We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 * experience”

Yaraks Birds Of Prey Falconry Centre
Ranked #1 of 13 things to do in Cullompton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Yarak birds of prey is a stand alone privately owned specialist Bird of Prey Centre which concentrates on hands on experiences for people wishing to handle and fly birds of prey and walk in visitors who want to watch birds flying up close all in a totally private environment.The centre is run by experienced professional falconers that really care about their birds and customers. All the birds here are classed as "family" and are treated with a huge amount of respect and want for nothing. All experiences are strictly by appointment only.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
“5 * experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I took my children here as It was recommended as a fun,friendly and interesting day out !!
John and Di's hospitallity was outstanding ...warm bacon rolls and hot chocolate ,home made scones and panins. the snack bar was immaculately spotless . very experienced bird handlers and a huge variety of " Beautifully Kept " Birds of Prey . The staff were very knowledgeable and a real team spirit was clearly shown throughout the facilities. i bought gift vouchers for experience days for friends as Christmas presents . You could stay here all day ...lots to see and lots of nice food to keep you going . Not expensive at all so leave your picnics at home !! Highly recommended

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    21
    5
    1
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just THE best day out”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

A day at Yarak has just got to be THE best place to go. John, Karen and their staff really care about the birds. The attention to detail in handling and flying the birds is second to none making the day interesting and informative and exciting, I have booked to go again and I know my visits will continue for a long time.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john P, Owner at Yaraks Birds Of Prey Falconry Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Many thanks for your comments and for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
1 review
“Go There, Do It, Experience it, you won’t forget it…”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I started to write this review and thought It started to sound like I was over exaggerating what a special place we find Yarak Birds of Prey, then looking at the other reviews here on this page I can only say that we can whole heartedly agree with all the positive comments without question.

2007:We first had the pleasure of visiting the centre back in 2007, both myself and my wife took our eldest 5 year old daughter to see the birds fly, she seemed to like the idea of holding some of the beautiful birds and get close to them, we as parents thought she may be worried about some of the bigger birds (How wrong we were…) she loved every second of the day, from flying the fast kestrels to her own hand, the lovely owls across the open field to grab the food from her glove, right through to walking through the wooded area and having the Harris Hawks weave and dodge through the branches of the trees, come down to about 2 or 3 feet off the fielded area and race towards her and at that last moment to gracefully open its wings and break and land on her glove, she was so excited for weeks afterwards always asking when we could go back and do this again!!

2010: three years after our first visit when our youngest daughter was now 5, we found the whole process yet again was a complete repeat of our first visit, yet again not enough can be said to praise the centre and its staff who were fantastic in our opinion in presenting information to our children, the way they talked and interacted with all of us was simply top notch, its clear to us that the owner of the centre (John Pitson) takes great pride in what he does, the love he has for the birds is there for all to see, the same can be said about the staff that make you feel so welcome all day!!

2012:When we asked our eldest what she would like to do for her 10th birthday we suggested a couple of obvious options in the local area, I wont say what places/attractions we mentioned but we wanted to let her choose a couple of friends to take to wherever she decided to go, well she wanted to take her friends to Yarak Birds of Prey, the impact of her previous visits stayed with her and she was buzzing for weeks before we went back, afterwards they were all buzzing on the way back home, talking about all the things the did that day..

Well, in short…Go there, do it, enjoy it..

Recently we were passing the area so went to see the new public centre and the food area which was great, had a great pasty, kids had a sausage role as long as their arm lol followed by some cookies and some sort of chocolate pastry thing for afters but I have no idea what it was called but it was yummy….

We WILL be back again very soon to do it all again….
O, one last thing..Us parents enjoyed it even more than the kids did..

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Visuallink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john P, Owner at Yaraks Birds Of Prey Falconry Centre, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Carl, thank you for your kind comments........It has been great meeting you and your family and having you all interact with our birds.
Take care and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fascinating experience”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Handling and flying the birds is a fascinating experience. As is photographing them. If you go in autumn, winter or spring, dress up warmly as most of the activities are outside.
We stayed in the "barn" accommodation - a very comfortable self catering cottage right on site.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john P, Owner at Yaraks Birds Of Prey Falconry Centre, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Yarak

It does get a bit chilly this time of year but fresh air is good for all.

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, somerset
2 reviews
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband had this one day visit for a birthday present together with me as a spectator I was in charge of taking the photographs and my husband handled the birds.
Michelle, our demonstrator for the day was just marvellous and certainly made our visit enjoyable.
I would definitely recommend it to anyone

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank B R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john P, Owner at Yaraks Birds Of Prey Falconry Centre, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words.

We are glad the birthday present was enjoyed on the day by you both.

Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaraks Birds Of Prey Falconry Centre also viewed

 

Been to Yaraks Birds Of Prey Falconry Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing