We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hidden retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Monkey Beach Cottages
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
“Amazing hidden retreat”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

My boyfriend and I were lucky to get a cottage for one night as we arrived without a reservation, and we were very well received by Amina and Faisal. The cottage was spatious, tastefully decorated, and surprisingly comfortable considering the living conditions on the island (no electricity or running water). The food was amazing and the setting just idyllic. This is a perfect getaway for a long weekend for people living in Nairobi or Mombasa, and a great stop on the coast for tourists wishing to escape the sometimes chaotic coastal cities. I really wish we could have stayed longer, unfortunately we had reached the end of our vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Been staying two nights with my fiancée and it was the best place ever to relax enjoy the sea and get back to a simple life for 48h! Food is amazing and owners are adorable ! We ll come back! And this time for longer! Recommended for all peace seekers !

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tomnajro83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

After a few days of whizzing around Kenya it was blissful to arrive to the peace and tranquility of Blue Monkey. The owners, Aminia and Feisal were so welcoming and accommodating, and really made us feel at home. The accommodation itself is very comfortable and I thought that the owner’s eco friendly approach was great, and something that we all should try to follow. The meals were all delicious and I looked forward to supper every evening, as there was always something new and tasty to eat. Whilst on the island we visited the Kisite Marine Park, which was awesome, we also enjoyed the snorkeling on Wasini island amongst the corals near the Blue Monkey Cottages. There is lots to do on the island, swimming, walks, trips to the Coral gardens or you can simply laze on the beach and read a good book. I would recommend Blue Monkey Cottages to anyone who wants to get away from the maddening crowd and recharge their batteries. It’s a wonderful place and my heartfelt thanks to both
Amina and Feisal for making our visit so memorable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumingscouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This morning we checked out from one of the two Blue Monkey Beach Cottages (yes blue monkey appeared every morning waiting for the leftovers from the breakfast:). If you are searing for a peaceful spot,where all you have to do is just being lazy,read books,play cards,snorkel,walk around island during low tide and watch the sea magically appearing when high tide comes,observing kittens playing around and eating ultradelicious 5star michelin swahili meals,then Blue Monkey is the place to be.

The owners are friendly,extremely helpful and tried to meet all our expectations above the standards.

Accommodation is simple and cozy. Everything is very ecofriendly, so we didn't mind the bucket shower at all,it somehow belongs to the lifestyle here and feels normal:)

Bring plastic shoes with you. Alcohol is not sold anywhere in the island.

Enjoy!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Splichalka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is really a place where you can relax in a robison crusoe like atmo, far away from the large and noisy hotels along the coast. The whole place offers simple but tasteful and clean  accommodation, created with a lot of love. The owners, faisal and amina, really do everything to make you feel comfortable. All is run ecofriendly and if you look for something off the dull mainstream you are at right place. The food is great, excellent Swahili cuisine, and you can go snorkling and fishing. 
The island itself has a lot to offer. You can go snorkling, hiking or fishing. We went on a combined fishing and snorkling tour in a local dhow with the owner and a fellow fisherman and we even caught a tuna which we later barbecued at the cottage.
Unforgettable experience..

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairo
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

After being harassed continuously after arriving in shimoni by local townsmen we were led luckily to this oasis of peace. The owners Amina and Fessa were very friendly and helpful during our stay. The rooms are clean and the dinner is delicious. The prices are good for the service. When you go make sure to book in advance, to avoid the hassle of outrageous negotiations. Grtz Jules and Hanna

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joop U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We definitely enjoyed our stay on Wasini Island! At this amazing “small paradise on earth” you can leave all cares behind and have a wonderful stay apart from all mass tourism.

The great view from the comfortable cottages, the private beach access to the Indian ocean, the very delicious meals (I loved that fish in tomato sauce) with regional and hand-made food over a traditional fireplace, the many exciting possibilities for trips (coral garden, Wasini village, Kisite-Mpunguti Marine National Park, walking at the shores while sunrise or just along the island) and the very friendly and personal service of the owners made our stay amazing and unforgettable!

Thanks Amina for accommodating us while our very peaceful (but much too short!!) 4 nights at your unique place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wasini Island
23.2 mi away
Pinewood Beach Resort & Spa
13.8 mi away
The Ocean SPA Lodge
The Ocean SPA Lodge
#1 of 1 in Msambweni
38 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fish Eagle Point
Fish Eagle Point
#2 of 7 in Tanga
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Kinondo Kwetu
Kinondo Kwetu
#13 of 29 in Diani Beach
110 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Sands At Chale Island
The Sands At Chale Island
#2 of 29 in Diani Beach
521 reviews
1.0 mi away
Shimoni Reef Lodge
Shimoni Reef Lodge
#2 of 4 in Shimoni
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Monkey Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Monkey Beach Cottages

Property: Blue Monkey Beach Cottages
Address: Punda Shamba, Wasini Island 80100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Wasini Island
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wasini Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Several handmade cottages are dispersed in a wild garden along Wasini's coast line. Special care has been taken to leave the environment as untouched as possible and the bush stretches right into the rocky compound situated beyond the outskirts of the main village. Each cottage has sea view, a 2 x 2 m (6" x 6") double bed + single bed, a sitting/writing area, a bucket shower/eco-toilet, and a large roofed terrace including cooking area for self-caterers (fireplace & charcoal cooker. There is an additional building with showers (fresh water), and flush toilets (salt water). On request, additional beds are set up on a tree-top roof terrace. Blue Monkey Beach Cottages have a private sand beach on the cliff and own wooden jetty. Sustainable tourism is promoted and assistance is provided for bookings of excursions, boat tours and various activities organized by members of the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Blue Monkey Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing