We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveler rating
391
163
46
27
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
391
163
46
27
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful hotelour honeymoonjunior suitefree shuttlespa areathe hotel offerscouple of daysle mascherethe hotel managermeeting roomwonderful viewlittle detailsbeautiful tuscan countrysideluxury hotelpleasure of stayingfrom start to finishhotel restaurant
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 638 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2017

5 years to rebuild this old palazzo and results are really awesome! the decoration is so refined in each little details. The hotel is huge and you can lost yourself in corridors which is actually great because you discover other beautiful spaces (dining rooms, salon, bar...). Good buffet for breakfast. Good service and tasty food at the restaurant(super pasta!).
Our room had a nice view on the garden. Nice moulure and "trompe l'oeil" on walls and ceiling. Good bed quality. Bathroom was a little bit small without much light but confortable. Perfect for an escapade with your lover!

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dovi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you liked your stay with us in our Villa, since the guests’ satisfaction is our priority.
Villa Le Maschere is the perfect place if you are looking for relax and shopping in the Tuscan countryside.
We really appreciate your feedback because It helps us to monitor the quality of our services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Villa Le Maschere for your next stay
Best regards

Luca Giuliano
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

I chose to stay here with my family as it was perfectly located to see a bit of Tuscany and be 'shuttled' into Florence 35 minutes away. This Villa is beautiful but falls just short of the promised 5 star. Unlike previous reviews we found every member of staff to be helpful and friendly. The food was fabulous, yes a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. The pool was quiet every time we visited in the afternoon and we found the sun beds to be more than adequate. The jacuzzi in the wellness area disappointed due to a lack of working jets and the discovery of thick green mould but we didn't visit this hotel for the wellness area. The rooms were reasonably spacious and the beds and pillows were so comfy our nights sleep was excellent. The rooms should have provided free water, that was a shame, and the air con was a little too warm for us and even though we reported it after a failure to turn it down in our room the temperature didn't change. So a couple of issues, but overall our stay was fabulous and we would strongly recommend the Villa.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank JASPERTHEJUBILANT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for taking the time to review Villa Le Maschere. We have noted that, in general, your comments were positive. However, we were pleased that you also pointed out some elements that you did not feel were up to our high standards. Your comments have given us the opportunity to continue to improve our services in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you choose stay with us.
Hoping to welcome you again soon as our guest,
Best regards

Luca Giuliano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

A very neutral welcome without the promised welcome drink and a request to move our car quickly to the car park. The room was average but with poor Air Con and a hard bed. There was no bottled water on offer in sight, in fact the room was pretty basic as was the overpriced sparsely stocked minibar. The 'relaxing pool' had screaming kids and there were barking dogs every morning to annoy you at breakfast. When there was a space, the beds by the pool were extremely uncomfortable, like lying on a plank of wood. Its a nice location but better was the lake nearby, the outlet mall if you like designer shopping and a fantastic local restaurant opposite the hotel. We just got the impression that no effort was being made by the management. Some great individuals who were proud of what they did was one of the chefs and a waitress who cared. This place needs an injection of something as it could offer much more.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to review Villa Le Maschere. Our hotel is both a spa resort and a family hotel, and in August (our highest season) some children might be a bit “noisy”. Furthermore, we regret to inform you that your reservation did not include any welcome drink or complimentary drinks in room (we also discussed this with the agency you booked through, and we are sure that they will inform you about). Our best regards,
Luca Giuliano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017

We have been around the world and stayed in many 5* hotels. This one is not a 5* hotel, although they like to believe and pretend like they are one, very fond of themselves. We stayed 10 nights here, so ample time to experience and observe.
We arrived with 40 degrees Celsius, no welcome drink...could I please have your credit card Sir.
One morning we had water coming from the ceiling, coming from the room above.
The cleaning done by housekeeping is below par. Especially the floors in the bedroom and the bathroom are dirty, during the entire stay, dust on the nightstands, during the entire stay and we even found hair clips, pieces of string and hairs in the bathtub after cleaning was done that were not ours.
The shower could be more practical.
Don't think too much of the Spa, which is a sauna, a steam-bath, a shower with Ambilight and a couple of relaxing beds, where you cannot relax because there is no supervision where people are told to be quiet, children are also allowed and the therapist herself, if she is there, makes loud phone calls and speaks loud to other guests. There is also black fungus behind the headrest of the jacuzzi, also during our entire 10 nights stay, so we did not enjoy the jacuzzi.
The pool area is fine but the amount of insects, wasps, hornets and horse flies is really annoying. The hotel can say this is because it is located in the middle of nature but there are no attempts to make it any more comfortable and it really effects your ability to relax as you have to constantly watch yourself, each other, your drinks, your food. About the food, the food at the pool is a snack bar basically. Toast with crisps, sandwich with fries, plastic plates, no cutlery, you eat with your hands.
The kitchen for lunch and dinner is an insult to Italian cuisine and a shame for the hotel they pretend to be. The food is tasteless, inspiration less and way overpriced. Not what you would expect when looking at the pictures when booking your holiday. This is without a doubt the reason why lunch and dinner are virtually empty every day besides Monday, because the restaurants in the neighborhood are closed on Mondays. The lady at lunch a dinner, Christina C, is always looking angry/discontent. Smile! It is free!
I don't mind paying 5 Euros for a soda of 7 for a beer, as long as all the rest lives up to that level as well and it simply doesn't, no matter what the manager will reply to this review. We were soooooo happy with the Enoteca restaurant across the street, family owned, honest good food at half the price of what the hotel charges you for less in both quantity and quality.
The cocktails at the moodless bar are 15 Euros but also just average. With all this said, I do not understand why some of the staff think to highly of themselves/this place and also act accordingly...?
One day we had rain and the hotel was leaking water everywhere. The lobby literally flooded and the furniture and drapes were all wet.
We had a late return flight and asked if there was a room available for us to bridge only 3 hours of waiting, so we wouldn't be to warm before all the travelling. We could stay those 3 hours in a room for 160,- Euros and when we kindly refused we were informed that as an exception, we were allowed to wait on the terrace outside or use a bed on the lawn. Thank you for this generous exception!
This hotel has issues and it could easily make a lot more money if it was properly ran, if it was well managed and had a much much better kitchen. Asking a lot of money for food and drinks "because you are a 5* hotel" is easy, especially when you are in the middle of nowhere, but people are not stupid so do not treat them as such by under-delivering.
No value for money.
Oh, and yes, nature and the surroundings are nice, the location and view are great, bot those require no effort from the hotel of course.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjongen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Villa Le Maschere. Your comments give us the opportunity to continue to improve our services in order to make sure that your expectations are fully satisfied the next time you choose stay with us. We are sorry for the water flooding in the lobby and for the maintenance of the Jacuzzi: we constantly work on maintenance, a big issue in a historic mansion of the 16th century. Nevertheless, we would have been happier if we could discuss together about these issues when you were here: nothing has been reported, except of the water coming from the ceiling, a problem that has been fixed in less than 2 hours. All the rooms are daily cleaned and inspected, so it is difficult to check after few days if this inspection has not been accurate. The prices of the bar and restaurant are in line with other 5 stars, and we cannot accept to read that the kitchen is “an insult to Italian cuisine”, as this is an insult to people who do their best, everyday, and who receive very good reviews (as you can read on Tripadvisor). Concerning the late check-out, we do believe that any hotel would apply, in high season, a supplement for using the room for an entire afternoon after check-out time. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we hope that you will give us a second chance, and maybe discuss together if there is any problem. Best regards,
Luca Giuliano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful vacation at a luxury resort near Florence!very beautiful rooms with anything you can possibly need ,very nice breakfast with a great variety of fresh Italian products.
Many congratulations to the hotel manager and the staff!!!
One little thing is that the bathroom although is very good and clean ,could be a little more luxurious
Superb surroundings !!!!!
It was so beautiful and elegant we had the feeling like being movie stars !!!

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Stelv35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaGiuliano, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing your holiday with us.
It’s a pleasure to hear about your satisfaction.
We also thank you to point out the bathroom because the opinion of our guest is very important for us and it helps us to improve our services .
We are looking forward to see you again at Villa Le Maschere for your next stay.
Best regards

Luca Giuliano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews