We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous - will be back”
Review of Villa Le Maschere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Le Maschere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Service was excellent - concierge, receptionist, breakfast staff, dinner staff - all really friendly and professional.
The room was good, first room only had a shower so we changed to another one with a bath. Beautiful views and good size. Bed very comfortable. Everything very clean.
The hotel itself is gorgeous, beautiful painted ceilings, views over the Tuscan countryside and more..
Location - handy for the A1 so easy to get to Bologna / Florence but you do need a car in order to get around.
Had breakfast each morning - good choice including gluten free options which was a real bonus for me.
We also had dinner one night and that was lovely as well. No problems adapting for gluten free and some really nice food. Different to what we are used to here in Ireland but that was the whole point of going there in the first place.
Only negatives are that the spa isn't open yet and that we had to leave after 4 nights!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee_in_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (593)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 593 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2010

We stayed 5 nights & we had a wonderfull time there . Close from Firanze & not fare away to Bologna

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I spent some weeks ago, some beautiful days at this extraordinary hotel. Everything was just amazing: we were welcomed by this nice young man , Andrea, who was really polite and checked us in and than called on a colegue of his to show us our room. Forgot to mention we arived around midnight. George (who showed us to our room), a roumanian man, was also very polite, spoke pretty good english, so we understood each other easily. He showed us the room, how the lights worked, the air conditioner and than he left and parked our car. We saw him again later in the morning (while we were leaving to do our jogging), in the reception loby , cleaning up, and after that, cleaning up the wonderful pool.
The room was spectacular and so very clean (some really nice ladies made sure everyday that the room was spick and spam).
Very properly trained personell at the bar and restaurant (Letitia, Deborah and Lorenzo).
We were so positively impressed by the stuff's training (the man who took us to our room-George- didn't even receive our tip, saying he was paid to do his job), that we want to thank the managing director of this place, for the nice job that he has done in training in his people.
So: beautiful place, 5 star services, quality serving.
But: why isn't the head of service speaking english. I find that particular...
And other downlow of the place is that the SPA isn't open, thou is advertised. My wife really wanted to spend a day relaxing in this center, and when we got there, we found out it wasn't available. I really hope that when we come in winter, the SPA problem is fixed and we can enjoy everything the hotel has to offer.
Sincerely C&D.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_lory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Spent three wonderful nights at the Villa Le Maschere in tuscany. You are located about 20 -30 kilometers northeast of Florence. The grounds and hotel are wonderful. You need a car to find the villa and enjoy the Tuscany sights. Concierge was extremely helpful assisting in train travel into Florence. Just park your car at the local town train station for free and ride the commuter train right into Florence center city.
The front desk can also make tee times with discounted green fees at their sister UNA hotel a few miles away that has a wonderful championship golf course.
Our room was Beautifully decorated with a great view. The bathroom was ultra modern and morning breakfast was top notch. Hotel resturant was a bite pricey, great service and very romantic. Walking distance is a local eatery with good food at half the price.
Check the local UNA Hotels website they have specials that Bookings.com and others can't touch. Ours was three nights for the price of two.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TexasPacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Magnificent. The place leaves you stunned...the architecture, history, setting and care is superb. Morning: Breakfast in a stunning garden style dining room...attentive staff, great selection of food. Afterwards: Wander aroudn the 18 acres of beautiful tended gardens, and woods with beautiful views. Sit in the exquisite lobby and marvel....drive to Florence for lunch and return in the evening feeling like a billionaire as you drive through the huge iron gates. The staff, the rooms, EVERYTHING was perfect. I will return.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocanada111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2009

This hotel is just beautiful. It was originaly a 500 year old villa but the original owners walked away during WW1 after they lost everything.The family still live nearby. The hotel is very new and the original decor has been preserved and added to. it is a 5star hotel and deserves the rating.I stayed here for 3 night on a business trip and could not believe my luck. The style and decor both inside and out is breath taking.They have blended the old and new together perfectly.The service is perfect and the food is great but pricey but you expect that at a hotel like this.The veiws from the hotel are amazing, from evry side you can look over at the Tuscan hills and the lake.
It is about a 35 min drive from Florence in the direction of Bologna.
This place is just amazing,just look it up online.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauld6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

My husband and I spent a few nights at this gorgeous villa. Beautiful, very clean, gorgeous views and wonderful staff. It was spotless!

The spa is still under construction and from what I can see it will be beautiful once completed.

There is a gorgeous pool with very comfortable sun chairs...though it filled up quickly.

Service was good in that the staff was eager and willing, however, it did feel that the entire villa was a little understaffed.

One of our errors was staying north of Florence as we wanted the Tuscany experience. If you are looking for this as well I would recommend staying south of Florence...much closer to the wineries and wonderful towns such as San Gimignano, Siena, etc.

Once all of the minor issues have been ironed out, I am sure this hotel will be a wonderful place to escape to.

We also had dinner there twice and the food was very good!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CharleyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Di Mugello
3.1 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
281 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
286 reviews
10.4 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Meridiana Country Hotel
Meridiana Country Hotel
#1 of 8 in Calenzano
416 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#19 of 409 in Florence
863 reviews
16.2 mi away
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
Hotel Mulino di Firenze
#29 of 409 in Florence
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Maschere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Maschere

Address: Via Nazionale 75, 50031, Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range: $164 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Le Maschere 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revival of tradition with a contemporary twist and refined settings where perfect harmony exists between history,art and design.architectural features, interiors and exteriors restored to their former splendor, are witness to the evolution of tradition and development of style and techniques that all go to make up the history of villa le maschere. Splendid frescoes and ornamental stuccos that are true works of art, render every room unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Le Maschere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Maschere Hotel Barberino Di Mugello
Hotel Le Maschere
Resort Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing