We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible, Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Aci Castello
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible, Terrible service”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I just completed ten days at this hotel and, wow, it has changed since I was here 8 years ago. I would not reccomed anyone stay here until management gets the staff under control. In particular, the staff is very aged and stuck in time from about 20 years ago. There are notes all over the hotel about pool towels, and, how you will be charged if you dare take or misplace one of them, and, the pool bathroom has a note to keep it clean---distastefull! The carpets have stains on thim and badly need replacing. The grounds are pathetic and used as storage for lumber, old charis, etc. The pool manager is the most inhospitalble person I have run into and should not be in front of customers in both appearance and inability to communicate. English? What English? Very poorly trained inveterate staff. If you want to order food or drink, they refer to you as a "room number"---so, remember yours....and, hope others around are not lisening in. The room was cleaned, but, the hotel overall is severly rundown and obviously needs an overhaul of management. Oooh, and the internet is terrible...you have to beg for a wifi code, then, you have to call in every few hours for a new one---the policies of the hotel make it hard to stay here and I would suggest the Sheraton down the street.

Room Tip: Make sure you speak Italian as they don't speak English!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baiaverde, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Bryan,
Actually we think that the Staff are the Most Important Resource in any Organization, especially in the Tourism Sector.
It is true that most of our staff are not so young but in our opinion, this is a point of strength thanks to their experience and know how.
In addition, most of our steady guests are happy to always find the same staff because they feel like they are at home here.
We put notes all over the hotel just to give a good information to our guests about our policy and to avoid misunderstandings.
Most of our guests prefer to pay their extras ( like food and drinks) at the end of their stay instead of paying cash immediately, so the reason we are used to ask the room number is just to charge it correctly
We provide wi-fi codes for free, we are used to giving a code for a couple of hours but it’s possible to ask other free codes or a 24 hour code.
We are surprised that you wrote here that your “overall stay” was so terrible because in your previous email forwarded to our General Manager, you did not mention it but on the contrary, you wrote that your 10 days at our Hotel was great except only one bad thing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    433
    171
    59
    30
See reviews for
198
399
25
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have been staying at the Grand Hotel Baia Verde one night to celebrate with my partner our anniversary. A total disaster.
I have booked a Double Superior Room plus the whole day at the SPA, for a total amount of more than 350 euros (and I honestly believe that in a place like Sicily is quite a huge amount of money for a single day) and I have been treated like in a hostel. The staff at the SPA was extremely rude, we have been asking 3 times for an ashtray in the room and some bath towels that have never arrived. What is more, we have tried to get some explanations at the time of the departure, but the receptionist didn't take us seriously.
If you are planning to stay at the hotel just to sleep this is the hotel you are looking for, but if you are looking for courtesy and a nice experience, just forget it and start looking for something else. They have no sense of hospitality at all. We will never go back there

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paola_B10_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baiaverde, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Hotel Baia Verde, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
It’s strange to hear that our Staff Spa has been rude, because we usually received compliments from other guests for their kindness, in addition, we always suggest to call directly at Hotel Reception for all the things you need referring the room.
Anyway We are very sorry for what happened.

Also if Sicily is an island in the southern area of Italy that seems independent, it's still an Italian Region and our rates are not so expensive referring to the Italian Market.
The Spa offers different types of treatments starting from € 30,00 per person while the price for the room depends on seasonality and also on which room type you choose to have.
We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer and comments from our guests are always welcome, that’s why we would like to thank you for your feedback.
We hope to have you again to show you our improvements.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

A wonderful getaway in a peaceful location overlooking the sea. Good service, good rooms. An area of the hotel has been recently refuribished. It might be advisable for a newly renovated room. No noise, a nice breakfast on a sunny terrace, a private swimming pool with a pleasant snack bar and black cliffs dropping straight to the sea. What else?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatchMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Good, clean hotel with all the facilities you could want for a couple, family or business trip. Did not eat in hotel. Only downside was not many decent restuarants close by. Catania is a fair walk. Buses are infrequent and finish early and taxis expensive if you want to travel to Catania or aci trezza. Hotel was definetly worth staying at though. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonywilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

My Auntie Anne Jacob Stayed here, and had dinner with her & what amazing service,
Highly recommend this hotel , It ticks all the boxes.

Next time in Catania, you should book this hotel and see for your self.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2176sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Was slightly anxious having read some previous reviews but am delighted to say the hotel and staff were excellent. The room had a small balcony and a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was kept spotless with fresh towels each day. The breakfast on offer was excellent plenty to choose from and more than willing to accommodate all requirements.

Room Tip: Sea view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jame m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

When you travel to beautiful Catania in Sicily there are a few things you should be well prepared for. Starting with the fact that surprisingly, Catania isn’t a tourist hot spot. Thus well-known hotel groups such as the Hilton or the W have yet to put in their stake into the lava-formed grounds. So where to stay? A good option for the international traveller is the Baia Verde. Rooms are decent and at the time of our stay seemed to have been newly decorated and equipped. The décor is neutral and modern, the beds are comfy and the flat-screen LG TVs offer many international channels in multiple languages. The rooms near reception have balconies offering views onto the azure blue sea, which is stretching out as far as your eyes can see. The bathrooms have multiple fluffy big towels (although no bathrobes were provided). The hot and powerful shower was perfect during our stay in February. All in all, with regards to the look and feel, it’s a decent hotel.

Now to the shortcomings of this place and downfalls during our stay, which really were just in the catering department. Unfortunately, the previous reviews here on tripadvisor about the dismal breakfast weren’t exaggerating. Breakfast is really a disappointment. That may be due to the fact that Italians just like a coffee and a pastry in the morning. The pastries were lovely btw but the rest of the brekkie a disaster. However, it needn’t be. All staff need to improve on are a few things: first of all welcome guests with a smile or just acknowledge them if smiling in the morning is difficult. Breakfast is offered till 10am but if you chose to have a lie in (hey, even if you are on holiday!) and have it at 9.30am it can feel like an angry parent couldn’t be bothered to put on breakfast for you because you couldn’t get out of bed early enough! It was a sorry site to see. There was a single slice of cheese on a massive empty tray, empty jugs with remnants of juice and even a stray dog would have passed on the few cooked bacon pieces left in the heated trays. As if the angry parent attitude wasn’t enough multiple signs warning guests that they will be charged extra should they take food with them away from the breakfast room. Oh come on! Not even a bed and breakfast does that, nor should a 4-star hotel.

Moving on from breakfast, the hotel bar had only half the menu available. We were told that the rest of the listed snacks and sandwiches were only available during high season. So why not print a menu with what’s available? The food that they could prepare was sandwiches only – 4 different types. No pasta, no salad, no soup, really no other option. So travelling in low season really does also just give you a reduced food service, too. The hotel is about 15-20min in a car from the city centre and about 10min from an alternative food place. So, you are buggered if you are relying on the hotel for food, because there are no nearby options. Do your own research and don't try to ask the front desk staff for ideas - they could send you to a place that isn't even open.

You are also completely at the mercy of the Catanian taxi ring if you haven’t rented a car. All there is to say is put your seat belts on and hold on to your euros! The Italian taxi drivers can text, talk to you about football, change the radio channel whilst driving one handedly and switch lanes all at once. If that doesn’t get your pulse racing than the fact that the same journey from A to B can cost you anywhere between €10 and €30 more depending on how skillful your taxi driver is. The thing to watch out for is to make sure that you check the meter as soon as you get in the cab (some of them will have had their meters running for a while before they pick you up) or alternatively, get the hotel to call you a cab and make sure they arrange a fee upfront, especially when you are heading to the airport.

This 'very good' rating here is based on the hotel decor, its outstanding view and cost per night (€114 incl breakfast (hmmm. pastries!) for a double room was a very good price).

So should you chose to stay at the Baia Verde then just make sure you know where to eat well and how to get to and from. Be prepared for the shortcomings and then just enjoy the breath-taking view and the gorgeous sunshine.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception look like have been newly decorated. Uninterrupted views from rooms 300 and 301...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alex o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aci Castello
0.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Catania Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
4 Spa Resort Hotel
4 Spa Resort Hotel
#3 of 11 in Aci Castello
614 reviews
5.1 mi away
NH Catania Parco Degli Aragonesi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
UNA Hotel Palace
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 50 in Catania
1,652 reviews
2.0 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 50 in Catania
189 reviews
86.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Baia Verde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Baia Verde

Property: Grand Hotel Baia Verde
Address: Via Angelo Musco 8/10, 95021, Aci Castello, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Aci Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Aci Castello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Baia Verde 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Baia Verde is a 4 star hotel in Catania facing the seawith 147 Rooms, Swimming Pool, Private Rocky Beach, Spa, Meeting Rooms, Restaurant,Roof Garden,Free Parking Area,American Bar and Scuba Diving School.The Hotel has 147 rooms different in typology (Classic & Superior Rooms, with sea view, Deluxe, Family room, Business Suite, Junior Suites and Suites) smart furnished all equipped with: air-conditioning TV LED HD 32'', Pay TV, SKY TV, frigobar, safe,telephone and Free Wi-FI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Grand Hotel Baia Verde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Aci Castello
Grand Hotel Baia Verde Province Of Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing