We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis on the road to the Isles”

The Prince's House Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Glenfinnan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An oasis on the road to the Isles”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Having driven over to Glenfinnan from St Andrews earlier and making a table reservation ahead, this was a welcome evening refuge. Although other customers were eating in the bar (and some had returned for the second consecutive night), my wife and I preferred the more formal restaurant but evidently the quality of food is the same ie. very good indeed. Service at table, provided by the proprietor's son home from university, was efficient and friendly. Perhaps the restaurant is a little lacking in ambience but the food is the thing!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suffolkbarn2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leipzig, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a dream of duck and game”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Very welcoming familyrun restaurant. The homemade bread looks, smells and tastes fantastic.
We had some starters and a desert, game terrine and a selection of local smoked meats, the including duck was the most beautiful, full of flavour and nearly melting on your tongue. The eton mess was just like a perfect summer day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank seeblick_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honeymoon meal”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

We ate here the day after our Wedding and we're very glad we did. What amazing food! The staff were very friendly and welcoming.
We chose to eat in the Restaurant instead of the bar and sat in the conservatory which was very relaxing.
The food was first class and we'll definately be returning soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mount vernon
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bar Lunch”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Very friendly and welcoming. Food and service were very good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank glasg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballachulish, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“you need to stop here!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Every anniversary - we're here, and if we are ever passing we always stop.
Lovely spot, gorgeous food and such friendly service!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraigavonCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince's House Restaurant also viewed

 
Fort William, Lochaber
 

Been to The Prince's House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing