We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel with a nice pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex
Ranked #28 of 48 Hotels in Panglao Island
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel with a nice pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Comfortable and clean rooms with a nice pool and restaurant outside. Only a short walk to the beach but dark and difficult to navigate at night. Inexpensive restaurants on main road just a minute's walk away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    64
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
20
52
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Rooms are clean, bed is a new, king size and very comfortable, and the rates are pretty comparable to other resorts here. And, the main part (not the Annex) is right at the waterfront. Bathrooms are very basic.
The only downside I experienced is that the rooms are not at all soundproof, which wouldn't be too much of an issue, except at 5:55am every morning (yes, every morning) Filipinos walk through the property from the Annex to the beachfront (presumably they are staff of various shops going to work at places on the beach, or at Lost Horizon itself) and have conversations as though it's 2pm in their village - i.e. loud, with typical Filipino laughter, etc.....which again, wouldn't be bad if it wasn't at 5:55am every day. Not how i like to wake up on my holidays.
Having brackish water coming out of shower and faucet is a bit odd as well, though harmless.
If you're there for diving, Balicasag is fantastic. Unfortunately, there wasn't a trip to Cabilao while i was there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Neal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The location of this place initially made it feel/appear isolated. Access is down a dirt road, and the dirt road continues down towards the back of the main Lost Horizon Dive Resort. Beach access is therefore by walking down this road, through the carpark of the Lost Horizon Dive Resort, down some steep wooden steps, and through the main resort.
Sounds like a hassle because the two resorts are not attached to one another but in reality the “resort annex” is only located about 50 metres off the main road, the slight isolation means the place is generally nice and quiet, the walk to the beach is not that long (and it’s not the best beach for swimming because of the number of bangkas moored in the water), and really you’re within 10 minutes’ walk to anywhere in the tourist hub of Alona Beach.
Staff were generally pleasant, though we did get pestered about organising tours at one stage by a fellow who I think was the pool lifeguard.
The swimming pool was a reasonable size for a small resort pool and the spa/jacuzzi was nice enough though it was the same temperature as the pool and the jets were fairly weak.
Rooms were clean, well appointed and all had balconies (or front patios for ground floor rooms). Air conditioning was through a QUIET split system, and my room had another 2 fans in addition to the air conditioner. Blinds did a good job of blocking out the sunlight for a bit of a sleep-in and the flat screen television had an excellent selection of cable TV channels, not just the basics. Also included were a wardrobe, in-room safe, kettle, one bottle of drinking water per person per day, and there was a hairdryer in the bathroom. The fridge had a selection of mini-bar items and prices weren’t too bad. We were provided with 1 sachet each of coffee powder, creamer and sugar per day – a bit stingy but sufficient nevertheless.
Gates are locked overnight though the guard can always let you in or out. The resort consists of 2 main buildings, one either side of the pool, and there is a bar/restaurant area at the bottom of the smaller building.
The main problem I had at this resort was getting internet access. There seems to be a network of routers installed all over the premises, out on the balconies with one router for every two rooms, but from what I could gather most of these were either switched off, not connected, or not working. The main router had a good signal but I was still unable to connect and set up a WiFi network. This became quite frustrating until I figured out, a few days into my stay, that if I took my device downstairs to the main router outside reception, I was able to connect to the network, set it up, and then after that it would usually connect OK even in my room 2 floors up where previously it refused to connect. There were still occasional signal issues, but at least it now worked most of the time. I was not the only person to have complained about this, and staff did offer to move us to a different room, but in the end it worked out.
I’d recommend this place if you’re wanting to stay in the Alona Beach area, and I don’t think having a beachfront place is of prime concern here as the beachfront is a bit overdeveloped anyway for the type of area it is. A good choice overall for this class of accommodation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank robol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost Horizon A, General Manager at Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We appreciate all comments received from our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. When you return just ask the lifeguard to turn on the Jacuzzi pump and the jets will provide additional air and water flow. The motor is a little noisy so we often don’t activate the pump. We have rechecked all routers for Wi-Fi signals and all are working properly. In the future please call the reception when difficulties are encountered. We review all comments received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We booked in this hotel through email and they replied corteously in every message.We had a pleasant stay at this resort. The rooms were clean and almost everything were new. Our bed is comfortable. The pool is great too. We didn't mind the 5mins walk from the resort to Alona beach because its nice to wander around the place, you get to see people who live, work and who were just having a vacation there, plus, you'll be able to passed to different shops and restos.
The staffs are friendly and very helpful. They let us leave all our bags in the counter early in the morning because we decided to check out early thinking we couldn't return before our check out time and we're going on a sea tour. Turns out we're back earlier than we thought in the resort and all our personal belongings were still there. We couldn't go back to our room to have a shower because it was cleaned already and we have officially checked out but they told us that we can still have a shower and changed in one of their toilet.
Overall, it was a really nice stay. I recommend it if you're in a budget but still want a nice amenities and facility from a resort and a commendable service from the staff.

Room Tip: Don't expect a sea view, it's not beachfront, but the sun rise in the morning looks awesome...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ickay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the LH Annex since we heard that teh beach itslef can get a little noisy and crowded. Turned out to be a perfect choice. As of this writing, teh hotel is virtually brand-new and everything was clean, new and worked. From teh looks of teh main hotel by teh beach and the amount of work that was going on, the owners intend to keep it that way. About a 10 minute walk along a dirt road to get to teh beach, but we didn't mind that. We had three rooms and they were all perfect. Also, pool and restaurant on site, so didn't have to go far if we didnt want to.
Their dive-shop, by the way, also VERY good. the ladies took good care of us!!!

Room Tip: we like our rooms on third (top) floor. all have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olaf k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost Horizon A, Manager at Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are very pleased to know that you prefer our property and have enjoyed your experience with us. It is truly uplifting to read such nice words. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxas City, Philippines
Level Contributor
132 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

When we tried to book with the Lost Horizon Dive Resort (Main), we were given the option to book in the newly-constructed Annex located behind (about 200 meters away) which was 40% cheaper than the rates of the beach-front property. We were glad we booked a room in the Annex. The room was new, with not just one or two outlets (universal) to recharge your phones and gadgets but EIGHT outlets (or 16 plugs), with another one in the bathroom. Two of them were on the bedside - so convenient to recharge your iPad while surfing in bed at the same time! And the wifi boosters are located just outside the room, so wifi is consistently fast anywhere in the resort. The refrigerator is a good-sized one, and can fit the 1.5li bottle of soda upright! Food in the restaurant is seasoned too salty for our taste, and a tad expensive. But right in the main road, just a few minutes walk, are really good restaurants - middle eastern, italian, french ... all good and reasonably priced. We will definitely recommend this to our friends.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank rickydmd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost Horizon A, Manager at Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. Those comments surely give that extra boost to the team. We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us at Lost Horizon Resort Annex and recommending our hotel as well and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

I'm a picky traveller. This trip we travelled in a group of 17 people. Logistics was a nightmare, from tickets to hotel booking, tours, food etc... Lost Horizons and the ladies (Arlene, Irene, Ronila) made the preparation easier. The promptly replied all querries from their email address: losthorizonresortannex@gmail.com. They provided me with options, complete details of costs and schedules. Ex. They suggested that instead of doing the city tour on the 2nd day, as I had planned, we do the tour on the day we arrived, saving us about P3,000 in transportation costs. They adjusted our bookings without issues, as we had some changes in the participants that came with the trip, check in and check out was hassle free. All in all, the team there did a great job.

Pros: The resort is about 200m to the beach front via a side street that leads to the back entrance of Lost Horizons main resort on the beach front. This was a short walk that no one complained, even walking at 11pm at night after having dinner at the beach front, we felt safe, as the road was well lighted, surrounded by other resorts and not difficult to follow. There is also another way to the beach, by going via the main road, which would be about 500m, via the souvenir shops, bakery, convenience stores, restaurants and other resorts.
- The resort is located off the road and off the beach front, meaning, we slept peacefully the whole night, without any sound of cars/tricycles. It was peaceful and away from the late night noise of the beach front resorts.
- Price: Because it was not beach front, an average room is about P1850 per night for two with additional charges for extra beds. About 30-40% off the beach front prices. Because we had 4 rooms for 2 nights we saved about P10-15k on room charges, without sacrificing comfort and convenience.
- Amenities: It has a great pool. The kids loved the pool. Our group of 17 had no issues swimming and enjoying the pool at the same time. After swimming at the beach and a quick shower, the kids actually spent more time in the pool than on the beach.
- Facilities: The hotel is brand spanking new. Beds are firm but comfortable, aircon cold and new, bathrooms clean, rooms were spacious, with a balcony facing the pool, flat screen tv, cable, a ref,drinks in the mini bar (softdrinks, water), heated shower, fresh towels and complementary water each day. The rooms smelled clean, and new - great for us with allergies.
- Location: The beach front restaurants are a plenty, the restaurants in the immeidate area are a plenty, from pizza, to steak, to pinoy cuisine, you wouldn't be able to try all the reastaurants in the area if you stayed a week here. There are 24 hour convenience stores in the area, to buy water, snacks etc.. There is a bakery around the corner for fresh pinoy bread, there is a BPI ATM around the corner when you run out of money, there are souvenir shops in the area, with reasonable prices. The braclets, are a bargain, while shirts and keychains are cheaper else where.
- Service: They cleaned the room daily, fresh towels and made up the room.
- Tours: The hotel booked our airport pickkup, bohol tour, panglao tour, and dolphin and island hopping.
- Price: Total stay for 17 pax - 4 rooms, 2 nights. P48k with tours. (Tours: Bohol tour: Tarsiers, chocolate hills, loboc river buffet lunch, blood compact, giant anaconda, dinner at Chicken atiatihan - inasal chicken - own cost: Panglao tour: Bohol bee far, lunch at chicken atiatihan - own cost, hinagdanan cave, coral museum; Dolphin tour: dolphin watching, island hopping - virgin beach, balicasag beach for snorkeling and lunch (own cost).

Our only regret, is that we had to leave this wonderful place. I could have seriously stayed there for weeks (if i had the money to burn...)

Tips: The hotel accepts credit card, but if you pay cash, ask for a discount.
Tip: There is a drying area on the roof deck, which is great to dry out wet clothes after swimming.
Tips: The hotel can book the tours, but they do add a bit on the charges. The convenience is that single point of payment, but if you wanted to save a bit more contact Marcos 09217839702 directly for bohol van service and tours. I personally don't mind paying a bit extra, to have the convenience of the hotel finalize all the details.
Tips: Trip agenda: Day 1, arrive early, you can do the 8 hour Bohol tour the same day and save on airport pickup charges. Day 2, island hopping and dolphin watching, Day 3: take the Panglao tour in the am before heading to tagbilaran for trip home or stay in the city for a night
Tip: Souvenirs are cheapest at the Hinagdanan caves for t-shirts/key chains, while the blood compact site also has great prices for souvenirs. Peanut kisses are cheaper in the mall (P140 for pack of 16 vs P160 for same pack at the tour sites)
Tip: Dolphin watching tour is worth it, huge group of dolphins, but leave really early. They're gone by 6:30am.
Tip: Bacasilag is great place for snorkeling, amazing fish, bring bread (i bought from the bakery near the resort). We arrived there, ordered seafoods (prawns - P1000/kg (the sweet chilli prawns was great), lapu lapu P600/kg (sweet and sour), P800 grilled pork, P300 cooking charges, + drinks, + P15 cup rice) before swimming then got back and had a great (albeit expensive) lunch.

Would I go back here, if the budget permits yes! The kids loved it and it was a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank KingBee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost Horizon A, General Manager at Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with Lost Horizon Resorts. We appreciate your positive comments of both our resorts and will pass this on to our staff especially the annex reception staff. I hope you will find the time to visit us again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#11 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alona Golden Palm Resort
Alona Golden Palm Resort
#14 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Isis Bungalows
Isis Bungalows
#24 of 48 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palms Cove Bohol
Palms Cove Bohol
#3 of 5 in Danao
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort
#35 of 48 in Panglao Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paragayo Resort
Paragayo Resort
#17 of 48 in Panglao Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex

Property: Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex
Address: Danao Panglao Bohol | 100 Meters to the Beach, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lost Horizon Beach dive Resort Annex is 100 meters (2-5 minutes) to the beach. It is the sister company of the Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort. Guests from the Annex will have a free access to the beach passing through the Main Lost Horizon Beach Dive Resort. The Lost Horizon Resort Annex offers cheaper room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lost Horizon Dive Resort Annex Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing