We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“creaky floors and a bit of a tatty pub”
Review of Manor House Hotel

Manor House Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cullompton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor House Hotel
Ranked #18 of 21 Cullompton B&B and Inns
truro
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“creaky floors and a bit of a tatty pub”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

hi we stayed here for one night 20th july. the room was lovely four poster bed good priced accommodation. the floor levels are uneven so not suitable for people who have trouble on uneven floors, this is due to the age of the building so not the hotels fault. the breakfast at weekends does not start until 9am till 10am so too late for us as we had an early start so again not the hotels fault.the room was clean unfortunately no shampoo and conditioner was left in the rooms only some generic soap dispenser at the sink and the shower so pleased I had some with me from another hotel break.we did have to ask for another cup as one of ours was very badly stained. the pub was a bit roudy but once in the room you could not hear anything from downstairs. we had the windows open due to it being so warm but the street was not that loud. not sure I would stay here again if somewhere else was available but as someone else has said you could make do if its all that's left.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendyc479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    2
    6
    3
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

As a last minute booking we said we would manage with this 'hotel'. We have stayed before and we were not impressed but we needed somewhere to stay. The room was adequate but we had to keep the window closed due to the noise from the people outside - the streets get lively around 11 pm and there are bouncers on the door from this time. The noise from the pub below wasn't too bad in the bedroom but increased in the bathroom?? Towels were thin and small but did get replaced each day. The extractor in the bathroom was not working. The television was colour but this was striped due to poor signal I assume - difficult to watch.
The lighting upstairs to get to the rooms was poor. The time delay button was hard to use for an elderly couple we followed, and there wasn't one when leaving our room so we had to walk along the corridor in darkness.
Breakfast was acceptable but the Sunday lunches are not now available (due to staff shortage we heard). I would agree there did seem to be a shortage. The same lady did the breakfast, cleaning and checked us out.
Overall the place is just a run down pub with customers you would not want to spend the evening with. This place has potential but needs a huge investment to achieve the description on the website. It does NOT live up to the description which I find misleading.

Room Tip: Don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolMM07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cullompton hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in late August on the way to Cornwall. Clean and spacious even if the floors were uneven. Most welcoming especially on Friday nights when the community comes in to play skittles etc. Enjoyed our stay and the food provided. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Arrived to this amazing, according to their own website, hotel. What a disappointment!!! Firstly, from mainroad, it looked closed. Secondly, when we found the carpark, the entrance to hotel was closed too and instead we were directed to the entrance of the pub, which was full of people from the wrong sort of crowd who had the music blaring. The rooms I suppose were clean, but very dated, and none of us felt comfortable staying there. The breakfast was ok. The restaurant, with the amazing menu, according to themselves, was closed. This hotel has got the potential of being fantastic, in a beautiful old building. However, it is not, and I will never return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peelypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I stayed there for one week and was very disappointed by the place as the website seemed very positive. I was given a large room but the decor is well past its sell by date and as for cleanliness, I would rate it 4/10. The website describes a lovely restaurant but it is very tired looking and basically nobody eats in it as far as I can tell. The bar seems to attract the wrong crowd and whilst the breakfast was good, the food is very basic and indeed the steak I had one night was awful. The girl that did the breakfast was very good in that she got up early on Saturday to accomadate me with breakfast but overall this is a run down pub with some rooms and is worth only £30 per night and not the £50 I was paying

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank locumpharmacist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Our stay was very comfortable.Very friendly staff and good service.
Restaurant meals were excellent , adequate beer and breakfast .
Hotel was clean and rooms well serviced.
Stairs to rooms very steep and older patrons need to ensure they are on a lower

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecurbliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cullompton hotels
0.3 mi away
Padbrook Park Hotel
Padbrook Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Cullompton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Hart
White Hart
#7 of 21 in Cullompton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
3.1 mi away
Muddifords Court Country House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Newcourt Barton
Newcourt Barton
#1 of 2 in Langford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Arlington
The Arlington
#1 of 2 in Hele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterloo Cross
Waterloo Cross
#1 of 1 in Uffculme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House Hotel

Property: Manor House Hotel
Address: 2-4 Fore Street, Cullompton EX15 1JL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Cullompton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cullompton
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Manor House Hotel Cullompton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing