We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alona42 Resort
Nearby Hotels
Amarela Resort(Panglao Island)
$205
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$649
$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panglao Regents Park Resort(Panglao Island)(Great Value!)
$47
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bohol Beach Club(Panglao Island)
$172
$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bohol Sea Resort(Panglao Island)
$43
$34
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
$241
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$542
$410
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
South Palms Resort(Panglao Island)
$216
$203
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$254
$231
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bohol South Beach Hotel(Panglao Island)
$44
$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (122)
Filter reviews
122 results
Traveler rating
66
49
6
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
49
6
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgerman ownershort cutmin walknice gardenquiet placeair conditionhis friendsrestaurants and barsplace to stayclean roomspleasant staynice roomtagbilaran cityalona42tvmotorbikebeach
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 122 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Alona42 is a very nice and clean hotel. The rooms are laying on the groundfloor and have there own terras. The rooms have comfortable beds and bathroom. The owner Christian is German and a nice guy. The hotel is not situated at the beach but a 5 minute walk away from the beach. One the other hand its nice and quiet at the hotel. The hotel has a open-air bar where you can have breakfast, a snack and a beer for example. Prices are lower than at the beach. Christian also can arrange trips, for example to see the chocolates hills (tour 2500 PHP for a car with driver; so by 5 people 500 PHP a person) and for swimming with the whale sharks (5000 PHP for the boat and 1000 PHP per person for swimming with the whale sharks). Prices are almost the same as the ones that they are selling at the beach. TIP: do the trip together with other hotelguest, its more fun and you can share the cost.

TIP: when you want to go to the many bars and restaurants at the beach in the evening it can be possible that you have to walk some other route because of the high water. Ask the owner for advise. Also take a flashlight with you because there are no streetlights.

MORE TIPS:
- take a underwater camera with you
- take some watershoes (also for rent for 150 PHP) and/or a snorkeling mask (if i'm not mistaken also for rent for 150 PHP) with you
- buy a nice papaya at the beach

How to arrive at Alona42 hotel from Tagbilaran airport:
- option 1: take a tricycle for 20 PHP from the airport to the bus station and then take a bus to Panglao for 25 PHP per person (ask the busdriver to drop you off at Alona42 hotel).
- option 2: take a taxi (i believe its around 300 PHP)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed at Alona42 in December. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The room was simple but had all I wanted - tv, ac and a clean bathroom. The crew is very friendly and accommodating and helped in any way needed. The owner is a very friendly chap too.The fact it was a bit away from the main street and beach actually helped as it was relaxing and quite.
I will come back.
Nice !!! I like !!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good and clean.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Rooms are clean with nice bedding, TV and a good shower. The staff are incredibly friendly and the wifi is pretty good in the restaurant. Manager was very helpful and they let us check out a little later when we realized our Oceanjet ferry to Siquijor was cancelled (as of writing this 8th Dec it still is, but there is a Lite Shipping ferry at 8pm).

Overall very happy and would come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelondonlounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Alona42 is a lovely, clean, quiet resort, set back from the touristy hustle-and-bustle of Alona Beach. The rooms are comfortable, modern and spacious and have a good sized out-side seating area/terrace. The bar serves really tasty breakfasts and is open all day for drinks; we enjoyed a number of pre and post dinner rum and cokes here! The staff are friendly and helpful and are always on hand if you need them.

The walk into town along the road took approx 10 - 15 mins, but we had no problem with this and did it at least twice everyday - in the morning to go to the beach and in the evening to eat out. (a torch is useful for the evening). There is a short-cut to the beach but we didn't enjoy this walk as much - it didn't feel as safe and the beach nearest the resort was not the best for swimming or sunbathing; we preferred to walk into town, then walk along the beach to the quieter end for a day relaxing in the sun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Alona 42 was the first place we stayed in the Philippines and we really enjoyed it.

The staff were all very friendly and attentive and the communication via email for the booking process was very quick and easy.

I really enjoyed the cereal they serve for breakfast, it is the best I have ever tasted and wouldn't mind knowing what brand it was!

As others have said they don't serve dinner but we enoyed trying the different restaurants along the beach in what is a much nicer location.

The rooms were nice and big and the air conditioning was excellent and not too loud which was a bonus.

The beach itself is very nice, there was seaweed due to the season but it wasn't excessive.
if you walk along towards the Cliffside resort you can find a nice wide spot where you won't be bothered by the masseurs and tour guides as much and will get more privacy

We don't really mind walking and we did make the trip every day along the road but it isn't the most pleasant experience. the track outside the resort can get very muddy after it has rained which can make that part unplesant to walk through.

There is construction work happening next door so maybe they will eventually tarmac the road.

I would recommend this resort but not for poeple who fiund it difficult to get aorund.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews