We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (979)
Filter reviews
979 results
Traveler rating
413
259
148
77
82
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
259
148
77
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leasowe castle golf course wedding venue my partner sea view star chamber following morning cocktail bar evening meal lovely place wedding breakfast from start to finish bar staff member of staff wedding guests couldn't do enough lamb
Filter
Updating list...
960 - 965 of 979 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2007

Have just returned from a stay over the Easter weekend. Whilst the bedroom was large enough, clean and with great views over the golf course and sea, the 70's decor and feel of the bathroom let it down. The castle looks very tired and in need of a good spruce up before it goes into complete rack and ruin - I know it's old but this could be done sympathetically and in keeping with the age of it. It does need a lot of money spending on it to justify the price of an overnight stay and to overcome problems mentioned on other reviews.
The interior decor is a mishmash of styles especially the bar areas which are at odds with the rest of the castle and haven't been tastefully done. At the moment it's neither one thing nor the other. The hotel obviously relies on the fact that it is a castle (and the attraction that goes with it) as well as it's location above all else.
Food wise, breakfast was the best bit and friendly staff.

Date of stay: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank minster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2007

We booked our wedding including the ceremony at the hotel in February 07. The hotel itself has a unique charm which makes it a perfect venue for wedding or weekend stay. The food was excellent, with numerous guests saying they thought it was the best food they had had at a wedding. The rooms were great with good views of the golf course and promenade. And above all, the staff were without exception efficient., helpful, warm and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this venue to anyone contemplating a function or just a weekend away. Thanks to everyone at the Castle. Angela

Date of stay: February 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

On behalf of every single person that attended the wedding of Kellie and Dan on teh 19th August 2006, we would like to say a big massive thank you to each and every one of the staff the food and service was second to none from start to finish we would have no hesistation in recomending your hotel to anyone wanting to hold a function in your area that you again Billy & Margaret Halliday.

Date of stay: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Weddings5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We stayed in the Leasowe Castle for a weekend. I should have been suspicious when they asked if we were attending a wedding at the hotel. We weren't and were charged £100 per night for the priviledge. The Leasowe Castle runs two weddings per day over the weekend, it's geared for people who get so legless they don't care where they rest their heads. Our room was ropey. We literally had to kick the door in to get into the room. It rained during the night and water came pouring in through the (rather attractive) suspended ceiling. The room smelled damp and the Housekeeping Manager tried to tell me it was the smell of the new carpet!

We had a drink in the bar, which reminded me of a badly refurbished working men's club. The saving grace was the breakfast - a hearty affair served by your gran on a table adorned by a tea-stained table cloth. Truly Fawlty Towers.

Date of stay: August 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GillyH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

visiting to see our new grandson,
The room was spacious and nice to relax in. Enjoyed the big tele in the evening after a relaxing drink in the cosy bar.
Breakfast was great and we enjoyed a stroll around the grounds to the shore. Staff very friendly and welcoming.

Date of stay: June 2006
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews