We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Going there is stressful since it's in a "liblib" place. But once you see the resort, the first reaction is "WOW! Lovely! Very relaxing! The rooms are nice and clean. And there's nothing you could ask for. Though it's beach isn't nice to swim in. Island hopping is a must. Their food is good and prices are affordable. The place is very inviting that most of the guests are foreign. Overall, it's two "thumbs up". Shall go back there. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YelT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 369 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Linaw in Panglao.

Pros: friendly hotel staff, quiet beautiful beach (not Alona), reasonable food prices, wide variety on the menu, reasonable transportation prices, good wifi, really comfortable beds and high quality bathrooms, super clean and nice, beautiful pool

Cons: a little pricey for rooms (though soooo much better value for your money than you'll get for beach front/same cost on Alona), you do have to drive pretty much everywhere, at low tide the water gets very shallow and you can see some seaweed growing off shore. This didn't bother us, but it's something to keep in mind.

Room tips: We stayed in the super delux (Rm 3) because we booked late and it was all they had left. I felt like it was worth the extra money though - we had a balcony with direct view of the beach and sunset - plus the restaurant was happy to serve any meal up in our room at no additional cost. The room had two sides with windows so the light and breeze were amazing - though a/c was, of course, an option.

Transportation tips: transportation to and from the airport booked with the hotel is the best you're going to get (P600). similarly, transportation to Alona (P150), the Bee Farm (P300), etc is all most affordable via the hotel. We tried negotiating with tricycles and whatnot, but they were more expensive and less comfortable. You might be able to get cheaper by riding motorbikes, but that wasn't something we looked into.

We booked one tour through the hotel - the dolphin/balicasag/virgin island tour and though we really enjoyed it, the tour operators weren't awesome. They rarely spoke to us unless we asked a question and they tried to inordinately raise the price when we added on virgin island (in the hotel price list, the addition was P100, but they wanted P500). As we paid with the hotel, it was a non issue. They also really pushed our group to rent water shoes and fins along with snorkel gear at Balicasag and it was totally unnecessary. Balicasag has a slight current so you really don't need to wear fins - even if you're a poor swimmer - because you just float along and then the boat picks you up. No propulsion needed. And the shoes are just dead weight. All in all though, it was an amazing tour - just not necessarily best booked through the hotel.

We also were very impressed by the hotel's record keeping of charges. It's possible to charge everything to the room - restaurant meals, tours, a mango smoothie at a beach chair, and a beer at the pool bar. I thought checking out was going to be a nightmare, but they have a very organized system and staff and instead, checking out was a breeze. And what's better was that we felt like we had gotten a really great experience for our money. It was a great way to end our vacation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the super delux (Rm 3) because we booked late and it was all they had left. I felt lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

If you want to be in the middle of Alona beach - you're a 10 min 150peso taxi/trike ride away. If you want a paradise of peace and tranquility - you're here!! Currently halfway thru' a wek's stay and everything is superb - food, service, spotlessly clean rooms, location (no need to bring shoes -everything is on the beach!!). Restaurant is same price (or cheaper) than those on Alona Beach and food/service unbeatable. Staff will organise trips/ferries etc. - and all with an encouraging smile!!

Room Tip: They are all good but choose one which overlooks the sea - 3 and 4 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravellerBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I loved Linaw beach resort. I didn't appreciate how nice this place was until after I stayed at other sub par places. If you are looking for a place surrounded by many dining and nightlife options in Panglao, you may want to consider staying at some place near Alona Beach. However, if you're looking for a nice private getaway, Linaw has absolutely everything you could want.

We were very impressed with the accommodations, which are modern, clean, and exceedingly spacious. Our room had a shower and bathtub with running water, hair dryer, and everything we could have wanted. The staff are extremely polite and friendly, and the wait staff are among the most attentive I've seen while traveling in the Philippines. I should also mention that their food is excellent, and the prices for the food are very reasonable. Their menu is extensive, and includes everything from western food to Filipino food, and many other options, for every meal.

They also have a pool and a beach which are kept in excellent condition. The beach was groomed and the pool was cleaned every morning. The beach isn't good for swimming, as the water extending from the beach contains lots of shells and marine life. That being said, the beach itself is very nice for relaxing, and I enjoyed watching many sunsets with my fiancee there.

While it is away from Alona Beach, it is also very close by the Hotel's transportation service to there, which during our stay was about 250Php. There are lots of dining/nightlife options there. We ended up going to a Korean restaurant in Alona which was delicious, but because of the quality and price of the restaurant at the hotel, we rarely had any reason to go outside.

The tours in Bohol are excellent value for your money. We found ourselves paying less for tours which spanned the entire day which would have cost us twice as much in Narra. I would highly recommend the chocolate mountain tour, and the Hinagdanan cave tour is perfect for a rainy day. If you are looking to buy souvenirs, the ones around Hinagdanan cave are very reasonably priced and high quality. Be sure to pick up some peanut kisses!

We loved Linaw and plan on going back there in the future.

Room Tip: They are all nice, though we chose the cheapest option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been there twice for the food as we stayed nearby without a restaurant, and we LOVED the food, the SCENARY, the quietness of the place, atmosphere, beach dinner, quality of the service and the really delicious food!
We had the meat and sea food the first night and the second time the seafood bbq platter was impressive!! RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank valevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in 2008 Easter. Very tranquil place. Our room was 10 steps to the infinity pool. The beach is nothing to sing and dance about. If you're after miles of white sandy beach, you might not like this one as it's full of seaweeds at low tide. We didn't mind as it is a private beach which meant no one selling items while we relaxed.

The staff were fantastic! They are attentive, but not crowding. Very friendly, but what else would you expect from Filipinos? The owners are very accommodating too. They open their own home when the hotel is full.

The hotel itself is not big. I think there are only 6 rooms which means there's enough space so guests don't feel crowded. Our room was spacious. There was no tea making facilities, but one can always ask the staff for hot water,coffee, or tea any time. The only negative about the room I can say is I went home full of bites. I'm sure the owners have rectified this by now.

Our stay was b&b. We ate all our meals at the resort. It would have been better if there was an option of full board as the resort is far from the touristy spot.

The offered tour was good and competitive in value. Don't bother with dolphin watching. It's a waste of time. We woke up at the crack of dawn, unfortunately at least 50 other boats/bancas full of tourist had the same idea. It was dolphin chasing, not watching.

I really don't want to say this is the best place there is without breaking the bank. This is my secret place I want to go back to all the time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Girly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at Linaw Beach Resort. Great location. Near, but not in, Alona Beach so it is peaceful.

Rooms are clean and nicely furnished. The staff are friendly and helpful. Great pool and outdoor areas to relax right on the beach.

We had several meals at the restaurant which were good (except dinner the last night which was overcooked). The highlights were the beach BBQ and the homemade sausages at breakfast.

The massages are cheap at 350 php (mine was good, husband's just ok) but check out the location before you book one. The massage cabana is located between the restaurant and the pool so you get to hear chattering from the kitchen and splashing from the pool which makes it hard to relax. Plus the cabana only has thin see through curtains which offer very little in the way of privacy.

You can also book tours through the hotel. The prices are a little more than booking at Alona, but less hassle. We booked the dolphin watching tour and they picked us up right on the beach at the resort. Very reliable and convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShazDwn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Panglao Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Bohol Sea Resort
Bohol Sea Resort
#10 of 50 in Panglao Island
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bohol South Beach Hotel
Bohol South Beach Hotel
#23 of 50 in Panglao Island
92 reviews
1.5 mi away
Henann Resort Alona Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
The Bellevue Resort Bohol
#4 of 50 in Panglao Island
1,448 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amorita Resort
Amorita Resort
#1 of 16 in Panglao
1,532 reviews
3.2 mi away
South Palms Resort
South Palms Resort
#2 of 50 in Panglao Island
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant

Address: 9999 Daorong | Danao, 6340, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Bohol Province > Panglao Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Specialty Lodging in Panglao Island
Price Range: $65 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A secluded lush tropical paradise away from all the other resorts in Panglao, we are one of the newest beach resorts situated directly on a very private section of Alona. We offer a wide range of amenities for making your stay with us a memorable one. Linaw's Pearl Restaurant offers a wide range of International Cuisine and is a truly Fine Dining experience in Panglao. Our friendly staff are here to serve you with the best hospitality that Bohol has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Linaw Beach Resort and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linaw Beach Resort And Restaurant Hotel Panglao Island
Linaw Beach Resort And Restaurant Bohol Province/Panglao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing