We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great food”
Review of Merry Harriers

Merry Harriers
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Cullompton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, International, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Proprietors John & Lynn Bowen, Head Chef Rob Phillips & Second Chef's Liam Sampson & Roit Quessou and all the staff wish you a very warm welcome to the Merry Harriers. We have tried to create a warm, welcoming, traditional Pub atmosphere. We think a Pub should be a Pub - not a restaurant. We pride ourselves on providing well kept Cask Ales, a good selection of quality, moderately priced wines and good home-made Pub Grub. We source our ingredients locally whenever possible. It not only tastes great, it helps to support our local community and to reduce food miles. Thanks to our
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went to devon in june and found this gem of a country pub. We wanted a meal and when the food came out not only was there a large plate it was delicious. The food was hot and brought to your table. You could eat inside with either restaurant area or pub table , or outside as the weather was glorious and beautiful views all around. This played abig part of our holiday in devon for us.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    74
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

As we were driving past this pub we noticed there were people inside and out, which to us is always quite a good sign of a rural pub, the decor is quaint and the menu was really good so was the beer if you like your ales, there were regulars who obviously knew a great place to eat because the food was homemade and really tasty and the owners were very friendly and attentive if you needed anything, fantastic pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

8 of us recently visited. On arrival a table was found for us by welcoming an friendly staff and we all ordered from a varied menu with plenty of choice. We did not wait to long for the food to arrive and when it did we were not disappointed. If staying the area this pub is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid devon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent value, great good”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Went here for a Father's Day meal. We had excellent service from the friendly waiting staff. The good arrived in good time and was very fresh. There was a good variety of meals on the menu. One thing that gets on my goat is when restaurants rip me off for vegetarian food. Not here. There was a good choice of dishes on the menu and when my pasta dish arrived it was a generous tasty portion with a good sized side salad - more than I actually got when I ordered a salad main at another newly opened pub restaurant in Cullompton. Keep it up merry harriers!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Popped in today after visiting the Yarak Bird of Prey Centre. No reservation but luckily one table free. Really tasty lunch, good veggie selection, nice welcome and reasonable price. Couldn't ask for more really.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merry Harriers also viewed

 

Been to Merry Harriers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing