We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining at its best”
Review of Villa Melsheimer

Villa Melsheimer
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Reil
Price range: $10 - $55
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed January 10, 2019

This is an absolutely first rate fine dining Restaurant run by Chef and hotel co-owner, Dirk Melsheimer. Whilst the clientele may be mainly hotel guests, a good many locals and tourists from other places dine here, particularly on weekends such is its reputation. All staff are professionally trained, courteous, friendly and efficient. Much of their vegetables and garnishings come from their own garden on the property, thus ensuring freshness. They also source produce from the local streams, farms and forests which include smoked fish, crayfish, perch, beef, and wild game.
Dishes embrace different cultural & regional influences, eg German and French. Three, 4 & 5 course menus are available including gourmet and vegetarian. When I was there, the Menu, being seasonal, included Mains of Beef Carpacco, Rump Steak, Beef Roulade, Pot Roast, Marinated Pork with prices ranging between E10.50 – 22. The Desserts were to die for and so beautifully presented. On my last night I was part of a party of 4 and total bill for the most amazing 3-course dinner, including wine was around E150! Afterwards one can retire to the Bar/Fireplace and enjoy a wide selection of cocktails and brandies from a local distillery. A children’s menu is available.
The Restaurant is open daily for lunch and dinner from 8am to 11pm and The Restaurant itself includes a Conservatory which overlooks the river.
In the Summer, there is a Terrace where you can dine and a Rock Garden.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2018

I booked a table a Thursday evening together with some of my friends that stayed at the hotel. I ordered a fixed four course menu and told the waiter to create a wine menu that would suit the dishes.

- "Vitello Tonnato 2.0" - a take on the classic Italian dish - with veal and tuna sauce was beautiful and tasty.
- "Fresh creme soup with wild garlic, shrimp and chicken breast"
- "Saltimbooca from fowl" with sage, mousseline potatoes, leek and Riesling sauce was also a take on a classic Italian dish, and was really nice.
- "Exotic Valrhona chocolate" - a compicated and really nice dessert.

All dishes were beautifully presented on the plate.

The waiter found four nice glasses of wine that paired the dishes very well - a Weissburgunder, two Rieslings and a white Spätburgunder.

The portions were quite big, and I was not able to eat it all. Service level was very good, and we had a really nice evening at the restaurant.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nielsmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2017

A wonderful hotel & restaurant in a wonderful location with wonderful service

The menu is extensive catering for all tastes and the food is delicious

The service is excellent

Highly recommended

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Taur033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017

We were a large group of 14 people dining a-la-carte. We ordered about 10 different dishes and paid seperately. All food was served almost at the same time and the waiters new exactly how had ordered which dish. Service was polite, quick and efficient. Individual bills were pre-arranged and "time saving"
By the way - the food was very good and the wines gave "value for money"

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PerAgger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Had several meals last week as we were staying at the hotel. Normally, we venture away from hotels for our meals while travelling but the experience here was so perfect, we had four dinners in six days here during our visit to the Mosel region.
Our daughter is a vegetarian, whereas I am very much the carnivore and the selections for each of our tastes were very extensive and satisfied on all fronts.

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Villa Melsheimer also viewed

Reil, Rhineland-Palatinate
Zell (Mosel), Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Traben-Trarbach, Rhineland-Palatinate
Puenderich, Rhineland-Palatinate
 
Krov, Rhineland-Palatinate
Bad Bertrich, Rhineland-Palatinate
 

Been to Villa Melsheimer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing