We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it!”
Review of Alona42 Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alona42 Resort
Ranked #8 of 96 Panglao Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vantaa, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Worth it!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This place was amazing! Perfect, I think.
Staff was very friendly and helpful, nothing to complain.
Room was big, and so was bathroom. Water came with good pressure in shower, and water was warm
There was a terrace front of the apartment. It was also great because it was raining almost every day. So even if it was raining we could sit outside. Garden was nice and staff brought sunbeds if sun was shining.
Location was good, far enough of other tourists.

I don't have anything to complain and really recommend this place. You are gonna love this!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimmu83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    48
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
66
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

came for 2 nights,stayed 7. my family and i were very welcomed. the owner is a very friendly man with and excellent staff! this little resort is beautifully set in a lovely garden,has a very friendly and comfy restaurant where they serve very good breakfast and snacks. one can order food from the restaurants near by. the rooms are very tastefully designed with very comfy beds and a great shower! the rooms and the bathrooms are immaculate,very very clean!
in the garden are sun beds to relax and the beach is just around the corner yet far away from the noise. there is a great place to eat just 5 min walking on the main street called henry and nanny eatery. its opposite of the church and they have the best grilled stuff in town!
alona42 is a very relaxed place and nothing seemed to be a problem! would totally recommend this lovely place to everyone!

Room Tip: alll rooms have same standard of comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suicideangel3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alona FourtyTwo R, reservation officer at Alona42 Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2014
Hello suicideangel3000

Thank you very much for staying here in Alona42 Resort. We’re pleased to learn that our resort makes you “feel like home.” The entire Alona42 also is genuinely happy to learn that you find us friendly and accommodating in all of your needs. Your kind words toward us will definitely serve as an inspiration, as we pursue on making our services even better for you and for our future guests. We hope to see you again.We really missed your family especially the 2 lovely kids.Just extend our regards to both of them,from all of the alona42 staff's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

we stayed here for just a night because they were fully booked by the time we booked with them, they were very patient with us even though we had to change the date of our stay beacause our flights were change, they didn't charge us extra with the reservations.. we arrived late in the evening around 9pm.. and their staff was very friendly..it was a great experience, very clean rooms, they even offered to help us find the next hotel we will be staying in.. if you want a peaceful place to relax during your vacation this is the place for you, although its not a beachfront place, its just a few mins. tricycle ride away from the beach and other places to eat,chill and etc.. will definitely stay here again..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobugs427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

this well- designed hotel turned out to be quite a special find in Alona, with comfortable rooms and a local feel to the decoration. It's quite a cosy hotel, with a charming garden and friendly staff. There were a few teething problems, however, as the hotel is quite new. We stayed in a few hotels and it is is common in Panglao for there to be black-outs, even in much more expensive places. Alona42 is slightly off the beaten track, a short tricycle ride from the hustle of the centre, but that's quite a good thing, if you'd like more peace and quiet. Also, we found the price was quite reasonable, after a lot of leg-work researching other hotels. I would definitely recommend this hotel, and fans of Douglass Adams will spot the 'answer'.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Maverick75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

Really nice, clean hotel. Staff are lovely. Ideal location 5 mins from beach so feels much more relaxed than staying in the busyness of the beach.

Only given 4 stars due to building work on the apartment above ours where they started hammering at about 7am (not great for a jet-lagged visitor!)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RGRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Alona42 is a very nice and clean hotel. The rooms are laying on the groundfloor and have there own terras. The rooms have comfortable beds and bathroom. The owner Christian is German and a nice guy. The hotel is not situated at the beach but a 5 minute walk away from the beach. One the other hand its nice and quiet at the hotel. The hotel has a open-air bar where you can have breakfast, a snack and a beer for example. Prices are lower than at the beach. Christian also can arrange trips, for example to see the chocolates hills (tour 2500 PHP for a car with driver; so by 5 people 500 PHP a person) and for swimming with the whale sharks (5000 PHP for the boat and 1000 PHP per person for swimming with the whale sharks). Prices are almost the same as the ones that they are selling at the beach. TIP: do the trip together with other hotelguest, its more fun and you can share the cost.

TIP: when you want to go to the many bars and restaurants at the beach in the evening it can be possible that you have to walk some other route because of the high water. Ask the owner for advise. Also take a flashlight with you because there are no streetlights.

MORE TIPS:
- take a underwater camera with you
- take some watershoes (also for rent for 150 PHP) and/or a snorkeling mask (if i'm not mistaken also for rent for 150 PHP) with you
- buy a nice papaya at the beach

How to arrive at Alona42 hotel from Tagbilaran airport:
- option 1: take a tricycle for 20 PHP from the airport to the bus station and then take a bus to Panglao for 25 PHP per person (ask the busdriver to drop you off at Alona42 hotel).
- option 2: take a taxi (i believe its around 300 PHP)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed at Alona42 in December. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The room was simple but had all I wanted - tv, ac and a clean bathroom. The crew is very friendly and accommodating and helped in any way needed. The owner is a very friendly chap too.The fact it was a bit away from the main street and beach actually helped as it was relaxing and quite.
I will come back.
Nice !!! I like !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.5 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#11 of 49 in Panglao Island
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,393 reviews
0.5 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#13 of 49 in Panglao Island
218 reviews
0.3 mi away
BE Grand Resort, Bohol
0.8 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#19 of 49 in Panglao Island
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alona42 Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alona42 Resort

Property: Alona42 Resort
Address: Danao, 6340, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alona42 Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 2012 opened Alona42 Resort is located in a central but quiet location. The western end of the famous Alona Beach is about 300 meters or 3 minutes walk. The modern and comfortable rooms are set around a tropical garden. All rooms have comfortable single or double beds, silent split aircon, electric fans, room safe and private terraces. The batthrooms are built to european standards and have hot and cold freshwater. To relax the guests can use the landscaped garden with tropical plants for soaking up the warm sun or relaxing with a drink in the lounge with bar. The resort serves breakfast, snacks and hot and cold beverages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your Alona42 Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alona42 Resort Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing