We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$81
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amarela Resort(Panglao Island)
$198
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$257
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bohol Beach Club(Panglao Island)
$167
$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Momo Beach House(Panglao Island)
$164
$69
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bohol Sea Resort(Panglao Island)(Great Value!)
$41
$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paragayo Resort(Panglao Island)(Great Value!)
$32
$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $26/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

South Palms Resort(Panglao Island)
$328
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bohol South Beach Hotel(Panglao Island)
$85
$80
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Panglao Regents Park Resort(Panglao Island)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveler rating
19
58
53
15
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
19
58
53
15
27
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 172 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

If you wanted a peaceful place to go for your vacation, then you should try going to Bohol. We stayed in Dumaluan April 18-21. Tagbilaran Domestic Airport at 11, good thing they fetch us in the Airport although we have to wait until 2pm for us to checked in. The staffs we're really nice and friendly. Our room is located in front of the pool and near the seashore, has a room service everyday. We ate dinner in their Restaurant which is a little bit too pricey, additional service charge too but the food is awesome. The next day, we had our tour in the different beautiful scenery of Bohol.Good thing the tour we had we're just me, my sister and my brother with our own van, unlike for others your with some people who you don't know and it's like your always in a hurry to go for the next scenery your about to visit. We had a very tiring whole day so we decided to swim at night a little and rest for next day back to Manila trip. I only enjoyed swimming on our last day but I really enjoyed it a lot. Kulang sa oras nga lang. Super sulit na bakasyon. Love to go back in there. :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FabulousyPinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Stayed at dumaluan beach resort from may 20 to 24. Bad experience from the start, they did not fetch us at the airport. Unwelcoming behavior of the staff at the front desk.Food is overpriced. Over all your money is not worth it. Find another place, wll not recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: Not recommending this to anyone,there are so many bad reviews already yet the management is not keen to amend these bad reviews.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josephine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I read a lot of negative and positive reviews of this resort so i was not really expecting something grand when I came there. but let ke just share what I liked and did not like about the resort. I work in the hospitality industry so it helps that I know what to expect and what to do in certain situations. I booked through Cleverbuy.com so basically it is a package of airfare, room and breakfast.

1. We arrived in the resort around 10am. We were told by the travel agent that early check-in is not possible. We got our room around 11am. Not bad....

2. While waiting for the room, me and my family (wife & 3 kids aged 8,4 & 1) decided to take an early lunch while waiting. Food here is EXPENSIVE and has service charge. One 1/4 piece of barbecue chicken cost P110++, Fruit shakes costs P90++, Plain Rice is at P40++ per cup. Overall our bill totalled to P1200 for that lunch along. I thought that for 3 days, we would be ripped off since there is nowhere else to eat.

Food portioning is quite plentiful. We sort of controlled what we had to order and the next few days were cheaper than our first lunch. I recommend the pizza, pasta, fried chicken and sisig. It will cost you around P600 to P700 only.

3. We asked to be assisted to our room since we had luggage and we were helped. Good service.

4. Room was cozy and clean enough. But as said in a previous review, there is a stench of the sewer that can be smelled at night. The smell is not there in the morning but present at night.

5. Drinks and snacks at the minibar and restaurant was also expensive. What I did was to check if there was a convenience store nearby. Nearest is about a 20 minute walk uphill, so I asked if there was a means of transportation to get there, there was none. So you would be stuck in the resort and had no choice but to buy from them. Being a thrifty hotelier, I spoke to the security guard if he can help me get transportation. He called one of the residents nearby the resort and he took me to the store through a single engine motorbike. All I had to do is pay P30 for a roundtrip. Not bad at all.... I bought water, softdrinks, beer, chips and cookies and the resort allows them to be brought inside with no corkage fee. You can even bring your water and juice in the restaurant rather than buy there.

6. Beachfront was clean. Swimming pool was clean as well. I just didn't like the pathway being constructed near the entrance to the pool. Very dangerous especially if you have kids. Lifeguard is also present at all times.

7. Bathroom is quite dangerous for adults and kids alike. There is a very big possibility that you might slip because the tub is elevated and you have to exert effort to get on it. Be very careful especially if floor is wet!

Overall, I must say that we had a good experience in the resort. I can say that because my wife and the kids did not really have any complaints at all.

Just a few suggestions
1. Put a telephone insie the rooms. It is a hassle to go to the reception desk everytime you need something.
2. Lower down the food prices espcially the grilled items. You can get those grilled items at half the price here in Manila. And offer at least tap water for the guests dining at the restaurant.
3. Get rid of that midget who works at a waiter in the restaurant. He looks likes a troll and his presence in the dining area makes your dining experience less than enjoyable. One look at that guy and you will get annoyed. And the service of the other attendants are not far from poor. Very early in the morning they are playing Rap music and I even caught one attendant at the buffet line memorizing the lyrics of Adele's "Someone Like you". The breakfast items are very, very poor.... hotdog, corned beef, lousy bread... I would suggest you just served plated tapsilog, tocilog, continental or american breakfast rather than a lousy and cheap "buffet"

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KingSevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

This narration does not intend to take away what is beautiful about bohol nor does it discredit the earnestness of select boholanos. We also believe that everyone should be made aware of how dumaluan resort 2 and its owners treated their guests when things went wrong and how during this time, there was absolutely no attempt at customer relations.

We booked our stay at Dumaluan Beach Resort 2 from April 24-27, 2012 at Panglao Island, Bohol, run by Reichyl Dumaluan Vallente and her husband Chancel. On the morning before our afternoon flight back to manila, our son and nephew rented the resort’s jet ski. On land they were fitted with life vests and given instructions on the entry and exit points, they were told not to ski between boats, to stay away from swimmers, give way to other boats and to stay outside of the white buoys. They were to keep within eyesight of Dumaluan for easier sighting in case of emergency. We learned later that our 15 year old son and 17 year old nephew, both minors, were made to sign a waiver before proceeding to the water. In the water, the person in charge strapped the velcro around our son’s wrist which was attached to the jet ski’s key so that in case they fall off, the key would come off the ignition and stop the jet ski from running, and they would still have the key.

Our boys were allowed to ride together by the resort, they didn’t have any restriction against 2 persons riding without an authorized jet ski operator on board. So they left and my husband stayed on the shore to wait for them. He stood up when there was silence and he could no longer hear the drone of the jet ski’s engine. From afar he could see that the jet ski was now upside down and the boys were in the water. The most fortunate thing was that there was a small boat passing by and seeing them, quickly threw life jackets to them because apparently, our nephew’s life vest burst open and he started to go under water. The jet ski people, lifeguards and all, were all on shore, and sent out a jet ski to get them.

When our boys were brought to shore, they fearfully narrated that a strong wave hit them as they made a turn and caused them to topple over and for the jet ski to capsize. The key which was supposed to be strapped to our son’s wrist was no longer there. We were simply thankful that they were safe and for the timely presence of that small boat in their area. At this point, no one from the resort asked if the boys were okay or if they needed medical help. Nothing. They were busy checking on their jet ski.

Now upon checking out and settling our accommodations, my husband was told to see the owner because our check out was on hold. Chancel, the husband- owner turned out to be one of the jet ski people and he was demanding that we pay for the repair of the jet ski and the replacement of the key because it was an electronic kind. It became a husband and wife tandem at that point and these so-called resort owners dumped all the blame on the boys for what happened. Their basis:

1. The key shouldn’t have gotten lost because it was strapped to our son’s wrist.

Our question was, who strapped the velcro to our son’s wrist? Was it tight enough? Did he make sure that it was securely in place? Who was in a better position to know if the velcro would hold? Our son knew better than to meddle with the person as he let him strap the velcro knowing that he was trained to do that. Who then has the sole responsibility to check and determine that the key was secure? And what of our nephew’s life vest that burst open and caused him to almost drown if not for our son reaching for him and the boatman being there to help them? Who fitted him with this defective life vest?

2. In the history of the resort, it was only now that their jet ski capsized, putting the blame squarely on the boys.

Being in the jet ski business means they should be aware of the risks involved and that accidents can happen. In fact they should have the proper insurance for this. The question is, do they? Whether or not this is the first time that it happened is irrelevant as they should be prepared for anything, and certainly being the first time does not provide the conclusion that it was the fault of our boys.

3. The boys made a “power turn” which they shouldn’t have, thus causing them to topple over.

Chancel, the owner, insisted that the boys made a power turn. What, in the first place constitutes a power turn? Did he even witness them do this because as far as we know, they were a second too late in coming to our boys' rescue. Were the boys briefed about this? Were they given lessons on proper jet skiing? No, they were simply let loose after the initial instructions. We didn’t insist that they ride together, they just let them. If they were strict about it, they could have told us that there had to be an instructor riding at all times and we would have complied right away. Again, who was in a better position to lay down the rules, and explain beforehand such a term as ‘power turn”? Who has the sole responsibility to do this?

These owners, Reichyl and Chancel Vallente of Dumaluan Beach Resort 2, heaped all the blame on the boys without once acknowledging that their own actions and lack thereof were actually the starting point that propelled this terrible accident to unfold, our boys’ inexperience simply completed the scenario. It could have happened to anyone. They were in fact the traumatized victims of the resort owners’ negligence. And yet all that the owners could let loose from their mouths was that we should shoulder the cost of their jet ski’s repair. Did they do this amicably? No. Did they conduct themselves in a manner becoming of resort owners? No. Did they put a premium on the welfare of their guests? No! We fell into a heated argument which was so surreal knowing that these were the resort owners we were dealing with, where in the world can you witness such gross behaviour from the owners themselves?

They called in a policeman whom they were very chummy with to put the incident on record, but who simply mediated for the owners. We would have been willing to share a small amount as a token of our participation in the accident, if they had owned up to their responsibility but they never did and never showed concern for our boys. But because we had a plane to catch, we were forced to leave with them 5k as a holding fee.

This is not the end of it yet, but surely the world has the right to learn about this terrible incident before they prey on another victim.

If this doesn’t deter you, then maybe our room service experience will give you another look at how these owners operate their resort:

- no housekeeping (daily changing of towels and linens), only after repeated requests and only on the third day did they finally give in to our request to sweep, clean and change linens

- there was no drinking water available in the room and even in the restaurant, you had to buy your own even during mealtimes at the restaurant

- no servicing the broken ceiling light in the room. They didn't bother at all to replace it even after repeatedly informing and requesting them to change the busted bulb. We were in the dark at night.

- no provision for cup and saucer in the room, they made us pay a deposit before we were provided a simple thermos of hot water and cups, no saucers or teaspoons included

- unsanitary room, after the initial air freshener dissipated, our room was permeated with a foul nauseating smell coming from their septic tank. We had to ask to be transferred as they acknowledged that the smell did emanate from their septic tank.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank tmanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The family and I just came from a much needed vacation in Panglao, Bohol. It's a fantastic place, one you'd go back to if given the chance. Unfortunately, the resort we stayed in left us with memories marred by the owners' shockingly arrogant behavior. Please read on and take note of this resort when planning your Bohol trip. And if you'd like to help us warn others as well, please share. Thanks!

Bohol’s Bane

This narration does not intend to take away what is beautiful about Bohol nor does it discredit the earnestness of select Boholanos. We also believe that everyone should be made aware of how DUMALUAN RESORT 2 and its owners treated their guests when things went wrong and how during this time, there was absolutely no attempt at customer relations.

We booked our vacation from April 24-27, 2012 at Dumaluan Beach Resort 2 at Panglao Island, Bohol, run by Reichyl Dumaluan Vallente and her husband Chancel. On the morning before our afternoon flight back to Manila, our son and nephew rented the resort’s jet ski. On land they were fitted with life vests and given instructions on the entry and exit points, they were told not to ski between boats, to stay away from swimmers, give way to other boats and to stay outside of the white buoys. They were to keep within eyesight of Dumaluan for easier sighting in case of emergency. We learned later that our 15 year old son and 17 year old nephew, both minors, were made to sign a waiver before proceeding to the jet ski. In the water, the person in charge strapped the Velcro around our son’s wrist which was attached to the jet ski’s key so that in case they fall off, the key would come off the ignition and stop the jet ski from running, and they would still have the key.

Our boys were allowed to ride in tandem by the resort, they didn’t have any restriction against 2 persons riding without an authorized jet ski operator on board. So they left and my husband stayed on the shore to wait for them. He stood up when there was silence and he could no longer hear the drone of the jet ski’s engine. From afar he could see that the jet ski was now upside down and the boys were in the water. The most fortunate thing was that there was a small boat passing by and seeing them, the boatman quickly threw life jackets in their direction because apparently, our nephew’s life vest burst open and he started to go under water. The jet ski people were all on shore, and sent out a jet ski rider to get them.

When our boys were brought back, they fearfully narrated that a strong wave hit them as they made a turn and caused them to topple over and for the jet ski to capsize. The key which was supposed to be strapped to our son’s wrist was no longer there. We were simply thankful that they were safe and for the timely presence of that small boat. At this point, no one from the resort asked if the boys were okay or if they needed medical help. Nothing. They were busy checking on their jet ski.

Now upon checking out and settling our accommodations, my husband was told to see the owner because our check out was on hold. Chancel, the husband-owner turned out to be one of the jet ski people and he was demanding that we pay for the repair of the jet ski and the replacement of the key because it was an electronic kind. It became a husband and wife tandem at that point and they started dumping all the blame on the boys for what happened. Their basis:

1. The key shouldn’t have gotten lost because it was strapped to our son’s wrist.
OUR QUESTION WAS, WHO STRAPPED THE VELCRO TO OUR SON’S WRIST? WAS IT TIGHT ENOUGH? DID HE MAKE SURE THAT IT WAS SECURELY IN PLACE? WHO WAS IN A BETTER POSITION TO KNOW IF THE VELCRO WOULD HOLD? OUR SON KNEW BETTER THAN TO MEDDLE WITH THE PERSON IN CHARGE AS HE LET HIM STRAP THE VELCRO, KNOWING THAT HE WAS TRAINED TO DO THAT. WHO THEN HAS THE SOLE RESPONSIBILITY TO CHECK AND DETERMINE THAT THE KEY WAS SECURE? AND WHAT OF OUR NEPHEW’S LIFE VEST THAT BURST OPEN AND CAUSED HIM TO ALMOST DROWN IF NOT FOR OUR SON REACHING FOR HIM AND THE BOATMAN BEING THERE TO HELP THEM? WHO FITTED HIM WITH THIS DEFECTIVE LIFE VEST?

2. In the history of the resort, it was only now that their jet ski capsized, thus putting the blame squarely on the boys.
BEING IN THE JET SKI BUSINESS MEANS THEY SHOULD BE AWARE OF THE RISKS INVOLVED AND THAT ACCIDENTS CAN HAPPEN. IN FACT THEY SHOULD HAVE THE PROPER INSURANCE FOR THIS. THE QUESTION IS, DO THEY? WHETHER OR NOT THIS IS THE FIRST TIME THAT IT HAPPENED IS IRRELEVANT AS THEY SHOULD BE PREPARED FOR ANYTHING, AND CERTAINLY BEING THE FIRST TIME DOES NOT PROVIDE THE CONCLUSION THAT IT WAS THE FAULT OF OUR BOYS.

3. The boys made a “power turn” which they shouldn’t have, thus causing them to topple over.
CHANCEL, THE OWNER HUSBAND INSISTED THAT THE BOYS MADE A POWER TURN AND SO IT WAS THEIR FAULT THAT THEY FELL. WHAT, IN THE FIRST PLACE, CONSTITUTES A POWER TURN? DID HE EVEN WITNESS THEM DO THIS BECAUSE AS FAR AS WE KNOW, THEY WERE A SECOND TOO LATE IN COMING TO OUR BOYS' RESCUE. WERE THE BOYS BRIEFED ABOUT THIS? WERE THEY GIVEN LESSONS ON PROPER JET SKIING? NO, THEY WERE SIMPLY LET LOOSE AFTER THE INITIAL INSTRUCTIONS. WE DIDN’T INSIST THAT THEY RIDE TOGETHER, THEY JUST LET THEM. IF THEY WERE STRICT ABOUT IT, THEY COULD HAVE TOLD US THAT THERE HAD TO BE AN INSTRUCTOR RIDING AT ALL TIMES AND WE WOULD HAVE COMPLIED RIGHT AWAY. AGAIN, WHO WAS IN A BETTER POSITION TO LAY DOWN THE RULES, AND EXPLAIN BEFOREHAND SUCH A TERM AS ‘POWER TURN”? WHO HAS THE SOLE RESPONSIBILITY TO DO THIS?

These owners, Reichyl and Chancel Vallente of Dumaluan Resort 2, heaped all the blame on the boys without once acknowledging that their own actions and lack thereof were actually the starting point that propelled this terrible accident to unfold, our boys’ inexperience simply completed the scenario. It could have happened to anyone. They were in fact the traumatized victims of the resort owners’ negligence. And yet all that the owners could let loose from their mouths was that we should shoulder the cost of their jet ski’s repair and that they had nothing to do with the accident. Did they do this amicably? NO. Did they conduct themselves in a manner becoming of resort owners? NO. Did they put a premium on the welfare of their guests? NO! We fell into a heated argument which was so surreal knowing that these were the resort owners we were dealing with, where in the world can you witness such gross behaviour from the owners themselves?

They called in a policeman whom they were very chummy with to have the incident put on record but who simply mediated for the owners. Knowing my husband, we would have willingly shared a certain amount as a token of our participation in the accident, if they had talked to us in the way people who put a premium on customer relations and who value their business should, and if they at least owned up to their responsibility in the accident. BUT THEY NEVER DID, AND THEY NEVER SHOWED AN IOTA OF CONCERN FOR OUR BOYS. Unfortunately, we were like hostages bound to never see an end to the argument. We had a plane to catch, so we were forced to leave with them 5K as a holding fee.

I can assure you this is not the end of it yet, but surely the world has the right to learn right away about this terrible incident before the same thing happens to another family.

If this doesn’t deter you, then maybe our room service experience will give you another look at how these owners operate their resort:

- no housekeeping (daily changing of towels and linens), only after repeated requests and only on the THIRD DAY did they finally give in to our request to sweep, clean and change linens

- there was no drinking water available in the room and even in the restaurant, you had to buy your own even during mealtimes at the restaurant

- no service for the broken ceiling light in the room. They didn't bother at all to replace it even after repeatedly informing and requesting them to change the busted bulb.

- no provision for cup and saucer in the room, they made us pay a deposit (!) before we were provided a simple thermos of hot water and cups, no saucers or teaspoons included

- unsanitary room, after the initial air freshener dissipated, our room was permeated with a foul nauseating smell that I assumed was coming from the sewer. We had to ask to be transferred as they acknowledged that the smell did emanate from their septic tank.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ManilaHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews