We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always a wonderful place to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenfinnan House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2013

my husband and i stayed here in the opening couple of days in the new season and it was wonderful to be back for the 4th year of visiting i think. the hotel is so relaxing with a beautiful view to the front and great log fires. we did very little bar a run in the car and walk along the white beaches by Arisaig. we sat at the fire, read a book and drank some lovely wine. the bedrooms were as comfortable as ever (we had the four poster) and you don't need tv etc as its so nice just sitting downstairs by the fire and relaxing or chatting. it was lovely to see the team at the hotel again and many congrats to the newly weds! hopefully we will manage another break before the end of the season.

if you are looking for a very relaxing break with fab fresh food, a great welcome then look no further. although we didn't go this time can also highly recommend the loch cruise - great fun!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FMFAyrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 434 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2013

Spent the last couple of days in the most tranquil and relaxing hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful nothing seemed to be a chore to them , was made to feel they wanted you to be there . The room was idyllic with the most gorgeous view of loch Shiel ,we were very lucky with the weather . The food was superb on our first night we both had soup which was homemade and delicious , this was followed by mussels for myself and venison sausages for my hubby both were delicious . The area is great for walking ranging from a short stroll to a more difficult hike something for everyone. The food on our second night was even better , if thats possible , seafood stew for me and Moroccan Lamb for hubby again it really was excellent quality and presentation . I would highly recommend this lovely hotel and can t wait to visit again later in the year .

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sheilacraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The most beautiful wedding location. Manja and Duncan made our intimate wedding most relaxing and memorable. They went above and beyond what was required. Manja helped to arrange the day. The location is very tranquil and relaxing. Looking forward to returning for our 1st Anniversary. We would highly commend the staff and the hotel for making us so welcome.
Guy & Lorraine Amedro

.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I had never been to Glenfinnan House Hotel before although was I quite familiar with the area, so when someone who had attended a wedding there described how wonderful it was, we had a hunch we were on to a winner! The location speaks for itself, Loch Sheil has to be one of, if not the most beautiful loch in Scotland, but I only needed to step foot into the hotel itself and I knew instantly that this was the place I wanted to have my wedding (it was the first and last venue we looked at). Manja and Duncan make a great team; the food was fabulous, the first night we ate in the bar and everyone enjoyed their meal, the wedding menu was also big hit, especially the decadent chocolate dessert! Manja was more than gracious in dealing with the slightly neurotic bride and her wedding planning expertise are first class. My wedding at Glenfinnan far exceeded any expectations I had and my husband and I, still, one year later, can't get over how amazing it was, even the weather was perfect. We stayed in the Jacobite Suite which was great, lovely fourposter bed, huge jacuzzi bath and plenty of room for the bride to get ready, wonderful view of the loch and the snow peaked Ben Nevis! We were hoping to spend our first anniversary there but some inconsiderate couple have decided to get married that same weekend! :o) If you are considering getting married at Glenfinnan I can't recommend it highly enough, the whole package makes for a truly, magical setting.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank KeniaFB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A beautiful country house hotel, the food was amazing and the room was great. The log fire is a lovely welcome especially when it is a bit damp outside. You always receive a warm welcome and the location and atmosphere will alway entice us back. We got married on the hotel lawn on the bank of the loch a few years ago so it will always have fond memories for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This formed part of our honeymoon tour up the west coast of Scotland and was definately my favourite place to stay.
This hotel welcomes you with fantastic views of a loch and a huge hall where you can dump your wellies and muddy boots. The big doors open into reception with a roaring fire and a true Scottish welcome, so friendly and helpful.
The hotel has a unique style in a home from home way, so no keys for your room are given routinely, this is to encourage a relaxed atmosphere, it works too!
There are not any televisions in the bedrooms and the showers are pretty dire but it really didn't matter, the views are knock out and the ambience so relaxing.
We had views over the loch and a four poster bed that you could just dissolve into, it was so comfortable.
The owners had family visiting and they all ate in the main restaurant, saying hello to all the guests and livening up the atmosphere; the father was in traditional dress.
The food was the highest of qualities with an enormous choice of 5 star food and wine, the breakfast was equally varied and plentiful.
Service was faultless.
We had coffee and whiskey served in the drawing room in front a large live log fire and watched other peoples children play board games, it really was that idyllic.
The surrounding area is rich with history, particularly Bonnie Prince Charlie and if you go in the Autumn you can hear the Stags calling to attract the females; it is quite something to hear.
We will certainly return, very happy memories all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the loch at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just what you'd expect from a country house hotel on the banks of a beautiful loch in Scotland. No fancy airs or graces just a really warm welcome and a truly homely feel to the place - there's no need for a key to your room as it's like being in your own home. (unless you really want one).
My wife and I stayed in the Jacobite Suite, which is outstanding with a four poster bed in a large comfortable bedroom. The view towards Ben Nevis and the Monument to Bonnie Prince Charlie (which is lit at night) is beautiful and in the morning the sun rose over the mountains and filled the room with with a glorious light.
There's a large bathroom which was a wee bit cold when we arrived. The jacuzzi bath is fun! The food was great ant the atmosphere in the dining room friendly and relaxed. Alltogether, a delightful stay!

Room Tip: The Jacobite Suite is excellent for comfort and views. It's like staying in your own country hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenfinnan
14.9 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
635 reviews
16 mi away
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
RiverBeds Luxury Wee Lodges
#1 of 3 in Ballachulish
183 reviews
13.2 mi away
Kilcamb Lodge Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Glencoe House
Glencoe House
#1 of 1 in Glencoe Village
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Prince's House Hotel
The Prince's House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenfinnan
313 reviews
16 mi away
Loch Leven Hotel
Loch Leven Hotel
#1 of 2 in North Ballachulish
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenfinnan House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenfinnan House Hotel

Address: By Fort William, Glenfinnan PH37 4LT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Glenfinnan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenfinnan
Price Range: $91 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenfinnan House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Scottish Highlands, Glenfinnan House Hotel is a beautiful 18th century pine-panelled mansion house situated in its own grounds overloooking Loch Shiel, Ben Nevis and the Glenfinnan Monument.This award-winning establishment, renowned for its fine cuisine and hospitality, has something to offer everyone; from a quiet retreat or romatic break, a walking/cycling/sightseeing holiday,the celebration of an idyllic wedding or the simple enjoyment of a delicious meal.Four poster suite, four poster bedroom, family suites are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glenfinnan House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenfinnan Hotel Fort William
Glenfinnan House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing