We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary and Birthday in one”
Review of Saffron

Saffron
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The critically acclaimed Saffron Restaurant at Amorita Resort is inspired by the seasons and specialties in Bohol. The all-day menu, developed by Chef Raphael Ongchiong, emphasizes freshness, clarity of ingredients, and local availability. Saffron offers a thoughtful reinterpretation of Boholano heritage cuisine, alongside a wide range of Continental and Asian food favorites. The Chef's culinary artistry is met with an excellent selection of wines, signature cocktails, and gourmet beverages. A 162-seat dining venue, Saffron is casual and welcoming, with a decor to match. Sea-inspired accent lighting, all-weather woven furniture, and hand-carved driftwood create a dramatic poolside ambiance that serves to elevate guests' dining experience.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Anniversary and Birthday in one”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Me and my family travelled here to celebrate our 9th wedding anniversary and my son's 2nd birthday.. we did not expect to have our room very well furnished for a family with toddler: a crib has been provided with pillows and blanket, bottle sterilizer, bottle soap, extra water, snacks and a very touching design made on each bed written: (bed1) happy anniversary and (bed2) happy birthday matthew troy. My son, despite his young age, appreciated the design made of flowers very much.

We were treated very well especially my children since they do have activities for kids like movie time and cookie design time =)

We hope to go back there soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tanialicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    73
    25
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very nice place indeed”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best restaurants in Panglao for sure. It is located at the Amorita resort - on of the most luxurious places in the city. There is a great view of the beach from the hill on which the restaurant is located. The food is great and the service if also very good. Only minus is the price - which is a bid to the high side (Philippine wise that is, expect 2000 pesos for a couple but then you are also sure to get a good dinner for sure. Very satisfied.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Princesa, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“" The Best"”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have called the Office for the reservation (for Dinner) and the staff who answered the phone was just so polite and very accommodating. We were here for the Christmas Eve Dinner. All the tables were packed and reserved.(just thankful we got one!).

Waiters and Waitresses were very attentive, alert and even offer you other options in the menu. I got the pork chop with 2 optional sauce.very tender and yummy...just the best...I ate everything! My husband enjoyed his grilled fish.

We were approached by the Manager. He was such a very nice guy.

We will come back, again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank safetyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
360 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Broad menu, good food and service”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Quality and quantity abound at this very pleasant restaurant. For starters, we had beef carpaccio (excellent with fresh greens and a nice balsamic vinegar sauce) and the tuna kinalaw (a local dish) boasted a good 6-8 oz of delicious, fresh tuna with a tasty ginger sauce. My wife had the steak pizza (which came with about a house salad's worth of lettuce on it), with a crispy crust and flavorful toppings, while I had a US steak (tender and cooked the way I wanted it). No wine list, but the bottles alined along the bar revealed a dozen good options across price ranges. Service was excellent and timely. (My sole complaint is with the chairs --square, uncomfortable contraptions that beg for seatback and bottom cushions. Yo' management -- fix this.)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianTravelholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“worth it!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

me and my friends tried a lot of restaurants on the beach strip and everything was pricey but sub par, so we took the long walk to saffron at the rocky end of the beach and boy, was it good!
the restaurant was nice, it had a great view of the ocean, toilets were clean and the staff was very accommodating that i felt like a spoiled princess. i tried the lengua it was well plated and very good. my friend ordered the kare-kare and we were surprised to see that it was deconstructed. (a culinary technique where you take one dish and play with its components. something you dont expect to see in the provinces). the calamari came with 3 kinds of dipping sauces on a wooden plank. the salad was superb!

if you find yourself in alona beach, dont hesitate to try saffron.. it is WORTH IT.

p.s. my friends and i are all trained chefs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jextar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron also viewed

 
Dauis, Panglao Island
 
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
 

Been to Saffron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing