We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG best shower,bed room in Germany”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alpenhotel Hundsreitlehen
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bischofswiesen
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Only a 10min. Drive to Berchtesgaden, I give this place the best shower award........very best shower
In Germany award, unbelievable comfortable bed, very clean room, like new (because these new front cottage rooms are new) lots of room,priceless view everywhere even our good size deck where we enjoyed a bottle of local wine,,,,,so worth the 10 min drive out of Berchtesgaden, Owned by a wonderful family. Must have a car. Can no wait to see what breakfast brings. Very, Very reasonable price. This place is a must.....

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Alpenhotel Hundsreitlehen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 56 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for two nights in mid-August. We had booked the place but were little bit worried since there were not too many reviews in this forum. We are glad, we ignored the lack of reviews & decided to spend our time here. Like other reviewers on the site have already mentioned, the hotel is located in most beautiful part of the little hamlet on top of mountain with unobstructed views of mountains and meadows. It may be challenging to get to the hotel if you are not driving. We had chosen a family room that included a small room (almost a walk-in closet size!) for children with a door and a skylight in the roof. Our kids loved it but we recommend leaving door open since there is no ventilation in the room. Looked like it was all new or recently renovated. Beds were nice and comfortable. There was even a small fridge in the room. Our room had a nice view of the mountains. We encountered ingenious German engineering the first time in a seemingly low tech door to the balcony. The door either swings open like a normal door if the handle is turned one way and it swings open from top about 10 degrees for ventilation if the handle is turned up! First we thought that the door must be broken but soon realized the ingenuous mechanism. Only down side was that it was on the third floor, making luggage transfer a bit troublesome and Wifi reception was also poor. The included breakfast was just basic: bread, yogurt, cereal, and coffee. We did not check what other things they had since we are vegetarians. The B&B is very conveniently located for making a day trip to Salzburg, Austria (only 45 minutes North) or the Berchtesgaden national park. The owner was helpful with local sightseeing directions. We would definitely love to return in future.

Room Tip: Ask for room on the side above the restaurant with a private balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DivyangUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

What a wonderful find. Perched in the foothills of the Alps, the rooms and patio all boast a perfect view of meadows and Alps and forests and big sky...and no other structures. The most-generous owner picked us up at the Bischofswiesen station -- the last before Brechtesgaden -- and settled us in very clean and comfortable rooms. The quality of the meals (we at all dinners and breakfasts at the hotel) allow you to not have to stress about getting up and down the mountain to dine -- excellent fare, good wines, and (of course) the view. And in the end, the bill was rather a pleasant surprise -- some might consider it a steal. Really a wonderful, relaxing spot that I would love to return to.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pporpedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I spent Christmas at this lovely hotel. This is a hotel run by a family. They speak good English and have an excelent service at the Restaurant. The hosts are warm people and very polite. The rooms are well decorated and clean. The half pension is a good option in winter. The food is great.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cesar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

This hotel made, what was a great tour, even better. The rooms, food, friendliness and helpfulness were all top quality. Being a vegetarian was not seen as a problem at all the meals were great the scenery amazing. I can heartily recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: all the rooms I saw were great but front of house has the best views
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawnnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The location is actually in the hills of Bischofswiesen about 15 minutes drive from Berchtesgaden. The facilities were very clean and well kept. The location was idyllic. Great view, very quiet, and away from the noise of the town. The owner ccoks in the restaurant which we found to be quite good. The owner's wife, Angelika, who mans the front desk and serves as waitress is quite charming and was very helpful and accomodating. Her English is also very good which takes the stress out of a non-German speaker staying in the country side. She even offerred to translate the entire restaraunt menu for us although my college German was good enough to handle that. The hotel is a family affair, and unlike some other smaller guesthouses is not afraid to make foreigners feel comfortable. Some places I have been make it quite clear that they would prefer "native" guests. Not so here.

We have reservations to return this year for 4 days. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the countryside of the Bavarian Alps.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anrando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel Hundsreitlehen is a nice, traditional hotel close to Berchtesgaden. The rooms vary greatly in size, so you can book according to your priorities (size or wallet). The breakfast is a typical German breakfast with various breads, bread rolls, different cold cuts and cheeses, jams and chocolate spread. They serve coffee or tea and eggs are made to order. The hotel is very clean. Depending on where your room is located you either look at a hill or down a hill. The latter is definitely preferable and I would probably ask for it if I stayed there again. They offer massages and other treatments, but we didn’t try them. There is plenty of parking. It's close to the "Nationalpark Berchtesgaden", a very nice national park, as well as Salzburg (Austria). Good place overall!

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countryskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bischofswiesen
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Berghotel Rehlegg
4.0 mi away
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
#1 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aktiv & Wellnesshotel Reissenlehen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
Explorer Hotel Berchtesgaden
#3 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
143 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
Stoll's Hotel Alpina
#4 of 14 in Schoenau am Koenigssee
77 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#2 of 20 in Berchtesgaden
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhotel Hundsreitlehen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhotel Hundsreitlehen

Address: Quellenweg 11, 83483 Bischofswiesen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bischofswiesen
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bischofswiesen
Price Range: $71 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhotel Hundsreitlehen 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Very Warm Welcome to our Alpine Hotel Hundsreitlehen near Berchtesgaden! The Alpine Hotel Hundsreitlehen is situated at the heart of a huge mountain meadow covered in flowers, surrounded by the magnificent, unspoilt natural landscape that looks down on Bischofswiesen, a spa town with a health-giving climate. At our hotel you will find total peace and quiet, with no traffic noise to disturb you. Here you can get the rest and relaxation you deserve. But it’s not only the fantastic view of Berchtesgaden’s breathtaking mountain scenery that will make your stay with us an unforgettable one. This website will give you a taste of what our hotel is all about; if you would like any further information, please do get in touch. Just think, later this very day you could be looking forward to a really special holiday here with us in the spectacular Berchtesgadener Land. We can’t wait to welcome you! Your Alpine Hotel Hundsreitlehen & Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alpenhotel Hundsreitlehen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing