We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Panglao Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alona Studios Hotel
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Reviewed March 22, 2013

PROS
-pocket-friendly rates
-rooms are big. we (4girls) stayed in a family room and we were able to move around comfortably
-AC and hot shower is working fine

CONS
-long walk to and from the mainroad and the beach. the front desk, however, can call for a tricycle if you need transportation.
-hotel staff are not that well trained, but they are relatively helpful and accommodating.
-breakfast fare is limited.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamurallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 20 of 61 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

this is not a resort you are looking for.. they said this is a budget resort. well..,, a bit i agree but in the end its not.. yes..,, you can book the room for a cheap price.. to think we book the family room for Php 2300 so the price is good.. the problem is maybe staff are not attentive to their guest request. We check out early so we can enjoy the beach we took 2 rooms but the other room will be checking out the the next day so we ask permission if we can have our final shower after beach to the other room and if we can borrow their towel too.. they allowed us and we were told that we are not to bring their towels at the beach so we followed. when we are about to leave they asked us to pay Php 500/head for using their shower, we are shocked, why since we asked permission but the owner insisted that our friend is a liar because we didn't informed the staff who is involved was there.. but didn't tell anything..!!

overall.. this is a useless resort!!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT BOOK THIS RESORT!!! their deluxe and family room is fine.. but i suggest do not book this res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hazhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights at a family room. I traveled with my two sisters and a friend. The room is good even its surroundings. It has clean CR, nice bed and beddings and good A/C. The thing is our room has its refrigerator, plates and utensils and for coffee lover like us electric kettle is provided. The receptionist and the guard is very friendly even the owner of the hotel and their dogs!! The hotel is about 10-15 min walk to the beach but an adventurer we are, it is just okey for us. We never hired a trike or motorcycles..we just walk for exercise. Since it is away from the beach and the "party place" we had a two night good sleep. So if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of the alona beach party this hotel is recommended for you! The only negative side of it is the road has a few lights. They should put more lights along the way.

Room Tip: choose a room in front of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NovemberAngel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are supposed to stay 2 nights at this studios but we changed our mind. Not because of the accommodation but because we have nothing else to do near Alona beach. We did the country tour already and checked out Alona Beach on our first day.

They have clean rooms/studios. The best part is the ground rooms facing the pool. The place is not walking distance to the beach, but they have trikes available to use (free) for guest. Or one of their attendants can drive you to the beach. If you stay for two nights, they will fetch you from Tagbilaran pier to their place for free. The drive takes about 30-40 minutes.
They also have a bar near the pool. Its a quiet place where you can relax too.. I would recommend it if you want a quieter place compared to the beachfront places which are way pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mppagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights in the deluxe room. It has two single beds placed side by side together. These beds were totally horrible!!! The foams were paper thin that you could feel the wooden slats underneath. Plus it had an undesirable stench to it. Not to mention that the pillows were paper thin too. What a relaxing sleep at night. NOT!!!

The management tried to fix this problem by supposedly providing two foams that were to be placed by the room cleaning crew under the paper thin foams. However, to my dismay, one of the foam was very filthy. It had dirt and water stains all over it. I just couldn't believe it.

At the end I instructed the cleaning crew just to use the clean foam. Hopefully my friend had a better sleep than me. I just had enough and couldn't be bother complaining anymore. It seems like management doesn't take customer complaints seriously specially if they already have your money in their pocket. What a joke!!!

The location of this hotel is also far from the beach. It is about a 15 minutes walk. The only plus about this accomodation is the swimming pool. However, swimmers beware!!! The deepest end of this pool is more than 5 feet deep. There are only three levels and just be very careful when dipping in the third level of the pool since that will be the deepest part of the pool.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GSR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Pros: The place is cheap and very spacious. It included two beds, a small kitchen, a small living area and balcony overlooking the pool. Its very quiet. The receptionist are accommodating. Very smooth transaction with checking in and out.

Cons: Far from the beach and they need to put more lights along the pathway so people can easily see which way to go back; so many dogs; they dont clean the room every day; they dont change towels everyday; They dont inform the guest that there´s gonna be a black out every saturday morning in bohol and so it ruined our morning as theres no electricity. And as an effect of the blackout, theres no water in the shower, no cold water in the refrigerator and the room got so hot because theres no ac.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank agatha-haynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

This has been the worst hotel experience I've ever had. After accidently overflowing the water in the sink on the floor, the hotel owner claimed that we owed him thousands of dollars in water damage even before stepping into our room. He claimed that we damaged the furniture, tiles, caused his water pump to break, and septic tank to overflow when none of this was true. He made up all these expenses that we had to pay and threatened us by saying that he will call the police and that we can't leave the country unless we pay him. He also had security guards holding rifles in these arguments that we had with him. We booked the hotel for 6 nights, this happened on the second night and we decided to leave the next morning because we didn't feel safe with his lies and threats. When we tried to check out, he handed us a bill for $22 000 and of course, we refused to pay. We had to call the police and embassy to help us and an investigation was done. In the end, we didn't have to pay him anything because we didn't cause any damage in the first place. This hotel owner ruined our whole vacation and we had to find a new hotel to stay at for the remainder 4 nights. The hotel owner probably thought that my friend and I were easy targets because we are two young females. I highly advise everyone to NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!! The hotel owner will try to scam you into paying for his run-down hotel! Plus the rooms are not cleaned properly, sometimes there's no water coming out, and they don't have proper bedsheets and blankets.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.7 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 50 in Panglao Island
538 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
189 reviews
1.1 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#1 of 50 in Panglao Island
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Oasis Resort
Oasis Resort
#9 of 50 in Panglao Island
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Palms Cove Bohol
Palms Cove Bohol
#3 of 5 in Danao
48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pyramid Beach Resort
Pyramid Beach Resort
#18 of 50 in Panglao Island
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alona Studios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alona Studios Hotel

Address: Guavaland, Tawala | Alona Beach, 6100, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 50 Hotels in Panglao Island
Price Range: $19 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alona Studios Hotel ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alona Studios Hotel Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing