We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (443)
Filter reviews
443 results
Traveler rating
296
96
25
10
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
296
96
25
10
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviews big game camp national park sri lanka a great experience two nights day safari bbq dinner hot water next morning whole experience sloth bear his team food was great our honeymoon shower and toilet night walk comfortable beds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 443 reviews
Reviewed January 5, 2020

First of all i traveled in my personal vehicle by using the Southern Express way. We left our home premises around 0600hrs and we reached the destination at almost 1215hrs. Mr. Manjula(FOM) sent us a vehicle to escort our way from the pick up location to the place. Even the climate is a bit dry and dusty but you can feel the adventure is calling through the wind. As we sat on on the front office an actual big tent, he prepared us and treated us with some cool lime juice and warm towels as a welcome treat. They escorted us to the tent number 07 and 08. Since, seen the tents with cool features its hard to believe that in such rural place you can find a such.Attached bathrooms, mosquito repellent, flash lights, wifi, beds and comfy pillows were the best part.So on after a litlle bit of refreshment we were taken to the restaurant. Restaurant Supervisor Mr. Wasantha was one of the best person i've found in a such palce even after roamed through such bigger place. One of the best cheerful lads and very intelligent with the knowledge of the surroundings and animals too. He is a one man army. Other than that the best part of the restaurant is local food. It was brilliant <3. Again after we taken to the Yala Safari and we were added up with a superb naturalist and good driver too. We taken to almost al the remote corners of the yala safari parks block 5 and all. Gladly we had the chance to see Water Buffalos, Quiels, Peacoks, Wild Boar, Dotted Deers', Crocodiles, Elephants and the most famous local Leopards.We had the chance to see "Natta Kota" - short tail(mother) and her son "Michael" in the safari. Micheal was tasting some water pit to get his thirst off. We came back to our camping site after a thrilling adventure and we treated with some local tea. After was as per the request we enjoyed a bonfire with some Australian folks and had a BBQ dinner. Roasted chicken, Kottu, Baked Vegetables, Staked fish were at its best. After the appealing meal we were escorted for the night trek. Luckily we were able to spot Wild Hares since, all the animals were hidden from the upcoming rain storm. After a rainy cold nights in the tent, in the morning were given a good morning tea. After the morning tea we had a small trek towards the Hanuman Temple by using a enorute near the borders. Again teh chef was able to surprise us with his superb cooking skills. This place have one of the finest chefs who makes good local and international food. After all people from the Manger to the minor staff very friendly. Manjula,Wasantha, Ashinka, the Chef Maduranga are some of the names i could remember since this review is done after few-months time. Tents were superb, food were at its best, people were remarkable.
If i had a chance again i would definitely visit the place. Thansk you very much for the services and for the friendship.

Room tip: Tents which are to be behind from the main area is much quieter and cooler.
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank r0shenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Manager at Big Game Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2020

Dear r0shenv,

We are overwhelmed to read your amazing review and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you on your very descriptive encouraging and supportive comments and for sharing your genuine thoughts about the experience with the viewers. It makes all our hard work and effort worthwhile.

as you have mentioned our food, the service and the staff are our strong suits in delivering this experience and your gracious comments about our staff members will definitely reach them. And we see that you have thoroughly enjoyed the safari and we are so thrilled about it.

Thank you for visiting Sri Lanka. We certainly hope that we have the pleasure of greeting you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019

We visited this place for a family reunion for just a 2 nights stay during Christmas. I frequent many wildlife holidays across the globe and this place is one of the best I've ever stayed in. Our family group had people of all ages from my 2 year old son to a 75 year old Grandma and teens too and everybody had a wonderful time.

Stay:
1) Exceptionally clean tents with all creature comforts possible in a jungle environment
2) Hot water was available through showers at all times

Food:
1) Our group was complete vegetarian (No egg either) and the camp manager 'Osha' made all the necessary arrangements to ensure we had vegetarian food.
2) Delicious vegetarian food!

Hospitality:
1) Osha the camp manager and Manjula the naturalist took great care to ensure that our group was very well taken care off. This is one of the first camps that I have visited were the Manager herself rolled up her sleeves to help the rest of her crew serve and take care of the guests.
2) A special thank you to Osha for her wonderful service with a smile at any time of the day or night!
3) One of the best managed wildlife camps I have visited!

Game drives/ Safaris:
1) The camp is very close to the primary safari zone ( Block 1)
2) We got lucky with Leopard sightings on the morning and evening safaris
3) Block 5 is a fabulous zone to visit for the stunning views of the park - Must visit!

Big thank you to Big Game Camp for the wonderful Christmas vacation! Will surely visit again!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Kaushikvijay87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Manager at Big Game Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear Kaushikvijay87,

Thank you so much for taking time to add such a great review.

You have highlighted almost all of our features at the site in details and its an absolute pleasure to see that you have enjoyed every aspect of it.

We will ensure that your appreciation reach our staff at the campsite and hope to have you staying with us in your future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2019 via mobile

We are about to leave two glorious nights at Big Game Camp Yala. Not only were the accommodations better than expected, with private showers, toilets and electricity, but the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were well taken care of. Both Manjula and Osha were extraordinary hosts who were happy to share information, stories and recipes. They arranged for a cooking demonstration with our family, as well. The food was delicious and plentiful and the staff went the extra mile with us to pack up some of our favorite treats from our stay. Our game drives were spectacular ... up close with leopards, elephants, monkeys, crocodiles and oodles of birds. We would highly recommend!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Naomi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Manager at Big Game Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear Naomi G,

Thank you so much for the great comment.

Its a pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will definitely make sure that your appreciation reach our staff. Our food is indeed is one our strengths at the camps and we are glad that you have enjoyed it.

Hoping to see you again.





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019 via mobile

We spent two nights in Yala big game camp and it was a very romantic athmosphere, everybody gave the best to comfort us and to give us the feeling of a luxury jungle camp like out of Africa in Sri Lanka. We did a night walk with a very experienced guide with big knowledge and we left with a big smile on our faces. Thanks for the time to the whole team. E.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank BerelKatznelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Manager at Big Game Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear BerelKatznelson,

Thank you so much for the you the wonderful words.

Its a great pleasure to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and its always our goal to give you big smiles and memorable moments during the stay.

we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as part of an es orated tour around Sri Lanka. Staff are extremely knowledgeable and friendly and on arrival we were treated to cold flannels and even colder drinks. Accommodation is by way of tents, each with shower and wash basins. Beds are basic but quite adequate. The site is situated on the edge of the National Park and we enjoyed a superb trip into the reserve by safari jeeps. A BBQ was provided as our evening meal and we ate and drank under the stars for an experience of a lifetime. Breakfasts are good and there’s wildlife a plenty within the camp. We saw the rare Giant squirrel during our stay as well as monkeys, monitors and iguanas a plenty. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 335ChrisS335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anuruddha B, Manager at Big Game Camp Yala, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2019

Dear 335ChrisS335,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

Its great to see that you have enjoyed the stay with us and hope to see you in future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews