We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok but very isolated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aci Castello
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for 10 days. Overall experience as ok - hotel is beautiful and right on a cliff overlooking the sea. Pool lovely and breakfast is lovely. Downfalls were that the hotel is pretty far out from the city - €20 for a taxi each way. Absolutely no atmosphere in the hotel, no entertainment/music at all. Restaurant/snack bar has a very limited selection therefore we never ate dinner in the hotel - few small restaurants just down the road from the hotel thank god.
Staff are nice - english could be better. Lots of older gentlemen working in the hotel, which is lovely to see as I think most hotels are ageist!
Overall nice stay but hotel needs to improve its atmosphere and dining options.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,103)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Baia Verde
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 1,103 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a seaside hotel, with beautiful ocean views from rooms. Rooms are nice and clean. Enough away from the city noise. Magnificent seaview. Free WIFI, nice location and beautiful territory. The main restaurante menu is good but not offering too many options. Nice big pool & pool area with bar and really friendly staff. The booking.com address was Catania but it is located in Acicastello so we had a hard time finding the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrUnderwatervideo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I just completed ten days at this hotel and, wow, it has changed since I was here 8 years ago. I would not reccomed anyone stay here until management gets the staff under control. In particular, the staff is very aged and stuck in time from about 20 years ago. There are notes all over the hotel about pool towels, and, how you will be charged if you dare take or misplace one of them, and, the pool bathroom has a note to keep it clean---distastefull! The carpets have stains on thim and badly need replacing. The grounds are pathetic and used as storage for lumber, old charis, etc. The pool manager is the most inhospitalble person I have run into and should not be in front of customers in both appearance and inability to communicate. English? What English? Very poorly trained inveterate staff. If you want to order food or drink, they refer to you as a "room number"---so, remember yours....and, hope others around are not lisening in. The room was cleaned, but, the hotel overall is severly rundown and obviously needs an overhaul of management. Oooh, and the internet is terrible...you have to beg for a wifi code, then, you have to call in every few hours for a new one---the policies of the hotel make it hard to stay here and I would suggest the Sheraton down the street.

Room Tip: Make sure you speak Italian as they don't speak English!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baiaverde, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Bryan,
Actually we think that the Staff are the Most Important Resource in any Organization, especially in the Tourism Sector.
It is true that most of our staff are not so young but in our opinion, this is a point of strength thanks to their experience and know how.
In addition, most of our steady guests are happy to always find the same staff because they feel like they are at home here.
We put notes all over the hotel just to give a good information to our guests about our policy and to avoid misunderstandings.
Most of our guests prefer to pay their extras ( like food and drinks) at the end of their stay instead of paying cash immediately, so the reason we are used to ask the room number is just to charge it correctly
We provide wi-fi codes for free, we are used to giving a code for a couple of hours but it’s possible to ask other free codes or a 24 hour code.
We are surprised that you wrote here that your “overall stay” was so terrible because in your previous email forwarded to our General Manager, you did not mention it but on the contrary, you wrote that your 10 days at our Hotel was great except only one bad thing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have been staying at the Grand Hotel Baia Verde one night to celebrate with my partner our anniversary. A total disaster.
I have booked a Double Superior Room plus the whole day at the SPA, for a total amount of more than 350 euros (and I honestly believe that in a place like Sicily is quite a huge amount of money for a single day) and I have been treated like in a hostel. The staff at the SPA was extremely rude, we have been asking 3 times for an ashtray in the room and some bath towels that have never arrived. What is more, we have tried to get some explanations at the time of the departure, but the receptionist didn't take us seriously.
If you are planning to stay at the hotel just to sleep this is the hotel you are looking for, but if you are looking for courtesy and a nice experience, just forget it and start looking for something else. They have no sense of hospitality at all. We will never go back there

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paola_B10_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baiaverde, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Guest,
It’s strange to hear that our Staff Spa has been rude, because we usually received compliments from other guests for their kindness, in addition, we always suggest to call directly at Hotel Reception for all the things you need referring the room.
Anyway We are very sorry for what happened.

Also if Sicily is an island in the southern area of Italy that seems independent, it's still an Italian Region and our rates are not so expensive referring to the Italian Market.
The Spa offers different types of treatments starting from € 30,00 per person while the price for the room depends on seasonality and also on which room type you choose to have.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome, that’s why we would like to thank you for your feedback.
We hope to have you again to show you our improvements.
Best Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A wonderful getaway in a peaceful location overlooking the sea. Good service, good rooms. An area of the hotel has been recently refuribished. It might be advisable for a newly renovated room. No noise, a nice breakfast on a sunny terrace, a private swimming pool with a pleasant snack bar and black cliffs dropping straight to the sea. What else?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatchMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Good, clean hotel with all the facilities you could want for a couple, family or business trip. Did not eat in hotel. Only downside was not many decent restuarants close by. Catania is a fair walk. Buses are infrequent and finish early and taxis expensive if you want to travel to Catania or aci trezza. Hotel was definetly worth staying at though. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonywilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My Auntie Anne Jacob Stayed here, and had dinner with her & what amazing service,
Highly recommend this hotel , It ticks all the boxes.

Next time in Catania, you should book this hotel and see for your self.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2176sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aci Castello
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Catania Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
4 Spa Resort Hotel
4 Spa Resort Hotel
#4 of 11 in Aci Castello
659 reviews
5.1 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
President Park Hotel
President Park Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aci Castello
202 reviews
3.3 mi away
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,742 reviews
5.0 mi away
Romano Palace Luxury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baia Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baia Verde

Address: Via Angelo Musco 8/10, 95021, Aci Castello, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Aci Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aci Castello
Price Range: $92 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baia Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Baia Verde is a 4 star hotel in Catania facing the seawith 147 Rooms, Swimming Pool, Private Rocky Beach, Spa, Meeting Rooms, Restaurant,Roof Garden,Free Parking Area,American Bar and Scuba Diving School.The Hotel has 147 rooms different in typology (Classic & Superior Rooms, with sea view, Deluxe, Family room, Business Suite, Junior Suites and Suites) smart furnished all equipped with: air-conditioning TV LED HD 32'', Pay TV, SKY TV, frigobar, safe,telephone and Free Wi-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Baia Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Aci Castello
Grand Hotel Baia Verde Province Of Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing