We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gateway Motor Inn Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Masterton Motor Lodge(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$108
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acorn Estate Motel Masterton(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cornwall Park Motel(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$75
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highwayman Motel(Masterton)(Great Value!)
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amble Inn Motel(Masterton)
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greytown Hotel(Greytown)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The White Swan(Greytown)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Park Motel(Masterton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
112
37
10
3
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
112
37
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was largean extra nightpleasant surpriseshower pressureawesome servicereal bonusbed was very comfortablestay there againa wonderful stayarrived latelovely roomcooking facilitiesgreat facilitiesnew zealandhis wifeoutside patioking suite
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 165 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The place was very well decorated, rooms were great & staff (I think there was only one) was very friendly & helpfull. Pitty the place was empty as this is not a reflection of the standard of the establishment.

The price was motel rate but the place looked & felt more like a 4* hotel.

We did not catch up with the owner on departure so could not point out that the free to air TV channels & the wireless internet did not work in our room. Otherwise it would have been 5*.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed twice in a week on our way to & from Hawke's Bay. A real find and the friendliest, most comfortable stay we've had anywhere in years. Approaching from Wellington, you can easily miss it on the left immediately after the tractor dealerships. (The signage & entrance doesn't do it justice.) Once you've arrived, Faisal the Manager is a star, providing quality personal service at its very best. Thanks also to Gail who was very attentive and helpful. Although a motel in name, it's much better than many "hotels" we've stayed in and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. The meals were superb in quality and generously portioned. The suite was spotless, well-equipped, quiet and the bed very comfortable. The motel is also truly user-friendly for the less-mobile. We'll certainly stay here again and are recommending it to all our friends. Many thanks for a great time. Peter & Angela

Room Tip: The suites are all quiet and are named after winning racehorses. We were "Empire Rose" but "Bonecrusher" might suit you better or "Sweet Sensation" perhaps...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter and Angel... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was the first time that we stayed at the Gateway. From the time we arrived till checkout three days later, the service was exceptional. This was made even more so by Faisal, the Hotel Manager who never failed to provide quality service and a friendly smile. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and the room we stayed in was most comfortable. Outside in the garden it was a lovely open space, very idyllic on a warm day. We had an excellent time here, location was amazing and would definitely come again.

L & I Toelupe

Room Tip: Kiwi Room Rocks!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isa-Uana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent 2 nights at this attractive and very comfortable hotel. The greeting by the manager was excellent and he was very friendly. He came to our car, carried our bag and on the way to our suite covered what we needed to know in a friendly but professional manner. We had a magnificent and very comfortable suite and the service provided by the manager before and during our dinner was excellent. In fact the manager addded so much to the enjoyment of our visit. The place is well worth a visit so we recommend people to do so to experience and enjoy the great facilities and wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the gateway for the first time on the 28/9. What a wonderful surprise, from the minute we walked in the manager Faisal Sayed was brilliant. He appears to run the whole place at the same time, from reception to the dinning room the bar and room service. What a lovely friendly man to have as the face of the gateway!! I suggest you never lose this guy as he seems to love what he does and really makes the stay a memorable one.
I would recommend a stay here to anyone who asks.
Many thanks, P&G Winter.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews