We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jacobite monument visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Glenfinnan Monument

Glenfinnan Monument
Book In Advance
More Info
$876.22*
and up
5-Day Isle of Skye, Loch Ness and the Jacobite Steam Train from Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Monument to Scotish leader Bonnie Prince Charlie.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Greensboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jacobite monument visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We'll worth the visit, even in the heavy rain! The stairs can be slippery so be cautious. A great view of Loch Shiel when it is clear.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    187
    83
    14
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A monument to a piece of Scottish history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is an impressive monument tower to Bonnie Prince Charlie (Prince Charles Edward Stuart) who raised his standard at the beginning of the 1745 Jacobite Rising.The Glenfinnan Monument has been in the care of the National Trust for Scotland since 1938. The Trust have constructed a visitor centre, which provides information and tickets and there is a shop, cafe and toilets. The visitor can walk around the outside of the tower for free. The tower has also become a monument to Alexander Macdonald, who died before it was completed. We visited on a very damp dreary Sunday afternoon in November and there is a certain "something" about the place. Behind it is the famous Glenfinnan Viaduct which appears in one of the Harry Potter films.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NinaScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Must-See Location for a Historian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

If, like me, you're interested in the '45 then this is an area of Scotland you need to visit once in your life.
Don't expect a Disney experience as that is not what this place is about. If you, your spouse or kids get bored easily then don't take them here as, apart from the monument and scenic splendour, there isn't anything to see; although the kids might be distracted for a while with the 'Harry Potter' viaduct running past the monument.

If you are able to get up to the top of the tower then I recommend it; the view is superb although the journey up there isn't for those of limited mobility; my father, who is 80 and uses a walking stick, managed to get to the top....and got stuck in the hatch at the top, our laughter apparently could be heard a long way off!

Parking is OK, there is a shop that sells the normal NTS merchandise and snacks; the tickets were just over £3 per adult.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeBradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

So glad we visited the monument, when we visited it was overcast but clear. As we walked down to the monument we could hear the faint sound of a lone bagpipe coming in from across the loch, it was spine tingling. We climbed the monument and was greeted by spectacular views across the loch, good views of the viaduct too!
We had a pleasant, easy walk to the viaduct which was also pretty spectacular. Next time hope to get a train across.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

Really great views of the loch and monument, and of the viaduct, especially after climbing up to the viewpoint (fairly steep and muddy!). The monument itself is quite impressive with the memorial plaques on the surrounding wall and the statue of the highlander (not Prince Charlie) on the top. A very interesting and helpful guide at the base. Good visitor centre with an interesting display and helpful staff. Free to members of the National Trust for Scotland. A worthwhile detour from wherever!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunku41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenfinnan Monument also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
 

Been to Glenfinnan Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing