We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not so enticing...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alona Beach

Alona Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.00*
and up
Bohol Panglao Island Tour
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
187 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Not so enticing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We were waaay excited when we booked a trip to Panglao and Bohol. Not only we were eager to see the tarsiers, chocolate hills but we heard Alona beach (which is famous way back) is a perfect beach getaway. No question about the white sandy beach and the clear waters. Its just that it's not really a long stretch of white beach where you can walk until your feet passes out. Not much of food and restaurant selection as well. There are bars but I only noticed about 2-3? The beach walk or the perimeter from the beach to the hotels/guesthouses or restaurants are not defined. There is one restaurant I noticed that the chairs are stretched to the beach itself, not that of a space.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marigoldp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    370
    592
    517
    185
    80
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Commercial and in need of a clean-up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The view from afar was pretty but walking along the shoreline, we found the sand littered with bottles, rotting food, and assorted packaging. There was a strong smell of ammonia past one establishment. Although it was cleaner and quieter along the side going toward Amorita, we couldn't help but worry about the future of this beach. Here's hoping it doesn't suffer the same maintenance and sustainability issues as Boracay.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Storyseamstress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The netherlands
Level Contributor
103 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“expensive .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

From our hotel in Tagbilaran , it cost 1000 Peso [ Euro 20 ] for taxi to there . But you want to see it .. When arriving at the Bamboo [ gate ] you walk a few minutes , then the beach .
Starting at the begin , they ask 400 peso [ 8 euro ] for chair for 2 hours . So you walk further ,
250 P for 1 hour . So a few hundred meters further you get 250 P for whole day . Oke , thats normal . So you lay down .
On the sea are about 70 - 80 boats , nothing moves , sometimes 1 or 2 .
Pay 100 P for your beer , and at 16.00 H it is happy hour , 2 drinks for 1 price till 19.00 H
The food is allso Expensive .
So i have seen it now . But i saw better beaches .

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank flaboes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Too many boats, not enough beach”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The beach would have been nice if there hadn't been all those boats parked either right on the beach or just off it, making it crowded and dangerous for swimmers.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JAASM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“I love this beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

we had dinner by the sea and it's amazing -- the ambiance, the people and the food. I've never been to Boracay so the white pure sand of Alona Beach is so far the best for me. laveeeet!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank womenality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alona Beach also viewed

Panglao Island, Bohol Province
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
 
Dauis, Panglao Island
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
 

Been to Alona Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing