We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Have No Other Choice... Just Make Sure You Lock The Door!”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Manor House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullompton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #19 of 21 Cullompton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you are after accommodation in the Cullompton area, it has to be said that there isn't really much choice. Passing through and wanting somewhere near Diggerland on the Exeter side, we ended up here, booking the room over the phone that morning. Having seen it on laterooms.com at £75 for 2 adults and 2 children, including breakfast, we phoned up and were quoted £85 - however mention of the online deal saw it reduced to £75.

We arrived about 4pm and looked to check in. There is a large car park at the rear of the pub, and several doors to the rear. The one marked reception has a buzzer, but you end of having to go through what seem like several deserted rooms (the pub looks half abandoned from the front anyway) to get to the bar at the rear. This is obviously an old building and therefore has a number of characterful features, including the many characters in the bar who seem to spend all day there. It wasn't quite a meeting of the Hells Angels but lets just say I wasn't inclined to go to the bar for a drink later on.

We were shown to our room, ascending a lovely old grand staircase and then along a musty corridor to the door to room 5. Here, we descended a few stairs to our slightly odd family room, 'T' shaped with large double bunk beds on one side of the stepped corridor and a double bed on the other. Decorated in toile wallpaper, there were some nice touches, such as the rope handrail and the reproduction furniture, however the busy floral curtains clashed with the wallpaper, and the Chinese lettered duvet cover was a total mismatch. The view from the windows onto the car park and yard area (couldn't with the best will in the world describe the concrete floors and walls and scattered benches as a beer garden) reminded me of a thriller where the heroine is stuck in the spooky hotel...

Having been tired, we had initially stayed in our room for a few hours, watching TV, but decided to venture out about 7 for something to eat. Having asked earlier what there was to do locally, and been told, "nothing" - and then asking if the pub got noisy and told that it closed at 7 anyway, we felt going out might take our minds off the seemingly deserted hotel... Returning at 9 to an almost completely dark hotel, we decided to pull the hotel access door shut behind us and ensure we locked our door as we settled in for the night. Unlike most hotels, the doors needed to be physically locked...

Next morning, we gave the bathroom a wide berth (clean, but with an overwhelming chemical smell) and headed down to breakfast. The 'restaurant', one of the deserted rooms we had walked through on arrival, was now a breakfast room! Even more surprising was the appearance of at least two other groups of people who had had the misfortune to stay here too the previous night. Breakfast was the best part of the stay, hot and tasty. Husband reports that check out was difficult as the rest of the hotel, ie the bar, which had been a misfits hang out the afternoon before, was totally deserted at 10am.

The hotel looks like a serious injection of TLC would do it the world of good. It has some lovely features and the basics of a good B&B however is lacking that guiding hand. A pity.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
4  Thank ADsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 15 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed 9-11th August 2013. Cullompton is looking sad compared to the 1970's.....many shops closed and the inevitable charities growing.. However, the locals still say "good morning" and the church is lively and impressive. The Manor House is tatty, lacking investment and really sub-standard in most areas. The staff were friendly and helpful, and I guess embarrassed by the quality standards imposed by the structure. Breakfast OK, good shower and comfortable bed (this was in Room 5, which has a double and 2 bunk beds.) Only 1 window could be moved a little and we had to find something to wedge it open. We changed from our original offering (Room 7) when we saw pigeon poo on the inside of the window, and could not open this to get any fresh air...that room was dank and musty, and also very dirty with shabby twin beds . VER Y lively after about 2200 on Friday/Saturday evenings which would affect some rooms. We were offered one unwashed glass in the bar, and the tonic and coke were flat and tasteless. THIS HOTEL NEEDS SOME TLC and LOTS of investment. Before that happens, check your room before residing.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the high street will have traffic noise and little fresh air.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 857paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

hi we stayed here for one night 20th july. the room was lovely four poster bed good priced accommodation. the floor levels are uneven so not suitable for people who have trouble on uneven floors, this is due to the age of the building so not the hotels fault. the breakfast at weekends does not start until 9am till 10am so too late for us as we had an early start so again not the hotels fault.the room was clean unfortunately no shampoo and conditioner was left in the rooms only some generic soap dispenser at the sink and the shower so pleased I had some with me from another hotel break.we did have to ask for another cup as one of ours was very badly stained. the pub was a bit roudy but once in the room you could not hear anything from downstairs. we had the windows open due to it being so warm but the street was not that loud. not sure I would stay here again if somewhere else was available but as someone else has said you could make do if its all that's left.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyc479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

As a last minute booking we said we would manage with this 'hotel'. We have stayed before and we were not impressed but we needed somewhere to stay. The room was adequate but we had to keep the window closed due to the noise from the people outside - the streets get lively around 11 pm and there are bouncers on the door from this time. The noise from the pub below wasn't too bad in the bedroom but increased in the bathroom?? Towels were thin and small but did get replaced each day. The extractor in the bathroom was not working. The television was colour but this was striped due to poor signal I assume - difficult to watch.
The lighting upstairs to get to the rooms was poor. The time delay button was hard to use for an elderly couple we followed, and there wasn't one when leaving our room so we had to walk along the corridor in darkness.
Breakfast was acceptable but the Sunday lunches are not now available (due to staff shortage we heard). I would agree there did seem to be a shortage. The same lady did the breakfast, cleaning and checked us out.
Overall the place is just a run down pub with customers you would not want to spend the evening with. This place has potential but needs a huge investment to achieve the description on the website. It does NOT live up to the description which I find misleading.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolMM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in late August on the way to Cornwall. Clean and spacious even if the floors were uneven. Most welcoming especially on Friday nights when the community comes in to play skittles etc. Enjoyed our stay and the food provided. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Arrived to this amazing, according to their own website, hotel. What a disappointment!!! Firstly, from mainroad, it looked closed. Secondly, when we found the carpark, the entrance to hotel was closed too and instead we were directed to the entrance of the pub, which was full of people from the wrong sort of crowd who had the music blaring. The rooms I suppose were clean, but very dated, and none of us felt comfortable staying there. The breakfast was ok. The restaurant, with the amazing menu, according to themselves, was closed. This hotel has got the potential of being fantastic, in a beautiful old building. However, it is not, and I will never return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peelypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed there for one week and was very disappointed by the place as the website seemed very positive. I was given a large room but the decor is well past its sell by date and as for cleanliness, I would rate it 4/10. The website describes a lovely restaurant but it is very tired looking and basically nobody eats in it as far as I can tell. The bar seems to attract the wrong crowd and whilst the breakfast was good, the food is very basic and indeed the steak I had one night was awful. The girl that did the breakfast was very good in that she got up early on Saturday to accomadate me with breakfast but overall this is a run down pub with some rooms and is worth only £30 per night and not the £50 I was paying

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank locumpharmacist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cullompton hotels
0.6 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
215 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#9 of 21 in Cullompton
36 reviews
3.1 mi away
Muddifords Court Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Newcourt Barton
Newcourt Barton
#1 of 2 in Langford
128 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Ostler Inn B&B
The Ostler Inn B&B
#1 of 2 in Uffculme
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Coach House
#2 of 2 in Hele
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Address: 2-4 Fore Street, Cullompton EX15 1JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cullompton
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Cullompton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing