We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, excellent food, lovely room” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheltenham Regency Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staverton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent food, lovely room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

First visit. 1 night stay as we were using It as a stopover. £79 paid for a superior double. Excellent room, king size bed (very comfortable) , good tv and DVD player. Shower was excellent. We had intended eating in Cheltenham but changed plans and decided to eat in the hotel. Great choice as it turned out. Prices are very reasonable with a la carte, bar style meals, ciabattas etc. I chose the burger which was amongst he best I have ever ad. Fresh , chunky and cooked perfectly, served with homemade chips. My wife had steak ciabatta which had lovely lean steak. Bar prices much better than most hotels. Very happy with our choice and will return he when next in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for superior double and check if they have any offers. I just asked on the phone for there best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyril E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    155
    77
    11
    12
See reviews for
58
222
11
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Borlange, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Refurbished, modern good sized Rooms.
The Restaurant have very good food and a big bar.
The hotel is very good located for touring in the Cotswolds.
Friendly, helpful staff.
Eacy reach of the town center of Cheltenham vid local bus every 10th minute.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaEngblom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was a one night stay in April 2013.

The first thing I would say about this hotel is, don't judge a book by it's cover. From the outside the hotel it doesn't look very appealing, the same can be said for reception area. However, once you step inside you quickly realise that the hotel is nicely finished.

I arrived to find plenty of parking and I was quickly greeted by reception and provided the keys to my room.

The room itself, a double, was clean and spacious with modern furnishings. The bathroom included a full tub.

Flat screen TV and Free WIFI was easy to use and good speeds. There is also a DVD player and fridge - not something you tend to find at many hotels.

The food in the restaurant was average and I would probably recommend eating outside of the hotel.

I would recommend a stay at this hotel, given it's good location and nice rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LukeRichM5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Last year four of us had Sunday lunch at The Regency and it was excellent. This year we wanted to take two friends out for a evening meal and decided to go to The Regency.
Menu was rather unusaul and not very extensive, but we found things we liked; one starter was descibed as a mackeral salad @ £6.50 it was a heap of lettuce with two small pieces of mackeral on top. Main courses were well presented and looked nice but portions were small and really no vegetables.The vegetarian dish was very small. We had to ask for bread this was not brought round, the serviettes were paper.
Some of the sweets were well presentd but one of our friends had just ice cream @£5.50 this consisted of three scoops of ice cream in a bowl and nothing else I asked for a wafer but was told they had none.
The service was good and the resturant looked pleasant and inviting; but for us the food was not to our liking and they would need to make some changes for us to go back again.

Room Tip: look at menu carefully before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARMARTHENSHIRE UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Booked a package as a treat for my partner by phone. When we arrived the receptionist was the lady I had booked with and she remembered me. She was very pleasant & helpful. Had an upgrade to a suit which was lovely. Spacious room & I wanted to take the bed back home as it was so comfy. Bathroom had bath & large shower. We ate in the restaurant that night. The choice is limited but covered a good range & what we had was quite acceptable. Breakfast had a good choice as well but the scrambled eggs I had were a bit strange – not fluffy. Not quite sure how they cooked them. I would stay there again and recommend it as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

A bridge weekend with Mr Bridge. Hotel room large, clean and newly decorated. Food very good and good choice. Staff very helpful. Excellent bus service into Cheltenham. Entrance hall needs to be made more welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We decided to book this hotel for a last minute break and managed to get quite a good deal.

First impressions were actually not that great as the reception area was untidy and needed a bit of a spruce up. However, we were given a warm welcome by the receptionist who was polite and helpful,providing us with suggestions and directions for restaurants in town.

Our room was a decent size and very tastefully decorated, as were the bar and restaurant. The bed was very comfortable and everywhere was spotlesssly clean.

Breakfast was ok - I would have liked a bit more choice, but the hot food was cooked well, and the service was excellent.

Really good value for money. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staverton
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
Jurys Inn Cheltenham
#9 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.8 mi away
Queens Hotel Cheltenham MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
The Cheltenham Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Clarence Court Hotel
Clarence Court Hotel
#3 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
2.9 mi away
Strozzi Palace Boutique Hotel Suites
2.6 mi away
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
Hotel du Vin Cheltenham
#7 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cheltenham Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cheltenham Regency Hotel

Property: Cheltenham Regency Hotel
Address: Gloucester Road, Staverton, Cheltenham GL51 0ST, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cheltenham Regency Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cheltenham > Staverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Staverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cheltenham Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cheltenham Regency Hotel is conveniently located only a few miles from the centre of Regency Cheltenham, yet only minutes from the motorway network. The hotel offers 47 newly refurbished en-suite bedrooms including suites, hotel bar and restaurant offering a selection of superb food from our menu. We also have a large function room, ideal for weddings, events and business conferences which holds up to 180 people for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cheltenham Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Cheltenham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing