We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gorgeous refuge with easy access to Florence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Le Maschere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Le Maschere
Certificate of Excellence
UK
1 review
“gorgeous refuge with easy access to Florence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

My family and I just stayed for five nights at Le Maschere to celebrate my mother's birthday. The hotel was superb and the staff made every effort to make our stay comfortable.- taking excellent care of the children and the rest of us. The restaurant in the hotel served great food and the unrelated Le Maschere restaurant, just a short walk down the road, was a real boon, with very nice affordable cuisine including freshly foraged mushrooms. Apparently summer at the hotel was very busy indeed but we were thrilled that the place was rather quiet during our stay. Getting down the gravel path to the lovely pool was a touch tricky as was finding one's way through the maze of routes between different parts of the villa but I understand that they are still refining some details from the multi-year refurbishment and, after all, it is a C16 villa. For a special occasion this place is perfect: exquisite accommodation, beautiful countryside, great food, really warm and friendly staff. For culture/history buffs, this region may not be up there with the other Tuscan sites that are so incredibly rich but the area is, nonetheless, fascinating. Giotto was born just a few miles away and there are numerous interesting small towns in the area. Florence is also only a short ride along the motorway. There are many interesting small hamlets and churches nestled in the beautiful countryside. A memorable holiday!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Archie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    135
    33
    24
    7
See reviews for
65
321
8
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

The place is absolutely gorgeous. the staff so well trained. the food so tasty and the view...breathtaking. A man in the staff especialy thoughtfull, i think his name is Giorgio, so good with children and so kind.
I would come back anytime!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaDayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

I have just returned from Italy where I spent sometime at this wonderful hotel with my husband, the facade is impressive and from the minute you enter the foyer you know you will not be disapointed. It has taken 6 years for the stunning renovation work to be carried out on the villa and looking around you get some idea of what the original owners must have seen when they picked up the keys in the 16th century! this coupled with the high quality contemporary furnishings make for a truly stunning hotel.
The standard of service was wonderful, nothing was too much trouble- Maurizio, Patrizia and Claudio were all great. We ate outside by candlelight in the evening where the fantastic views took on a new romance from when we had seen them in the daytime and the food and wine were high quality and quite reasonable. The only down side was that we had to leave but will return again soon!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

Stayed for three nights here and it was magical. The room rate was seriously discounted and we ended up paying about 100 euros for a standard room. I can't imagine it will stay this cheap.

The standout for me was the decor. Some serious money has been ploughed into this place. Every nook is filled with the most amazing furniture - unique pieces and a really funky mix of modern and antique.

The location was much better than I expected. It's about 30 mins drive north of Florence in a gorgeous Tuscan setting. It was relatively easy to drive to Florence or Siena for the day.

The hotel restaurant was great and there was an amazing restaurant just down the road. Really rustic and the food was spectacular and inexpensive.

I thought the service at the Villa was outstanding, particularly from Claudio and Luana. Nothing was too much trouble. Others have mentioned that the internet wasn't working but there was no problem in using the office internet for as long as you liked. I'm sure this will be fixed by now.

In all, a luxurious and beautiful place and I feel lucky to have been there.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lpsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

Pro: Nice hotel in a small town in Tuscany. Very clean rooms. Nice swimming pool.
Contra: boring breakfast, no accomodation (tennis, squash, golf), spa still not finalised

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgesquiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

I found this hotel on short notice when my husband and I had an opportunity to spend time in Italy. We had never been to Florence and this looked like a perfect place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel is beautiful and our room was perfect. The grounds are in transition, as the hotel is really quite new but the pools were finished.
Our frustration was with the internet not being available. The staff allowed patrons to use the office to plug in and often there was a line to do so. The business suite is finished and beautiful but unusable. I do wonder how anyone could possibly use the hotel for a business conference .
The thermostats are controlled from the front desk and patrons must ask to have a temperature changed or the fan turned on. The temp is set at 23C. We had to ask several times to change our temp and to turn the fan on, even though there are controls, conveniently placed at bedside, in the rooms.
The hotel staff needs to brush up on dates and times that museums or restaurants are open as we were sent "more than once" to a closed building.
We tried to get some history on the villa but staff were not able to help us in English.
The bar area is lovely but unstaffed.
The breakfast included in the morning was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincetonNJBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2009

I'm used to travel in Italy, I'm working for a company in Tuscany.
I stayed in many nice places, but this one was really... PERFECT!

It's not far from Florence, a few minutes if you're by car. Also for those who choose to with Ryanair or Easyjet on PISA airport (75km) it's easy to get there (1h highway).

The hotel is new, and has a high level finishing touch. Discovering every place in the hotel is almost an attraction, every room or salon is different. I had an elegant room, and even if it's the cheapest room category, it was very comfortable with a hugh bathroom and rainshower. VEry comfortable bed, and peacefull quiet rooms.

The restaurant is good, not very expensive, nice quality-price value. Breakfast "à la carte" is great.

The SPA is not yet finished for the moment.
There are no pictures of the 2 outdoor swimming pools (finished!). I took some for those who want to see it. The sight from the pool is wonderfull... A lake, Tuscan hills and located in a very quiet park.

I can just tell you... try it! you won't be dissapointed !!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jcyfashion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Di Mugello
15.8 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.0 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
16.4 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#7 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Il Cavallo
Hotel Il Cavallo
#3 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
10.4 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
15.9 mi away
Hotel David
Hotel David
#1 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Maschere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Maschere

Property: Villa Le Maschere
Address: Via Nazionale 75, 50031, Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Le Maschere 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revival of tradition with a contemporary twist and refined settings where perfect harmony exists between history,art and design.architectural features, interiors and exteriors restored to their former splendor, are witness to the evolution of tradition and development of style and techniques that all go to make up the history of villa le maschere. Splendid frescoes and ornamental stuccos that are true works of art, render every room unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Le Maschere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Maschere Hotel Barberino Di Mugello
Hotel Le Maschere
Resort Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing