We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but Awsome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but Awsome”
Reviewed May 21, 2009

I booked 3 nights there based on their website and reviews I read here. This was my first trip with my girlfriend and the first time I was not on a budget, and decided to try a nice place.
I was not disseminated at all by my stay at the hotel. We got lucky to get probably one of the best rooms of the hotel (which has only 12), in front of the swimming pool with the beach and sea in the background. No need to worry about noise around the swimming pool, nobody uses it since the beach is so nice and a couple steps away.
The room was gorgeous, finely decorated and the attention to detail is obvious.
The food is so good you don't think about going anywhere else for meals, and it is well worth the high price. There aren't many other choices anywhere since this hotel is pretty much the only one on the beach. Some establishments a little further down the beach seemed closed or under construction.
My girlfriend dives so we booked a diving tour for her (with other guests at the hotel). Top class service and equipment (I was told, I don't know much about diving) and very friendly dive master. They even offer hot coffee on the boat on the way to the diving spot. The price for a dive was similar to other hotels on the other side of the island.
There aren't many other things to do around, but if you are looking for a relaxing place, great food, excellent service, this is the place to go.
Nice touch: when we came back from dinner, we found a bottle of wine and 2 glasses sitting on our bed with a bottle opener. We had that bottle on the beach, watching shooting stars.
I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jude999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    11
    10
    7
See reviews for
25
57
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2009

Honestly you will have a good time there but for the price you pay per nights, a few points are disappointing. first, when you get to the hotel the road is absolutely awful, full of garbage, plastic bags....it's just unbelievable. once you pass the door you feel already better. But we had a lot of noise from the surrounding, music from the dive boats or from the beach, really loud, a sort a beach karaoke not far and at night when you just want to relax, it's a bit annoying.
Rooms are fine although the towels should be changed, they are all turning from white to beige. not too good for the price.
For the Activity's from hotel, just rent a bike outside or organize your trip alone, their prices are way too high with low standards.
The spa is very nice. Simple but clean and the staff is well trained. you will have a good time.
to sum up: For this price in the Philippines it should be much better.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
Level Contributor
130 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

The first impression was not very good (small bumpy road with lots of debris and garbage even near the entrance door (small white steel plate) (We are used to other 5 star beach resorts and to different types of gates...). The family room is simple but cosy (noisy air conditioning and tricky hot water) and the inside resort environement is agreable with chic decoration. Horrible beach! Ten meters at high tyde, full of debris and sea grass (only collected at the end of the day...). No swimming is possible due to the sea grass full of stone fish and sea-urchins... (only two samll areas done by the locals outside the resort front (sugestion: built a wooden dock after the sea grass range and before tthe coral area with a passage way to the beach). Walking on the beach is very tricky also. Food good and healthy but expensive. Everything is expensive (restaurant, bar, spa, tours, diving, car and boat drives) - that's the price we paid for being on the north coast of the island farway (15 min car ride) from the other south coast areas. The weather is more windy and wet than the south coast... Finest coral area of my life so far (my teenage daugther initiate diving and loved it!) Balitasag island is perfect! . Bohol island tour was also very nice. Philippines is more mass touristic destination that I expected.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2009

We had high expectations of this resort after the marketing spin on its website. First impressions weren't great, as the approach to the resort is through land strewn with lots of garbage and burnt out bonfires.

The facilities were reasonable but didn't quite cut it for the USD 220 a night price tag. In particular our room had a strong musty smell and on closer inspection the pillows had mold growing on them. The hot water worked intermittently and the toilet blocked regularly. The fit out was more shabby chic than 5 star luxury as touted on the website.

On the whole, the staff were friendly and made us very welcome. They were also apologetic after every incident in a long catalogue of room problems!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ainaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

One of the absolute best places to gear down and just pamper yourself. We stayed 11 nights and from the first step on the resort we were treated like a long lost relative on visit (and then I mean in a good way).

Everyone in Ananyana made us feel special and we'd love to go back sometime. It is a challenge to get there from northern Europe (where we're from) but once arrived, you're in heaven!

  • Liked — The personal atmoshere
  • Disliked — Shallow beach
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Iskanonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
92 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Ananyana sounds like a deep sigh and that is how we happily spent our three nights there...relaxed, rejuvenated, totally enjoying ourselves.

Yes, the beach is not the best on the strip--sea grass, really broad low tide...but still it's quiet, refreshing and absolutely tranquil. No hawkers like in Boracay, no loud noises.

The hotel itself is quite small--with only 12 rooms, they pretty much know what you're up to...food was delicious, if a tad pricey. The lovely chicken tortilla deserves its hype--at about 300 pesos or 6 dollars, yes it's a bit more than the usual, but very good nevertheless. The menu changes weekly and our last night, we had free dessert!

What I liked the most is the fact that since it's a small boutique hotel--the staff, especially the waiters are EMPOWERED to help you out in any which way. So on that day when we had to arrange a tour or rent a motorcycle--it was our waiter, Coro, who assisted us the entire time. The place is small that anyone you ask anything, pretty much knows what to do and how to go about it so it gets done. Kudos to the management for that! And such friendliness and courtesy!

The other nice thing about Ananyana, is that it's away from the main beach strip called Alona. That's where most of the honky tonks and budget places are--and yes, the beach is just a bit better there. Still, part of the joy of staying in Ananyana was having to take a motorcycle through the small town to get anywhere--and that's when we saw secret harbors, old mansions and hundred old churches at our own pace. Absolutely cinematic!

SO thumbs up for the Ananyana--it's a great deal for all that it is.

PS: Some one else's review commented about a stray dog roaming the premises. Actually there were two of them and a cat too, but they weren't strays. They were the resort pets, very friendly, if a bit knowing on how to beg while you're having a drink! Part of the charm, I say!

  • Liked — tranquil, excellent service and dining, a real get-away
  • Disliked — wish the beach was better--it wasn't Boracay quality but at least it wasn't Boracay hoi-polloi
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVATravels92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
152 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed here in October 2007. The food, room, staff etc was good. The beach looks very nice but it is actually the only issue I have. At low tide there is no beach at all. At high tide it’s knee deep at the most. At the public beach (that is right next to the hotel) we found a “hole” that was a little deeper where we could swim. The problem with the public beach was all the people that where there at weekends.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
3.4 mi away
Bluewater Panglao Beach Resort
4.0 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
5.3 mi away
Bohol Beach Club
Bohol Beach Club
#3 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
3.6 mi away
BE Grand Resort, Bohol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Doljo Beach, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ananyana Beach Resort And Spa
The Ananyana Beach Hotel Panglao Island
Ananyana Beach Hotel
Ananyana Beach Panglao Hotel
Panglao
The Ananyana Beach Resort & Spa Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing