We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical View”
Review of Hotel Beaudon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Beaudon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pierrefonds
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical View”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We used this hotel as a stop over on our way to Southern France, and to take the opportunity to view Merlin's castle. The hotel is in a great location, across the lake from the castle, the view was magical. Hotel was clean and friendly, we had a family room on the top floor, which was a bit of a trek to get too, but well worth it for the view. Ideal for an overnight stay or two, plenty of restaurants in the village, we ate alfresco opposite the hotel. Parking was an issue, but there is an overflow car park at the end of the village, which meant a short walk to the hotel, though we were able to move the car once the day trippers had left. The castle met all expectations from our two little Merlin fans!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    73
    26
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
58
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

That is all I can say about Hotel Beaudon and the charming owners Cyril and Martine. The staff is all very kind, very helpful and utmost kind. They speak English very well and the rooms are clean, quiet (of course you would hear footsteps and such, but it is an old building made of wood and that just adds to the charm of it!).

Breakfast is a good selection of what you need to start the day.

This hotel truly feels like a home away from home for the seasoned traveller. IF you want to be staying close to Paris (45min drive if no traffic) or rather visit cities such as Senlis, Soissons, Laon or Compiégne, then this is the most charming and fun place to stay.

I call the small town of Pierrefonds like a miniature France on itself.

It has a majestic towering medieval chateau with a lovely chateau shop! It offers a great Friday farmers market, a butcher, a baker, a post office, a super market, a vegetable shop and a florist, an antique shop as well as a bistro with lake view, childrens play ground, a church, a chapel, a creperie, a pizzeria and another restaurant and this hotel! Hotel Beaudon is at the center of this all and there is the lake, the sweet chime and bells of the church and the chapel during the day ... forests and pretty medieval villages like Saint Jean aux Bois nearby as well.

I, seasone traveller and young couple with no children, strongly recommend Hotel Beaudon in Pierrefonds.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shahbanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunusstein, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stopped in Pierrefonds as part of a two week long trek across France. This property was neat, clean, orderly and furnished well for the 2 STAR level. A nice dining room accented the end of a busy day. The incredibl Chateau across the way as well as the pleasant environment of a small town and great hotel made this a "5 STAR" among the "2 STAR CLUB". Will be back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrmdispatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I have to agree with previous reviewers - it's not the Ritz - 35 steps up to the second floor proves it. And what steep steps beyond the first floor! Still no pain; no gain. The view over the lake, the village, the chapel up to the castle made it worthwhile. It is an enchanted village, but I wish Merlin had magiced some more parking space. Do not arrive on a Saturday. Every space in the village is taken by visitors and there is no car park at the hotel. The food was average but not worth booking for.The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. A Creperie next door was full and looked far more inviting. I would like to come back to Pierrefonds but probably to one of the other hotels.

Room Tip: Don't go above the first floor without oxygen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had booked in advance and were delighted to find both rooms had a view of the Chateau, very small rooms though and no aircon, could not leave the windows open because of mosquitoes from the nearby lake. Very cheap furniture and absolutely hated having a plastic cover on the mattress! We didn't get a very peaceful night as we were too hot and the bed was only 4'6".

We ate outside next to the lake and went for the Plat du Jour which was really excellent, rabbit terrine, steak with wonderful chips and chocolate fondant which was a bit plastic and they had run out of apple and plum crumble sadly. The service was friendly although we waited ages for dinner as they seemed to be overwhelmed by numbers.

Breakfast was ok, continental with no hot options but nice enough.

Room Tip: If booking ahead ask which rooms you are getting as I believe some are much bigger than ours were.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed for one night at this hotel on the way back to Calais from the South of France. We hadn't booked but stopped by on the off chance of getting a room in Pierrefonds having visited the Village for a day a couple of years ago. What luck they had 2 rooms to choose from and although the hotel doesn't have a lift we chose the room on the 3rd floor.
On arrival we were greeted by the owner who spoke perfect English and was very friendly,(we later bumped into him in one of the bars in town and he translated for us what we were trying to ask for,which was a table for 2 at 9 o/clock)
The room wasn't the biggest of rooms but was adequate for what we wanted,but the view certainly made up for that.The bed was very comfortable and the usual linens and toiletries were provided along with tea and coffee making facilities.
The Chateau virtually opposite behind the village shops and restaraunts and the boating lake out front looked fantastic.Certainly a medieval view.
On the downside,the bathroom was rather small and cramped due to the sloping roof and there was no aircon but that was a small price to pay for such a wonderful view.
Can't comment on the restaraunt as we did not use it but from other reviews it seems we may have missed out,although where we did eat in the village was very nice.
I would definately recommend this hotel and will be staying there again in the not too distant future, but for longer next time.

Room Tip: If you do choose the 3rd floor,take as little luggage as you need,as the stairs are quite steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Pierrefonds attracts most of its visitors with the chateau and this hotel is perfectly positioned to host. The hotel is clean, tidy and provides its services well. It isn't the Ritz, but what it does do is provide clean and comfortable rooms at decent rates.

The owners were helpful when I needed assistance with storing bikes overnight.

A decent stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierrefonds
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aux Bles d'Or
Hotel Aux Bles d'Or
#3 of 3 in Pierrefonds
25 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Compiegne Centre Ville
8.9 mi away
Mercure Compiegne Sud
Mercure Compiegne Sud
#1 of 1 in Lacroix Saint Ouen
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Les Beaux Arts
8.4 mi away
Hotel de Harlay
Hotel de Harlay
#7 of 12 in Compiegne
49 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bonanite
Hotel Restaurant Bonanite
#2 of 2 in Villers-Cotterets
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beaudon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaudon

Property: Hotel Beaudon
Address: 10 rue du Beaudon, 60350 Pierrefonds, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Pierrefonds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pierrefonds
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beaudon 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beaudon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing