We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Philippines needs more places like this!”
Review of Momo Beach House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Momo Beach House
Ranked #3 of 96 Panglao Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Philippines needs more places like this!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I was enticed by a soft opening offer I found while browsing through Amorita's (their sister resort) website last summer. I've stayed in Amorita twice before and had a good experience, so I decided to give Momo—what looked like a younger, fun, laid-back alternative to the luxurious Amorita—a try.

I travelled with my husband and my cousin from San Francisco, who also had her husband and 5-year-old son in tow. When we arrived, we were greeted with juices, cold towels, and a simple "Welcome Home". The warmth and sincerity of the service was evident from that moment on.

Momo Beach House is what it purports itself to be: a simple and relaxed accommodation by the beach. The decor is spartan (but still proffers a beach vibe, of course) and the amenities are also what you'd consider basic (small pool, free kayak use, etc.). What sets this place apart is the personalized and professional service. I credit the manager Jack for this; he sets a great example for the rest of his team.

Our meals were made by Jack himself, and during dinner he entertained us like we were old friends lounging in his home. Small details like offering us fruit popsicles and barbecue while we were swimming really made this place stand out. Another plus: you also get access to Amorita while staying here. We made use of this by booking one of Amorita's boat tours and swimming in their pool after.

I think this concept and execution should be made available to the other islands in the Philippines. You can't go wrong with a fun and relaxed resort with warm, impeccable service. Great value as well!

Room Tip: Choose the bigger, ground floor, beachfront-facing rooms. Worth the additional pesos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curiouscities
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Manager at Momo Beach House, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Curiouscities,

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff will surely be glad to hear about your review. Thank you for this. We really want Momo Beach House to be just like that, your relaxing beach house. We're glad you enjoyed it as much as we enjoyed having you and your family.

Should you have comments or suggestions on how we can make a seaside vacation better, please do not hesitate to email me at jack@momobeachhouse.com. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    45
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
54
58
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

It was a company trip for fellow researchers and we were recommended MoMo by our Philippines contact. The place was a gem and we absolutely love it. It was extremely homely and we were really made to feel like vips!
We had 8 staff to the 7 of us and we pampered to the extreme.
The lobby cum dining area was cosy and the decor was really chic. The rooms were decorated with much thought and effort. The swimming pool was great to swim and chill in. We had alot of sharing and discussions done in the pool!
The convenient kayaks allowed us to venture out to the sea a good 100m away in the crystal clear water. We saw starfish, sea urchins and lush sea grass bed. The experience there transformed us fellow colleagues into a family.
We strongly believe that Momo is fantastic for families, friends and even companies because it is just a beautiful place.
But the best thing about Momo is the staff. Led by Jack, we were treated like royalty at times. He was meticulous in meal preparation and the staff were always there to attend to our needs and accede to our requests.

Room Tip: The rooms are colour themed and you book them according to the number of people staying together. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Invicta23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Momo Beach House, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Invicta23,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Momo Beach House. It was a pleasure having you and your fellow researchers enjoyed staying with us. Wasn't it fun meeting the sea neighbors along Momo Beach? We get the opportunity to "say hello" to the starfishes when the tide is very low. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A great place to relax and rest. The staff were wonderful and attentive. The rooms are clean with that homey feeling. The food amazing (especially the Chicken Salad with Mint and Lime vinaigarette dressing Chef Jack made)! Lastly, with an awesome sunset by the beach just a few steps away who could ask for more?

This place most definitely warrants a return trip. :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Manager at Momo Beach House, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear KatL,

Thank you for sharing your Momo Beach House experience with us! We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff will be happy to hear your kind words. I am also humbled that you liked the food we served.

Should you have comments or suggestions on how we can make a seaside vacation better, please do not hesitate to email me at jack@momobeachhouse.com. We look forward to having you stay at the beach house again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

If you're looking for a lively resort then this is not the place. You would be better off looking around Alona beach. If you're looking for peace and quiet - look no further. The hotel is set right on the beach and accessed via a long track through the forest and fisherman's houses. There are no other resorts or hotels around it. Perfect if you are part of a large group or a family.

My wife and I are well travelled and would normally stay in 5 star resorts and hotels but we took a chance on Momo Beach House for 3 nights as it was reasonably priced compared with the other resorts. We are glad we did. It's marketed as a B&B but it is in reality a very, very nice small resort. B&B does not do this place justice as it is simply far, far better than that. More like a small boutique hotel with a rustic flavour. However, there are aspects of Beach House which are truly 5 star.

The rooms and public places are simple and clean, and is all the better for it. It doesn't try to be something it's not and the result is that it excels at what it is. The lobby is open air and doubles as the lounge and restaurant. The rooms are along the sides of the pool and on two floors. We stayed in a deluxe room which was large, modern and clean as are all the rooms. They have tea/coffee making facilities (upon request), a fridge, a flat screen TV with cable. Wifi is also available, but was unfortunately not working when we visited

Outside, the pool is spotlessly clean and only 4 feet deep making it great for kids and the beach is right next to it. The sea is clean, shallow and calm with no currents making great for kids and snorkelling. Momo also has kayaks for the use of guests and provide life jackets if desired.

There are a couple of things about Beach House which really stand out. Service and hospitality. One really cannot help but feel comfortable and at home. The service is simply outstanding. Every single member of staff was polite, friendly, helpful and willing to go the extra mile. We've stayed in a lot of 5 star resorts and hotels all over the world and in terms of service Momo is right up there at the top. Jack, the Resort Manager and his staff are a credit to the hotel and also themselves.


As far as food is concerned, the menu choice is limited but that's not a bad thing. It's better to have a smaller choice of great quality than a larger choice of the mediocre. The food is excellent. And, if you do want something other than what's on the menu, you can tell Jack what you'd like for dinner that evening in the morning, he'll endeavour to cook it for you. Equally, for breakfast the following morning. If while you're there Jack offers you some of the locally caught fresh fish for dinner that night - take it.

All too often we write reviews about things where they haven't lived up to expectations and for once, it's a pleasure to write a review for something that has done something remarkable these days and that is to exceeded expectations. And for this, my family and I would like to say Thank You for such a wonderful time!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarlHewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Manager at Momo Beach House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Carl,

I very much enjoyed reading how you had a wonderful time at Momo Beach House! I'm so flattered that you found it at par with all the other hotels and resorts you've been to.

It is my pleasure to have been able to serve you and the family the freshest ingredients we had. It would be great if we could have you back to have a taste of the produce we will be harvesting at the gardens very soon.

I will share these to the staff, and I'm sure they will be very pleased and inspired with what you have shared here. If there is anything else you would like to let me know, or would just want to catch up, please email me at jack@momobeachhouse.com. I would be very happy to hear from you. Please say hi to Spuddy and to Mrs. Nina for me.

I look forward to meeting the family soon! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Food is delicious, the rooms are clean (same goes for the common areas), service is highly commendable and the staff made me feel at home! My whole stay at Momo was amazing; definitely coming back! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Manager at Momo Beach House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Cha D,

Thank you for sharing your Momo Beach House experience with us! We're so happy you enjoyed your stay at the beach house. I will share your good words about the staff to the team. They will be very happy to hear your commendation.

We hope you can come back soon! We will be very delighted to have you back. :) Should you have comments or suggestions on how we can make a seaside vacation better, please do not hesitate to email me at jack@momobeachhouse.com.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The commendable reviews I read about Momo beach house were indeed true. The place is truly a private sanctuary where you and your family can enjoy the comfort of being on your own home. Savor the tranquil and cozy atmosphere of a secluded beach where travelers can rest and relax while being pampered with exclusive services by amiable and service-oriented staff. Certainly we found home in Momo Beach.

Room Tip: The room where you have a view of the ocean is a perfect place to rest and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack H, Manager at Momo Beach House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Mich M,

We're so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the beach house! It's so nice to know that you were able to relax and recharge and had a comfortable vacation. Truly, it is a home away from home.

We look forward to having you stay at the beach house again. Should you have comments or suggestions on how we can make a seaside vacation better, please do not hesitate to email me at jack@momobeachhouse.com.

We hope to see you soon at the beach house! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Momo. Everyone of the staff was really friendly and helpful. They were very warm and made us feel welcome. It was like a home away from home. As I was quite used to a spacious hotel room, this place was a tad too small for me. The basin area has no light, it will be good to have lighting at the basin area for the room we stayed. Overall, the room was still okay. I like their shower gel and shampoo though. We had a good view of the sea since we are at the corner room.
Jack, the chef, made very good gourmet food. Even the breakfast served was really good. We ordered our dinner in the resort and it turned out to be really delicious. We were stuffed! At the end of the day, we were even served mini brownies. It was fudgy and good too!
The boat ride out to dolphin watching directly from the resort was truly fascinating! It's an activity not to be missed when you are there!
Thanks to all the staff at Momo. It was a wonderful stay! It is highly recommended to anyone visiting Bohol.

Room Tip: The resort is at the far end of Panglao island. Therefore, there is no way to get out except to hire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PassionBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carissa V, Manager at Momo Beach House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear PassionBaker,
Thank you for taking the time to review Momo Beach House. We're happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We will definitely make it a point to inform Jack and the entire team what you thought of our service and food. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Bohol!
Sincerely, Carissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
3.8 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,395 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 49 in Panglao Island
1,316 reviews
4.4 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 49 in Panglao Island
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
4.5 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 49 in Panglao Island
847 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 49 in Panglao Island
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Momo Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Momo Beach House

Property: Momo Beach House
Address: Barangay Bil-isan | Momo Beach, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Momo Beach House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Momo Beach House is an eco-chic boutique resort set on the shores of Panglao Island, Bohol. Situated 20 kilometers northeast of famous Alona Beach, and only a 45-minute drive from Bohol's Tagbilaran Airport, Momo Beach House offers vibrant pastel rooms with stunning seaside and sunset views, plus a distinct nature-inspired architectural design theme incorporating white-washed furniture pieces, locally sourced organic bath products, wooden poolside lounge chairs, a repurposed wine rack made from an old fishing boat, and a beachfront bamboo bar. The shimmering blue pool looks out onto Panglao Island's tranquil Momo Beach, while a nap-friendly hammock hangs poolside between thick, tall palm trees. Managed by One-Of Collection, the Panglao Island boutique resort also features the Beach House pool, the child-friendly Beach Hut, equipment for water sports and activities, and delicious al fresco dining at homestyle-inspired Beach Tree Cafe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Momo Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Momo Beach House Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing