We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Half Way House

Half Way House
Ranked #13 of 39 Restaurants in Cullompton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Bar scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

This is the first time I have eaten at the Halway despite drinking here regularly. I will definately come back. I had the pork belly and it was absolutely delicious and my partner said it was the best curry he has ever eaten in a pub. The atmosphere isn't the best but will be eating here again in the future.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank steph d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    25
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“New years eve magic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Just had the most fantastic lamb ever. Slow roasted rump with veg and dauphinoise potatoes. My partner had the mixed grill, all perfectly cooked. Great atmosphere, and the most friendly and welcoming staff. I cannot recommend this pub enough. Every time we go here we enjoy the food.

Helpful?
Thank Ourpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best carvery ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

What a great welcome at this superb friendly pub. We have been here several times and the food is always excellent. There is lots of parking and it is easy to find. I can't not recommend this place enough. If you want a lovely place to eat with happy staff this is the place to be.

Helpful?
Thank Ourpetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Convenient, quick, reliable service at sensible prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Don't be put off by the fact that it looks like yet another weary roadside inn. Don't be put off by the unfashionable furniture either. This place serves excellent food at sensible prices. It prides itself in good, tasty, wholesome food - and does it very well. The beer is kept well too (Otter Bitter and Otter Ale on the two occasions I have eaten here recently).
There was a roast ham carvery, and the staff agreed most happily to carve large chunks off for a £4 round of sandwiches. I can honestly say it was the best ham sandwich I can remember - deliciously moist.
You aren't kept waiting long for food - it is obviously freshly prepared and not microwaved though!
It is only a short way off the motorway - you can come off at the Tiverton junction and rejoin at Cullompton (or vice versa), taking perhaps an extra mile. Handy for a snack after the local working woollen mill too (which is where we had been), that has stopped serving food.
The puddings look wonderful too! (No tempting me at lunchtimes down that route).

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good food, good service, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

I ate here twice on a recent trip, both times on busy evenings and without booking. The food was good, authentic, home made, well prepared and well presented. None of your pub-chain crap here. [Though I don't understand why the English take good fresh vegetables and cook them till soft - but that's authentic, isn't it!] Good beer on tap, good service, friendly staff, reasonable prices. Perhaps a bit lacking in ambience, but on both occasions full of locals eating, which is always a good sign. Recommended. And I strongly repudiate the suggestion from a recent reviewer that anyone giving a positive review must be related to the owner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BobLackNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Half Way House also viewed

 
Taunton, Somerset
 

Been to Half Way House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing