We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, amazing location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2007

We recently returned from a stay at this hotel in a so-called superior room. Whilst the location is absolutely stunning the standard of cleanliness and decor in the hotel left a lot to be desired. Our room was generally quite dusty and the bed covers smelt of damp - not the standard you expect when you're paying £160 per night!

Given that the hotel prides itself on its culinary expertise you might expect that breakfast would be something to look forward to. Unfortunately it was pretty standard stuff and slightly overcooked.

It's such a shame as the hotel's location is fantastic, but the owners need to put some serious investment into this place to justify the prices charged.

It's no coincidence that most other establishments were fully booked whilst Glenfinnan House was at best half empty.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tartan67Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Glenfinnan House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 425 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2007

This is an all round great place!

We spent 3 days travelling around this area over the weekend, and really enjoyed our last night here. We stayed in 3 different hotels but we saved the best to last.

There's always something nice about driving up a sweeping driveway to a hotel and when you get here, you won't be disappointed. This is a lovely old country house right on the lochside with a wonderful view.

On arrival, the first thing you notice is the relaxed atmoshere. There are plently of people of all ages milling about and no stuffy formality in sight. After a really straighforward check-in, we were shown up to our loch view room and then left to our own devices.

The bar is very welcoming and on a Sunday afternoon was full of families having lunch, people reading papers and locals in for a chat with their friends. The roaring fire, traditional background music and stunning view all add to a totally relaxing experience.

Whilst the bar menu looked great, we had dinner in the restaurant that night. The food was fantastic and a real showcase of Scottish produce. Everything was locally sourced and skillfully cooked, complimented by a really good and reasonably priced wine list.

A special word must go to the staff. Joanna and Martin were working front-of-house and in the bar on the night we stayed, and made our stay all the more special. They worked so hard all day, kept smiling and are a perfect example of what the hospitality industry needs.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the epitome of Scottishness! It's a real gem.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2006

This is a very welcoming hotel in a stunning location. Although it was a little more pricy than other places we stayed, it was a great treat for a couple of nights. The food was excellent and the choice of wines and whiskies was also very good. I would happily have stayed longer but unfortunately they were booked up.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTr1pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

We stayed at the hotel last week (13-15 September) and I'd booked room number 1, which has stunning views and a four poster bed. The room was enormous with a great old wardrobe in it. Room was clean and very nicely decorated.

When we arrived the coal fire was on and it was really welcoming. We had dinner in the bar the first night which was really busy with people eating (from previous posters - no noise or boistrous locals, but it was midweek). Some locals were in having a post work beer and some dinner, I'd say a 50 50 split between residents and locals. Food was great, one of the best steaks I've had.

They made us up a packed lunch with was great (my other halfs salmon sandwhich must have had the whole fish in it :-)) and we had dinner the next day in the restaurant. Gorgeous room, and the food was again brilliant. I had the venison and my other half had steak, after mine had been so good the night before.

The location is just stunning, out overlooking the loch and you can see across to ben nevis on a clear day. The staff were attentive and friendly, Duncan was great at helping us make our dinner decisions. You can walk to the Jacobite statue (5 minutes) and from there see the viaduct that is used in the Harry Potter films - the steam train goes over at about 11 (not all year - stops in October I think).

All in all, we had a brilliant time. But then as I proposed to my other half further up the coast while we were there (this had been planned) the place will always be special to us.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank edp2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

I'm not sure what more one could ask for in a Highlands B&B.

As others have written, the Glenfinnan House Hotel is in an almost unbelievably storybook setting, right on the loch overlooking the Prince Charles Edward monument. It is surrounded by woodlands and a beautiful little church sits on a hill just above the B&B.

On top of that, the food at the restaurant was excellent and served in a lovely, elegant room. At dinner, my wife an I were given a table right at the front window overlooking the loch, where we could watch the sun set.

The interior has the paneled, homey feel of an old stately home, and the common rooms are warm and have a faded charm to them.

Our room was a bit on the small size, but outfitted with antique furniture and a big-enough bathroom that appeared to have recently been given new fittings.

In our 10 day trip in the Highlands, this was our favorite hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapitalTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

Stayed last week. Great welcome. Rooms very clean and family suite good value and very spacious. Great location and views, lots of room for kids to run around and loch cruise is a must. Very relaxing. Duncan and Manja and their team really friendly and welcoming. Ideal base for exploring Fort William, Mallaig,etc.

1  Thank kerr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2005

A simply sublime, well-kept secret. If you like a taste of Highland Scotland in a beautiful location with wonderful food and drink, come here. It's just GORGEOUS. Don't expect to be shepherded around or be processed by the tourist machine but if you like to see some of the best scenery anywhere, on foot, boat and even train, don't miss Glenfinnan.

But please don't try to book it when I want to go- it isn't very big.

3  Thank Pingomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfinnan
0.4 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
296 reviews
14.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
156 reviews
15.5 mi away
Holly Tree Hotel
Holly Tree Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kentallen
887 reviews
18.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfinnan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfinnan House Hotel

Address: By Fort William, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenfinnan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Price Range: $88 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenfinnan House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Glenfinnan House Hotel is a beautiful 18th century pine-panelled mansion house situated in its own grounds overloooking Loch Shiel, Ben Nevis and the Glenfinnan Monument.This award-winning establishment, renowned for its fine cuisine and hospitality, has something to offer everyone; from a quiet retreat or romatic break, a walking/cycling/sightseeing holiday,the celebration of an idyllic wedding or the simple enjoyment of a delicious meal.Four poster suite, four poster bedroom, family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenfinnan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfinnan Hotel Fort William
Glenfinnan House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing