We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cliffside Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cliffside Resort
Ranked #21 of 92 Panglao Island B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Cliffside and this hotel really does have it all! Great price, location, view, warm and friendly service, rooms are spacious and clean and they even throw in a free motorbike. Alex and Dutchy are great hosts and we had a few good laughs with them around the bar. A short tirke ride into Alona Beach if you want to check out other restaurants etc. While staying at Cliffside they put us in touch with prAna dive centre who were exceptional and we highly recommended diving with them! Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All sea view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    28
    20
    12
    6
See reviews for
17
49
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

the resort was nice & beathtaking but the bed was sucks need to get new matress & remove all the decoration hanging on the wall not safe.the staff was nice and helpful need to trained the new receptionist she is not good in customer service or better change her a taller front desk a presentable good lookin and know how to speak in english .Let your staff know what is in menu ..need more improvement.............

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Imee915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel with nice rooms. matress / pillows were really good. The hotel is very cozy at all and I would come here again. But there are 2 things i didnt like: The AC was very very loud almost not possible to sleep while turned on (would definitely be a good idea to upgrade to new ones, would also save energy!) and they didnt have bananas for 2 days.. cmon we are on philippines there should be enough.
Also the sound isolation of the windows could be better.. You hear like every word outside.
But well these are just small minus points and a big plus for the rest

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcimayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I spent 5 nights at Cliffside Resort. All including weather was perfect. Motorbikes are included in the price. Getting to Alona Beach and village takes 3-5 minutes by motorbike.
There is an ATM in the village. It is 47 km to the famous Tarsier Conservation Area on Bohol Island. Getting there will take you 1 hour. 20 km further down the road and you will see the famous Chocolate Hills. Begin your trip no later than at noon if you want to see trasiers and Chocolate Hills and return before it gets dark. There is a hanging brigde just a few km before the tarsier park. Also worth walking.
There is very good food offered at Cliffside Resort. Bar open until very late. Laundry service, good and reliable wifi. All you need in one place. And the place is very quiet and clean. You wake up in the morning, open the door and there is a swimming pool right in front of you and the sea. In the night, travellers from the northern hemisphere will enjoy the view of the Southern Cross low over the sea. As in the Australian flag. Then you turn 180 degrees to see the Great Bear and the Polar Star low over the palm trees. Actually you don't need to drive to Alona Beach to buy anything except petrol. Travellers from the UK, Australia etc should remember: in the Philippines you drive on the RIGHT !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dx73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rauma, Finland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent 9 unforgetable nights in Cliffside.
Staff was very helpful and allways ready to chat with you(pinangga Juliet). Alexis & Dutchy (the owners) everyday keeping company to the guests. They were ready to organize trips for you with no higher prize than they are selling in Alona.
Rooms was comfortable and had a lot of space to put your gears. A/C in every room.
Food was delicious!!!
Poolside was awesome with a great wiew of Bohol sea. The pool bar opened just day before we left (thanx Cliffside staff for that mesmerizing night).
Guards was 24/7 to protect you and your belongins (but.. you know, what could even happend?). :)
Panglao island was beautiful. Room included 1 motorbike 125cc, with bike it was easy to explore the island.
To Tagbilaran was only 25min ride.
To Alona beach was 5min ride.

-Marko & Juha-

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkoFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just spent 6 days at Cliffside. The staff and owners are brilliant, full of information, willing to share there time to help, the food available was of good variety and excellent quality, local and international dishes available, there is no need to go into town to eat, my partner who loves her food preferred to eat at Cliffside. If you are thinking of staying there you will not be dissappointed. Mick O

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, Herts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Loved our recent 3 night stay at the Cliffside Resort Panglao Island, and had a wonderfully relaxing time there. The view from the poolside is stunning being some 20m directly above the perfect blue sea. The food was great, notably the Adobo (local cuisine - ask for it spicy!) and Pizza from the Wood Fired ovens. The pool is a perfect warm temperature, and while the swim up bar was not manned, the staff took orders and brought drinks to us at the bar or poolside anyway. The resort is newly renovated and cozy in size with 9 rooms which were decorated with local charm, and the staff could not have been more helpful. One day they organised 2 hire cars for a day, neither car was in great nick in truth, but hey - its the Philippines. The roads are not for the feint hearted - so the normal option is to hire a mini-bus and driver for the day, but we fancied exploring for ourselves and it worked out great seeing the Chocolate Hills and Tarsier sanctuary. Day 2 we booked a snorkeling trip to nearby Balicasag Island and during the boat trip we had several closeup encounters - 1 with a massive Whale shark, and another with over 100 dolphins, all swimming right under our boat - amazing!! Snorkeling was stunning and we saw all the usual multi coloured reef fish and several turtles.

The hotel benefits from being a short drive away from Alona Beach which was packed full of tourists when we went there, but is close enough to be 5-10 mins away by local trike service - again which the hotel quickly organised on request. Dinner and drinks out therefore not a big deal to sort out.

The only negative I can think of was that the hotel doesn't have a visa machine yet (this is being added soon), and our attempts to pay our final bill via PayPal were thwarted by Paypal blocking the transactions. Compounding this both cash points on Alona were also empty. The hotel was totally understanding of the situation though, and followed us into Tagbilaran to an ATM en route to the Cebu ferry. My advice would be to get enough cash in Cebu or Tag before heading to Panglao on arrival in to avoid any cash flow problems.

All in all top marks, a totally unforgetable experience all round!

Room Tip: There a 9 rooms numbered 1 through 9 running away from the bar and reception area. Higher numbers ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jones1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.9 mi away
Palms Cove Bohol
Palms Cove Bohol
#3 of 5 in Danao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#7 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alona Tropical Beach Resort
Alona Tropical Beach Resort
#25 of 92 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alona Hidden Dream Resort
Alona Hidden Dream Resort
#62 of 92 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
4.0 mi away
La Pernela Beachfront Resort
1.9 mi away
Panglao Tropical Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliffside Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliffside Resort

Property: Cliffside Resort
Address: km. 16 Hoyohoy, Tawala, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cliffside Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Mabuhay" at Cliffside Resort Bohol! The new Swiss and German management (since July 1st 2016) is welcoming you in our tranquillity place with an outstanding view of the Bohol Sea! 13 newly renovated rooms - ocean and pool view - are awaiting you here in our little paradise. If you just want to chill out, enjoy a day at the pool, if you like to discover Bohol, we can organize trips for you as well as motorbikes or cars. If you like diving, snorkeling or boat trips- our PADI dive center on the premises Prana Divers will take care of you! If you like to enjoy the nightlife - Alona beach is just a few minutes drive from Cliffside Resort! You will find all you need! Our restaurant offers a wide variety of Asian and western food. So no matter if you prefer Chop Suey or German Jägerschnitzel - our kitchen team will prepare everything freshly for you! We also serve breakfast the whole day long. We are open from 06:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m. The islands Panglao and Bohol offer many opportunities, have a look at "Hinagdayan" cave, see the Tarsier monkeys, which you can only find in the south of the Philippines, get some adrenaline at the zipline, enjoy the view at the "Chocolate Hills", learn about history when visiting the "Blood Compound" or find out about the cultivation of rice at the rice terraces... There are so many things to experience here and we can organize it all for you! The Philippines consist of 7107 islands. Panglao is one of them. But there are many small islands surrounding Panglao and we can bring you there! Go snorkelling with the turtles at Balicasag or see the inviolacy of Virgin Island. The beauty of nature will take your breathe away! Discover the underwater world and go diving with our dive center "PRANA" No matter if you are a beginner or a well experienced diver - our PADI dive shop will guide you to our very pristine coral reefs, the natural living environment of sea turtles, frog fish, sardines and even whale sharks! You must not miss that! You want to be mobile? No problem! We organize the rental of motorbikes and cars for you! Our trustworthy partners provide you with well maintained vehicles so you can discover the loveliness of Panglao and Bohol individually! Hope to see you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Cliffside Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliffside Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing