We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tarsier Botanika

Tarsier Botanika
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tarsier Equestria is located inside the resort, stabling 15 horses of different breeds and sizes. Quarter horses, thoroughbreds and the unique and magnificent Lusitanos. The equestrian centre has an Olympic sized dressage arena and a 15 meter covered round arena for all weather riding. At Tarsier Equestria guests can take equine management classes, riding lessons, and also advanced riding courses
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Sanctuary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

This sanctuary gives you the real filling like you are exploring a jungle. It has no cages. This sanctuary is my only reason for visiting this island to see the Tarsier and I didn't regret it at all.

Helpful?
1 Thank DarkDragooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    66
    54
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“MUST SEE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Botanika showed 6 Tarsiers when we visited, but the guide told us that there were a lot of tarsiers before the earthquake and the hurricane but a lot were lost during the calamity. The guide explained how tarsiers live and explained to us that they used to stay at an enclosed area but were relocated to thier now home where they live in their usual habitat and free to roam, Visitors are taught respect for the tiny Tarsier which is a learning experience for children and adults. The tour l;asts arounf 15 mins but you are free to roam around the Botanika to search for tiny tarsiers withour harming them. Although nocturnal, their eyes are wide open as they sleep making them eerie to look at..

Probably we look eerie to them as well :)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Luv2Viaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
183 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“protecting the tarsiers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

protecting the Tarsiers and educating the public about the risk of extinction the world's smallest mammals are facing.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank davehwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“You are lucky if you see at least one tarsier”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

The guide who brought us to the woods was accommodating. We saw at least 2 tarsier, one sleeping, the other awake looking at us. We didn't expect much from a place like that.
What I do not like is their toilet. They should repair their flash mechanism so people will not depend on pouring water just to flash the toilet. The whole toilet floor is wet. The door is broken and must be replaced.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Racq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“one of the world's best gardens? no. possibly bohol's best garden”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014

this is a new attraction on panglao island, bohol. although it takes it's name from the tarsier there are none at the site (which is a good thing as caging the little creatures is cruel, it is much better to see them at the tarsier sanctuary near corella, north of tagbilaran)

the site features a small zoo, a number of themed garden settings, a conservatory, a museum/gallery, a restaurant, and a gift shop. the entrance fee was 400 pesos per person which included the option of a guide at no additional cost

the zoo is quite small. there is a beautiful golden pheasant that is not at all timid and wanders around freely. other birds on display include a sulphur crested cockatoo (funny bird), some philippine cockatoos, and if memory serves correctly, a couple of owls, some macaws, and some other birds i can't recall. there were also some philippine macaques, which are small monkeys. one of these was isolated from the others for her own safety (the others had been attacking her). i can't remember her name but i will never forget meeting her. she had a friendly temperament so i gave her a scratch on the back when she pressed herself against the cage. then she turned and put her hands through the cage. i accepted her invitation and gave my hand to her, whereupon she started grooming me. it's not everyday that you receive a manicure from a monkey.

the themed garden settings were nice, featuring plants, structures and layouts from different asian countries. the filipino garden features a traditional filipino musical instrument. the small gallery & museum area is part of the owner's house and features items from their private collection

the restaurant is set apart from the other structures overlooking the sea. i think it's the neighbouring island of siquijor that is visible on the horizon. one of the owners is a chef and they proclaim that the cuisine is of the highest standard. however, we didn't eat there as the prices were well above my budget. it is definitely one of the most expensive restaurants i have discovered on bohol

overall i think it is a good place to visit and enjoyable for a few hours. but compared to other attractions in the region it is relatively expensive. i hope the staff are paid a good rate

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gregs3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tarsier Botanika also viewed

 
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
 

Been to Tarsier Botanika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing