We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stray on Panglaw”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stray on Panglaw”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I enjoyed an extended stay here in July 2013. The staff are amazing. The front desk staff are excellent and helpful. The dining staff are great, and the bar staff are also outstanding. The Pearl restaurant is very good. The seafood platter was great, and the fish BBQ at the beach was amazing. The menu is extensive, and everything I ordered was good or better. The pool is nice and well maintained. I did a number of tours which were interesting and affordable. The snorkeling at Balicasaig is great. The only downside to LInaw is the beach. The beach is nice and the sand is nice, but the water is in a tidal marsh or plain, featuring heavy sea grass. You have to wade far out to get to open water, and the grass continues out there as well. You have to go to Alona beach or other beaches further up to get nice sandy beaches like one would expect. Other than the beach dilemma, Linaw is great!

Room Tip: Rooms 3 or 4 are best. Rooms 1 & 2 are second best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    101
    10
    8
    4
See reviews for
109
154
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Talisay City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Excellent everything. 4000 peso or $100. USD / night and well worth it. Awesome sights and impeccable service. Take the SeaCat boat at Pier 1 in Cebu City to Tagbilaran City in Bohol, then request the hotel van come pick you up. Bring extra batteries and memory for your camera.
Before you book ask if the pool pump has been repaired and if the Filipino pool pump destroyer has been fired.
Also respect other guest right to peace and quiet, please. This resort is upper scale.

Room Tip: Book in advance during peak season between late June to September. And if you really want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had 2 rooms one of which was overlooking the pool with an amazing view of the ocean. We were given a very friendly welcome from our pickup at the airport to our arrival at the resort. It is quite a way away but that is to be expected, and the roads were uncomfortable at best, but it is worth it for the location. We were very secluded but still only a short drive from Alona Beach. I would highly recommend the resorts arrange transportation as it removes any hassle, as well as their prearranged tours so you can make the most of a day touring the islands. The only very small criticism would be that the service is a little slow in the restaurants and they could be a little more attentive. Overall we had an excellent visit to Bohol and the Linaw Beach Resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMayo1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon city
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

stayed here last march... its a nice resort but there's really not much to do aside from swimming in the pool and the different tours.. i wont even mention the beach... the food was okay but not really to our taste... overall it was a nice stay but kinda boring..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The resort's pick up service met us at the ferry. After the chaos of the ferry, arriving at the resort was a delight. As it was evening when we arrived, we went straight to the restaurant. Dinner was so delicious that we had breakfast and dinner there everyday. The resort is just beautiful and kept spotless. A special mention to our waiter Ricky who was fantastic. We stayed for four nights and were sad to leave. Can't recommend this resort enough.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 3 which had view of pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eddie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lapu Lapu
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

When I arrived at this resort in late afternoon, it was low tide, and my initial impression was quite negative. The white sand beach gave way to a very long stretch of seaweed and puddles ... not the view I was expecting. The tide started coming in during the evening, however, and in the morning the sea reached the beach. The view at that point was spectacular.

If you're looking for a reasonably priced resort that is quiet and isolated, this is a good choice. The beach is clean and, if you don't want to sleep in the sand, there is a variety of seating, from lounge chairs to hammocks. The pool is relatively small but it didn't feel crowded. There is a poolside bar with a large selection of drinks. On the other side of the pool is a restaurant that has an extensive menu, ranging from steaks to paninis with a lot of pasta dishes. Like most places with so many selections, none of the food I tried was outstanding -- it was all pretty bland -- but none of it was bad. The wine list is surprisingly extensive. I don't know if they actually have all the wines on the list but they had the one I ordered and it was delicious. There are tables in a covered portion of the restaurant (handy if it rains) but they also set up tables on the beach, which provides a nice, romantic atmosphere.

A woman is present on site to provide massages, which are done on bed/benches outside, next to the restaurant and pool. My traveling companion got a massage and said it was okay, not great but relaxing. By American standards, it was quite inexpensive.

I had a seaview room which was reasonably spacious with a nice little balcony overlooking the beach. The shower is very large, featuring both an overhead "rain" shower and a more powerful, detachable shower hooked into the wall. Amenities are average for a midpriced resort.

This is a fairly small place and if there are a lot of guests, it might feel crowded. Oddly, the restaurant seemed to do brisk business at night but the resort always seemed fairly empty at other times. Maybe guests go off on day trips. In any event, apart from a billiards table and a ping pong table, there isn't much to do on-site other than swim and relax (which is fine with me). If you're looking for night life, this would be a poor choice. It really is pretty isolated. The staff is good about providing rides (I needed a ride to an ATM, maybe 10 minutes away, because their credit card machine wasn't working). The drive to the ferry dock is about 40 minutes. There's a little sari sari store at the end of the driveway if you need to buy a comb but that's about the only shopping you'll find, and you're limited to the food offered at the restaurant unless you arrange a ride elsewhere. Staff was always friendly and helpful, and my overall experience was quite favorable. I would recommend this to travelers looking for a quiet, out-of-the-way place who don't mind that the view isn't much during low tide.

Room Tip: I had a second floor seaview room (room 25), if you want a balcony and a decent view you need one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TChrisLapu2x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cebu
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is located in a very secluded part of Panglao, so I would recommend hiring their pick up service. Once you get into the resort, it's nothing but heaven. The food is amazing, and so is the pool and the beach front view.

It's really located in a very quiet part of Panglao, so you can read a book by the shore (just like how I did) and not be bothered by partying noises.

It was a high season when we stayed but I seriously admire how the staff can keep the resort clean and well maintained.

Did I say the food was amazing?

The only thing I did not like was the bathroom in our room. Although I was staying in the room with my sisters, it's still awkward to use the shower which did not have a door. NO DOOR. The others couldn't use the loo or the sink if someone was taking a shower. Maybe installing a curtain rod and having a shower curtain can help improve the situation.

Overall a very good and relaxing stay. Will I stay there again? Yes, it is worth the trip.

P.S. beach is not that nice although it has white sand too. I would recommend booking their Balicasag tour for snorkelling and Virgin Islands tour which has the best sand.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
1.8 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 15 in Panglao
1,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#8 of 49 in Panglao Island
180 reviews
3.2 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 49 in Panglao Island
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
3.1 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 49 in Panglao Island
1,338 reviews
1.6 mi away
Panglao Regents Park Resort
Panglao Regents Park Resort
#12 of 49 in Panglao Island
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant

Property: Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant
Address: 9999 Daorong | Danao, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Panglao Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded lush tropical paradise away from all the other resorts in Panglao, we are one of the newest beach resorts situated directly on a very private section of Alona. We offer a wide range of amenities for making your stay with us a memorable one. Linaw's Pearl Restaurant offers a wide range of International Cuisine and is a truly Fine Dining experience in Panglao. Our friendly staff are here to serve you with the best hospitality that Bohol has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linaw Beach Resort And Restaurant Hotel Panglao Island
Linaw Beach Resort And Restaurant Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing