We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont eat too late”
Review of Hotel Beaudon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beaudon
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pierrefonds
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After a very typically French meal and a reasonable price we retired to the small reception area for a few more drinks. This was 11pm and we were informed the bar was closed, although we were fortunate enough to get a drink. At 11:15 we were asked to leave this area for cleaning and when standing in the corridor were quite abruptly told to keep quite.
The Hotel rooms are pleasant but small, unfortunately the quite curt treatment spoiled the visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 165 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very good family run hotel.Nothing was too much trouble, even down to changing my mothers room to one on the first floor as the stairs were too steep for her.Our rooms had great view of the castle and were vey comfortable,the overall cleanliness was superb.
The breakfast was good and the evening meals were very good the staff were very friendly and helpful and we were made to feel very welcome.
A good hotel to stay at if visiting the magnificent castle and the lovely area.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank gilesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We searched for ages trying to find accommodation for our battefields trip and were lucky to come across Hotel Beaudon. The staff were friendly and helpful and our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is in a great location for the chateau. We only ate breakfast here which was absolutely fine. There is a small restaurant just up the road which was excellent along with a cafe / bar which was OK for drinks.

Room Tip: Front of house rooms have the best views but are on the street frontage. The road isn't that bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mherkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Dominated by the castle that was the setting for BBC TV's "Merlin" series, Pierrefonds is a beautiful village a short drive from Compiègne and ideally situated for an overnight stay while travelling to or from Eurotunnel or the Channel ferries.

Hotel Beaudon is a gem of a place, with a distinctive character, and though we were only there for one night we could see why people would stay for longer to explore the castle and the surrounding area. A friendly welcome is always a good start, and that was duly provided. Our room was very comfortable, though don't expect the large spaces of chain hotels, and the view of Castle Pierrefonds from the window was outstanding. There is a boating lake just across the road, and the village has a range of restaurants and shops.

The hotel has avoided going down the Merlin-themed route and has its own identity, though naturally the guest book is full of Merlin-related comments. We were pleased we didn't miss out on the restaurant, which is a light and airy room with contemporary art by a local artist on the walls – it's always good to see creative people from the area being acknowledged. The food was excellent. Salmon smoked on the premises was delicious, as was the carpaccio of beef, also prepared in the kitchen, and one of the best I have ever eaten. Terrine and a white fish with lobster sauce were also excellent so if you're staying it's worth checking out the food here.

All in all, a very pleasant start to our stay in France, and next time we'll take some more time to explore that magnificent castle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireFailte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed here on a number of occasions in the last two years. It's situated in a quiet corner of Pierrefonds (about 2.5 hours away from the Euro Tunnel and 15 minutes away from Compiègne). The rooms are a little on the small side but perfectly suitable for most needs. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's a good base for exploring this beautiful part of France.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edgeoflondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a great little hotel in a good location for castle and lake.
We stayed in a large family room with an extra bed to accommodate 3 children. The staff were friendly and courteous at all times and it is a shame there are not more hotels like this remaining in France. The room, beds and bathroom were all spotless.
We ate in the restaurant on Saturday evening and the food was good and reasonably priced. The restaurant was busy on a cold February evening so be sure to book. It was pleasing to note that it was a good family tolerant atmosphere for children which allows the adults to relax a little and enjoy their food.
The breakfast is buffet style but with plenty of choice and the croissants were fresh which is a welcome change in France these days.
This is a reassuringly good and well run hotel and I would not hesitate to return or recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ypxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Beautiful, beautiful Pierrefonds and beautiful Hotel Beaudon. As Merlin fans we desperately wanted to see the famous Chateau where this great TV show is filmed and I have to say I absolutely fell in love with this gorgeous little town. The hotel is very quaint. We had a triple room on the top floor in what I would term the attic. We had sloped ceilings and exposed beams and a little dormer window from which we had a great view of the lake and the Chateau. The room was very comfortable and quite large with a double bed in one room and then a single bed in a little separate area and it had a spotlessly clean & modern bathroom. We ate dinner & breakfast in the restaurant downstairs and the food was very good. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful but what makes this hotel a stand out is its location. It is directly opposite a beautiful lake and the little town is perhaps the most picturesque place I have ever seen with the huge Chateau towering over it on the hillside above. I think in Summer it might get a little overrun but in December it was a sleepy hollow and a great place to visit. Thank you Pierrefond & Hotel Beaudon for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pierrefonds
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aux Bles d'Or
Hotel Aux Bles d'Or
#3 of 3 in Pierrefonds
30 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hostellerie du Royal Lieu
Hostellerie du Royal Lieu
#4 of 12 in Compiegne
84 reviews
24.9 mi away
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
Auberge du Jeu de Paume
#1 of 7 in Chantilly
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Mercure Compiegne Sud
Mercure Compiegne Sud
#1 of 1 in Lacroix Saint Ouen
206 reviews
8.4 mi away
Hotel de Harlay
Hotel de Harlay
#8 of 12 in Compiegne
57 reviews
12.1 mi away
Hotel de l'Abbaye
Hotel de l'Abbaye
#1 of 2 in Longpont
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beaudon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beaudon

Address: 10 rue du Beaudon, 60350 Pierrefonds, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Oise > Pierrefonds
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Pierrefonds
Price Range: $97 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Beaudon 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Beaudon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing