We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something different - long sandy stripe in the middle of the sea, hundreds of star fish and stunning scenery”
Review of Virgin Island

Virgin Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Balicasag and Panglao Island Hopping Including Dolphin Watching
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Something different - long sandy stripe in the middle of the sea, hundreds of star fish and stunning scenery”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Worth visiting. Nice walk around the island. It was a good thing that we went there after all the tourists had already left, we heard that sometimes there are too many people at one time. It is a beautiful spot for taking photos. For those who like fresh oysters I recommend to try sea urchins that are sold on the beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kiciatko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    239
    157
    49
    23
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
582 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 633 helpful votes
“Worth going”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We a day trip boat to get here which cost 400 each, we two plus a unknown to us Japanese couple - the price for just two would have been 1500 for two. I've read that people have complained that there are too many hawkers etc. on the sand bank. I'm thinking that the owners of the island (the centre of the tiny island is fenced off, but behind the wire fence nothing is actually going on) are probably thinking that there are too many tourists! When we arrived around 3pm, there were very few tourists and three stalls - so you won't get a photo of a clear sandbank, rather a slightly populated one, but so what. The stalls sold fresh coconuts, caramelised bananas straight of the frying pan and various seafood - from the last I had a sea urchin which was scraped into my hand, vinegar was added and I slurped it back - and I enjoyed them all. The island is very small, and the sandbank arches into the sea, the sand is very fine. You must be careful exploring the sea as there are hundreds of starfish, many buried in the sand, so slow steps so as not to crush them are necessary - there are little white ones as well as medium blue ones and very large white ones with brown spots / lumps. I found the stay on the island relaxing and would recommend.
(The hawkers left us alone, bar one persistent one, but a firm "no" ended up being enough).

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank krys_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“White beach”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

It has a scenic view. Good for picture taking. There are people who sell sea urchins and banana cue. Anyway, It definitely is a white beach :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DianeEunice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Island but no place to take a rest”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It is a wonderful private island but tourists are not allowed to walk into the island itself. We can only walk on the beach area but the weather is so hot so we can not stay long.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Privately Owned!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We brought our lunch, packed by TipTop restaurant. No tables or chairs and we found out that It is privately owned. However, the island is really nice and peaceful, we were the first visitors for the day so we had the island for ourselves, the sand bars are just amazing it's like your walking in the water.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank psydz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Island also viewed

Panglao Island, Bohol Province
Panglao Island, Bohol Province
 
Dauis, Panglao Island
Balicasag Island, Bohol Province
 

Been to Virgin Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing