We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

As an Australian, Glenfinnan House Hotel is how I imagined a Scottish country hotel would be. Full of character, dark paneled wood, fire places, vases of flowers, a cozy bar. We booked a two nighstay, our first room on the 1st floor front, over looked the Lock, with wonderful views of the mountains and water. Spacious, light, good bed and bathroom. Nice welcoming touches, such as chocolates and fruit. Bathroom, good, but a long wait for hot water to reach the shower head, and then not hot.
Second night we were required to change rooms due to a prior booking for the front room, and we were perfectly happy to do that... However we were moved into what we called "a shoe box", a big bed and no room. So much so that we knee copped our selves every time we went to the bathroom, due to the distance between the end of the bed and a wardrobe, and our luggage was stacked one on top of another so that we could get in and out of the room, which meant that a lot of it ended up on the bed. Again the shower lacked hot water, although the bath and basin were o.k? What really interested us was that there was only a £10.00 price difference between these rooms?
My other comment is that coming in the main hotel door from the porch for the two days we were there the lobby smelt very strongly of fish. I know this is a kitchen issue, but it deffinately takes the gloss of the Bonnie Prince Charlie image!
The food was fine, breakfast good, dinner good, the waiting staff good, management staff tense.
Best of all....the music.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you very much for your comments and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We can't say that we noticed a strong smell of fish and nobody else commented on that in the past but we will address the issue and check our extraction system.
The price difference between those rooms in the high season is £20 but we like to keep the prices as low as possible in the shoulder months and feel that £10 is fair.
We hope to welcome you again another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 434 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Glenfinnan House in early July as part of our Scotland round trip holiday.
We picked the Glenfinnan house due to poor choice of hotels in Fort William – or maybe it was just us being picky. But we figured; it’s not too far, there is a train going every couple of hours and, as we found out later, a taxi ride was just 25 pounds.

Booking this hotel, like a lot of hotels in Scotland, is complicated as no online booking system exists. You have to enquire via e-mail. The hotel seems very popular and busy, so don’t expect to get the room you want from the website: they will sort of let you know what they have available and you take it or leave it. They then require an initial payment upfront: fair.

Arriving at the hotel: we actually found out the walk to the station is much longer than we thought: but since most people arrive by car, not too much of a big deal. Also – you can ask at the hotel to shuttle you to or from the station is you arrange so with them in advance.

Location of the hotel is certainly one of the biggest selling points. Its ideally located at the shores of Loch Schiel and within walking distance from the Glenfinna Viaduct and Glenfinnan Monument. The location is not only magical and sets you right into the right Scottish holiday atmosphere – it certainly has plenty of nice walks to offer.

We arrived during a fairly busy moment: check-in was a little chaotic as the lady doing it seemed to be engaged in all kinds of other duties at the hotel. Generally speaking: the staff running the hotel is there all the time: you constantly see the same faces. It feels like they are running the daily operations with a single shift. Staff is rare and hard to find and they seems really stressed and under pressure, with the consequent impact on their mood and friendliness. Don’t get me wrong: they are trying hard and I would be acting the same doing their jobs in 15h shifts (or god knows how long theirs are). Just saying it does show…

We were given a room at the first floor at the back of the hotel. The hotel room was nice and all Scottish: dark woods, floral patterns, authentic old yet still in good condition furniture and so on: you get the picture! The bathroom was sort of a highlight and we didn’t quiet expect that: really big; nicely appointed and even featuring a hot tub. Obviously the room was in great condition, perfectly clean and the sleep quality of the beds were decent.

The hotel does offer some extensive public indoor areas like a library, really nice lounge and a bar. While the bar is not the most inviting or cosy: the lounge and the library are nicely decorated, usually they will have an open fire prepared and really makes you feel inside a mansion on the Scottish countryside: perfect!

We took dinner at the hotel, actually both evenings; it was so good and the restaurants in Fort William didn’t really look appealing to us. The hotel serves local specialities, well done at reasonable prices, though don’t expect Michelin Star cuisine. But again: great food and I would recommend to everybody to take dinner at this hotel!.

Breakfast was à la carte: while the service (as I mentioned: the same staff as for dinner the night before, I certainly don’t envy them!) tried their best: you could feel them being in need of some rest! This showed on speed of service: we had to wait both morning fairly long to get our meals. The actual food then was great. There is also a little buffet with jam, cereals, etc. you can help yourself. I love the idea of offering both.

This hotel has a lot to offer: great location, nice rooms, charming interiors and great food, all at a reasonable price. My only point of critique goes to the way it is operating: having a single shift of staff running the house from early morning to dessert does affect customer service and I would review this business model. Though I would stay here again and recommend it to fellow travellers.

+Location
+Charm and atmosphere
+/- Value for money
- Stressed staff

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank byswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your contribution and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your comments and I am sorry that the staff seemed tired and stressed during your stay. We always have 2 Front of House staff on during the afternoon and yes we are a small hotel and if one person serves in the bar and the other is on the phone there might be a little delay in check in. I can assure you that all the staff are on a 40 hour week working 5 days a week for 8 hours which is normal. The reason that you see some of the staff in the morning in the restaurant and again in the evening is that they work split shifts of 4 hours in the morning and 4 hours for dinner service. This is a normal shift pattern for waiters/ waitresses in a lot of hotels all over the world.
We hope to welcome you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our summer travels through the western highlands with Glaswegian friends brought us to this magnificent hotel. On the shore of Loch Sheil, facing the Glenfinnan monument and Bonnie Prince Charlie statue, it is a one of a kind location. The bar was cozy and poured several good pints. The Drawing Room was fantastic for relaxing with a few whiskies. The fire going in the lobby was welcoming and homey. Dinner choices were good, freshly made and not necessarily your standard highland fare. The classic Scottish cooked breakfast was however and was the best that I had during our travels.
We turned up with 4 adults and 5 kids of whom the hotel staff was more than happy to have. The large lawn in front of the hotel was great for the kids and could be seen (but not heard) from the bar and dining room. There was a kids playroom to keep them entertained inside as well. The two family rooms that we had on the 2nd floor were spacious and clean while the front overlooked the Loch and Monument. Simply amazing!
The hotel is a short walk from the viaduct which is easily accessible to get a good look at the "Hogwarts Express."
The only downside to our stay was that it was just for one night. I would recommend at least two days to fully enjoy this spectacular location and the inviting relaxation.

Room Tip: The front facing rooms are preferable for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacSnyder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you another time and maybe for a longer stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in Glenfinnan House last weekend when we finally decided to drive from Glasgow to see the famous viaduct, monument, and sights. The house has a real family history (see the hotel's website) and is now owned, we were told by a relative of the famous Scottish fiddler Iain MacFarlane (Blazin' Saddles). The hotel is in a beautiful location by Loch Shiel, a welcoming and comfortable old house. There was a wood fire going in the main hall as we came in and the gentle smell of smoke was very pleasant on a wet afternoon. I can heartily recommend the food: nice ingredients, good cooking, and very generous portions: we were particularly impressed by the Mallaig haddock, the size of a small whale but light as a feather. It's perhaps not all mod cons (we had no TV in the room), but that's a good thing. And there was an impressive scrabble game going on in the drawing room after dinner!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magda123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manja G, Manager at Glenfinnan House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was the Groupon Offer that tempted us north, to the scenes of our studenthood back in '63. In those days we carried our kit on our backs and slept under canvas. This time we rolled up in our hatchback and for the first time ever surrendered to the seduction of 3 x 24-hour service, sleeping in the same room for more than one night.

We should have done this years ago! This was the perfect place for us, a base for walking from, with a hot bath to return to when we were soaked in summer rain. The quality of the food matched the delights of the highland scenery, the service was warmly given and effective, and at no time did we feel we ought to be smartly dressed just because we were in a hotel. This may have been due to the retro-feel of the place, carpets that might be due to be replaced, the odd bit of wrinkled wallpaper, and despite the haughty stare of the General and his Lady on the staircase, portraits reminding us of the grandeur of its past.

We had been told beforehand that the food was great but that the hotel needed things done to update it. We went along with that as we waited for hot water to run into our sinks in the morning (it did) and for the shower water to do the same in the evening (it didn't even though the bath water was scalding). But the atmosphere of the place, the welcome it gave us, the fact that we were able to leave our room unlocked as invited to on our arrival, more than compensated for tepid H2O.

Keep this retro we say. We have rarely felt so relaxed on a holiday, so well looked after. And stay with Groupon. This way we will be able to come back.

Room Tip: Try to get in early with a booking so that you can see Loch Sheil and Ben Nevis beyond. And do not w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

After having such a perfect wedding at Glenfinnan we've now celebrated our 1st and 2nd anniversaries at the hotel. Each time we've been welcomed back as though we were a member of the family. It good to see familiar faces amongst the staff and the little touches really made a difference. The service, food, location and pretty much everything is perfect. The steak with horseradish mash is unbeatable and no-one can tire of the stunning view!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HighlandWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We came back to Glenfinnan a year on from our wedding to celebrate our first anniversary. The hotel didn't disappoint second time around. We stayed in the Jacobite Suite again with it's lovely 4 poster bed, stunning views across the Loch to Ben Nevis and were treated in the same exemplary way we were when we had the whole hotel booked out for our reception.

The staff are simply superb, Manja, Duncan, Fiona and the barman with a great sense of humour (never managed to catch his name) are a few worth mentioning. The food and beer were excellent and being our anniversary the staff added some lovely touches to make it that bit more special.

A day before our arrival I realised that I had failed to arrange flowers for my wife. I called the hotel, hoping that even at the last minute they could help arrange something. They didn't let me down; when we arrived a beautiful bouquet was in our room which was almost identical to the brides bouquet we had on our wedding day.

Every time we have to leave GHH, we never want to go. I can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mallaig50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfinnan
14.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
634 reviews
16 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
183 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
313 reviews
16 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfinnan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfinnan House Hotel

Address: By Fort William, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenfinnan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Price Range: $91 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenfinnan House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Glenfinnan House Hotel is a beautiful 18th century pine-panelled mansion house situated in its own grounds overloooking Loch Shiel, Ben Nevis and the Glenfinnan Monument.This award-winning establishment, renowned for its fine cuisine and hospitality, has something to offer everyone; from a quiet retreat or romatic break, a walking/cycling/sightseeing holiday,the celebration of an idyllic wedding or the simple enjoyment of a delicious meal.Four poster suite, four poster bedroom, family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenfinnan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfinnan Hotel Fort William
Glenfinnan House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing