this.

HEY BBC, why don't you use NATIVE plants for landscaping so you wouldn't have to run your sprinklers 24 hours a day! Telling us (your guests) to conserve water?

Now, to the deceptive staff. Every time i asked them about where the local "sari sari stores (mini-store) and bakery were they all said there was NONE on the island! From the custodian, front desk, bellboy and to the security guard, they all said the same thing! Im glad i didnt tip any of those lying bastards. No way did i believe what they were saying, especially they are all living near by. This is the Philippines and there is a sari sari store, 7 eleven or a mini stop in every corner of this country. I badly needed to buy some water, local snacks, and load (text/calling) for my phone.

So now not believing a word they were saying, me and my wife decided to investigate the area for ourselves! Guess what! There was a sari sari store and mini bakery shop at the corner from the entrance to the BBC! If you look on google maps the location of the ministop/bakery is at the corner of the main road and the road leading into DUMALUAN BEACH RESORT. It must be company policy for the staff to LIE to you about the surrounding area so everything you buy is CONFINED inside the resort.

It's a sweaty 400m walk uphill from the resort to the main road and another 200 meter walk to the local "sari sari store and bakery." The bakery had fantastic breads/snacks. Fresh local pandesal served 5am-8am daily! Dont miss it if your in the area! No tricycles or jeepneys anywhere, so trying to explore the small island of Panglao was a nightmare! BBC can arrange for a one way ride to the main city (Tagbilaran) 6-8km but at the cost of 600p ONE WAY! A trip to Alona beach which is 2-3km away was 300p ONE WAY! Only an idiot would pay these prices! The average work day salary of a filipino is 300-500p a day! The whole island of Panglao is a rip off called, Scamlao!

In conclusion, if you want TOTAL isolation from the world, peace and quiet, and some well deserved R&R then this resort is totally for you! If your the adventurous type and want to explore the island a bit, chat with the locals, soak up the culture, try local eateries and take a ride into the the main part of town (Tagbilaran) this hotel is NOT for you!

Tip: STAY in Tagbilaran city and just do DAY trips/tours to Panglao Island!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jehnubis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed at BBC in early May in 2014 for 5 nights. Overall it was a fantastic place to enjoy the beauty of Panglao. It has beautiful private beach. You can eanjoy the God's masterpiece of pastel tone colors of the sky and the sea. In the evening it was breathtaking. The ocean was very calm so swimming in the beach was as comfortable as swimming in the pool. But the sun in early May was too strong to enjoy the beach so it'd be better to have a rest under the shade in the afternoon. The room was clean enough and it was kept twice a day and at night you could find delicate night greetings. All the staffs were very kind and well trained. Services such as massages, tours, meals they provide were quite reasonably priced so you don't have to take efforts to find out cheaper, better ones. The only thing that we weren't satisfied with much was breakfast, but if you don't like heavy breakfast it's still ok.
We loved this resort so we hope that we can visit there again in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hyesungkim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.4 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#1 of 50 in Panglao Island
840 reviews
1.8 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 16 in Panglao
1,457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 50 in Panglao Island
1,364 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
183 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mithi Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bohol Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohol Beach Club

Address: Bo. Bolod, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range: $128 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bohol Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bohol Beach Club (BBC) is a beach resort in the island of Panglao, Bohol. Facing southward with an unobstructed breathtaking view of the sunrise, the resort boasts of a private white sand beach with pristine blue waters. Being the first in the island, the resort has undergone tremendous changes with its recent renovation and continues updates . Since it beginning till today, BBC has become a forefront in the resort industry in Bohol by offering modern facilities and top class service. The resort is well laid out so that space is maximized giving all guests’ the feel of freedom, privacy and solitude. From the rooms, to the restaurants, the activities and facilities, all aspects of the resort have been enhanced with the satisfaction of our guests’ in mind. Aside from this, BBC continues to boast of having the best beach in the island. A large private beach with powdery white sand, pristine waters and most importantly, all the breathing space that guests’ need in order to enjoy, without the maddening crowd and unwanted distractions. Food choices are also well thought of as the new kitchen team offers a wide variety of traditional Filipino fare as well as international cuisine that will surely satisfy the gastronomical desires of all guests. Add to this the impeccable service of the Boholanos; genuine service that comes from the heart! This is what makes for a perfect vacation in Bohol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Bohol Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohol Beach Club Hotel Panglao Island
Bohol Beach Hotel
Beach Bohol
Bohol Beach Club Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing