We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm rating this place ONE Circle because it is not possible to rate it any lower!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Castelluccio Country Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

The only thing the management of this resort is interested in is how to take as much money as possible by offering a quality service that is just sufficient to decency (and I am not saying sub-standard because I want to be polite here). Positive customer experience does not fall into the priorities of the management of this structure, but prices are the same than top level resorts with outstanding customer service and superior quality (which is not the case of this structure). Breakfast has nothing to do with what you'd expect in a farmhouse in Tuscany. It's the standard breakfast which can also be found in a city hotel and includes only commercial corn flakes, milk, jam, industrial cheese and salami grocery shopping (the products in the large-scale retail trade, in practice, bought wholesale/bulk to increase earnings). The restaurant food is very low quality and prepared so crass, corporate mess type (they want to know in advance if you plan to eat at the restaurant so they can mass-cook, at the expenses of quality of course). If you wish to try/taste the typical Tuscan/Italian products and traditional delicacies, typical of country houses, this place is definitely NOT to be included in the possible options. Try other resorts in Tuscany. Even Autogrill (on the highway) has a better offer in terms of food (and I would say customer service too). The management is only interested to collect as much money as possible and the staff is not helpful either. One can “skin” feel that sympathy is bogus and smiles are fake, even before paying the bill. The management uses every possible and conceivable system to charge customers until they are on the property. Absolutely and definitely not recommended if you are looking to spend a period of relax in Tuscany and enjoy this wonderful region with its specialties and beauty. It is definitely much better to look for other resorts in the area (plenty of), trust me!!! A very disappointed and dissatisfied customer. I wish good luck to those who pick this "agriturismo" (if we want to name it that way) :)))

PS: The room was also kind of dirty with plenty of dust and insects (both dead and alive) on the door glass and the door curtain.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starclothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ilcastelluccio, Proprietario at Il Castelluccio Country Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at “Castelluccio Country Resort”. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

About your comments I am very surprised because none of these problems there has been reported to you during your stay ( just 1 night).

The severity of your judgment about the quality of our restaurant and the financial behavior of direction find no sincere and objective justification.

Always the property and all the staff (always friendly and polite) are committed to ensure our beloved guests an excellent dining experience and a high standard of quality with regard to hygiene, comfort and furnishings of our suites.

At “Castelluccio” we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent any future occurrences.

We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Emanuele Salvatore and Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 236 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

The small consultancy I work for hired 8 rooms here and we flew Easyjet into Pisa, hired a couple of cars and after a very pleasant afternoon in Florence, made our way up the motorway to the villa. We arrived after dark, and the villa was a real sight, perched on the hillside, lights illuminating the patio, pool and hot tub, and after we all got settled in our rooms we had dinner. Which was brilliant. There were eight of us and most of the time we had the place to ourselves.

The rooms are very good; a bit quirky (mine had a gold jacuzzi at the foot of the four-poster bed - made Las Vegas look restrained) but memorable.

The villa was our home for two days and nights; we chatted on the patio long into the night, and although it was quite warm during the day we needed the snuggly blankets they brought out to us as the light faded and the temperature dropped.

Food was excellent; in particular on the last evening we had steak - very rare indeed and if I hadn't liked it like that I would have had to send it back but as I do like it like that - gorgeous!

One note - more of interest than complaint - is about the bread. I expected it to be sensational but it was very boring. Two or three of us are a bit into bread-making and so we found that aspect of the otherwise excellent cuisine a bit disappointing.

The staff were attentive and spoke a little English; fortunately one of us speaks a lot of Italian so were fine.

This was an excellent working break. I sat on the patio both mornings and watched - and listened to - the world waking up. Forested slopes all around, the night-time animals falling silent as the daytime ones took over; the bell on the goat down the hill, the odd gunshot in the hills as someone shot their day's food (truffles, anyone?). Morning mist tumbling through the trees. Magical.

The motorway is just a few minutes away; you can just see it in the distance from the patio and occasionally hear it. This was no problem for us - if it hadn't been for that ro
ad we wouldn't have been there! The track up to the villa is somewhat rutted but our cars were fine (they weren't ours!).

Recommended. Different, memorable.

Room Tip: They're all very good - but No 2 is possibly the best - the first balcony bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andystan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed there over a week-end in October 2012. It was a fantastic break with food to die for! Waking up in the morning to complete silence and watching the mist roll through the valley was superb. I would definately recommend this as part of a road trip through Tuscany. The people who ran it were very friendly and helpful, working with us the whole time to amke our stay as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are best - possibly the family room, but they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwydion9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Exceptional experience from the view over the Tuscan hills, the uniqueness of the small castle to the Exceptional service we received! Above all was the amazing variety of Tuscan Cuisine that was served the 4 nights we dined there! Highly recommend the full dining experience with all courses.

Rooms were extremely clean.

Only criticism at all was the hot tub temperature could have been warmer...almost not worth mentioning and certainly not a deterent.

My wife and I will surely be coming back! Bellisimo Il Castellucio you made this a trip an experience of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We visited this great Hotel in September 2012 as part of a multi-city roadtrip.

Despite arriving late to the check-in (15.00-20.00), we were warmly welcomed by the staff and served a great dinner. Our room was sizeable and clean, the showers are great. In general, it is lovely building in a great setting which offers a taste of the beauty of Tuscany.

The food was excellent and we loved the calm location of the Castelluccio, although it can be a little irritating driving there from the Autostrada through a horrible little road.

Nice atmosphere and very good value for the money.

AM & RCD

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Armak79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed here for 11 days with my family, ideal location for visiting Florence only 35 minutes away. It was a great base for other day trips too. A great little place, made even better because the people who run it work so hard to make it feel like a home from home. wonderful get away location up in the mountains - super local food (the best pasta we have ever tasted) great wine and a simple but tasty breakfast. Veronica and team, thank you for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saludy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

- Stayed there in June for one week, great hospitality and food. Stayed in the Giotto room which is pretty small and has no windows.
- The distance from the highway exit is actually more like 25 minutes (and not 10 minutes as the websire says) and over a very bad unsealed road with big potholes.
- To Florence (centre of town) it is a good 35 miniute drive, add another 15 miniutes if you catch the morning rush hour whjere trafiic is very bad and chaotic (have to love the italian scooter drivers and bicycle riders).
- WiFi is not working in all rooms and drops out regularly
- This is most probably not so well suired for couples but more for famillies with children

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolfmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Di Mugello
6.2 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
281 reviews
1.4 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
285 reviews
3.2 mi away
Villa Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere
#1 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Casale di Santamettole
Casale di Santamettole
#3 of 10 in Barberino Di Mugello
72 reviews
0.4 mi away
Agriturismo MassoSerpente
Agriturismo MassoSerpente
#2 of 16 in Barberino Di Mugello
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
Poggio agli Ulivi
Poggio agli Ulivi
#2 of 10 in Barberino Di Mugello
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Castelluccio Country Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Castelluccio Country Resort

Address: Via Ariano - Loc. Castelluccio | dopo il parking 5 dell'Outlet svoltare a destra e seguire i cartelli, 50031, Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range: $85 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A XI century Tuscan Castle in the beautiful Florentine hills. The farmhouse is run by a young Italian couple and it is finely restored and well equipped with Pool/jacuzzi and private lovely gardens for outside dining. 2km to shops, bank, restaurant etc. Just 20 km to Florence and own Tuscan Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Il Castelluccio Country Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Castelluccio Country Hotel Barberino Di Mugello
Il Castelluccio Country Resort Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing