We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tuscan tranquility”
Review of Villa Le Maschere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Le Maschere
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Tuscan tranquility”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during our tour of Italy and had very relaxing time. Hotel is really peaceful and good quality. Great staff, very friendly and helpful. Nice pool area and spa.

Breakfast is really, really good. Lots of fresh fruits, eggs, cold fishes (tuna, sword fish and salmon), great tea and coffee. Options for dairy, soy and rice milk and gluten-free products.
Restaurant took our allergies/vegetarian food requests really well and made meals out of menu.

Our six month old baby was warmly welcome by staff and hotel was suitable for baby although mostly quest were adult couples. I would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We saw three different rooms; classic room, superior room and junior suite. Superior room seemed bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Customer,
I would like to thank you for time spent to leave your opinion regarding your recent stay in our Resort.
In many ways, the Staff and the Management of Villa le Maschere, is trying to give the right way to let the Guests feel pampered.
Nowadays increasingly important is the attention to the food intolerance, and for this our Hotel is ready to accommodate every Guests needs, without forgetting the importance of natural products that reflect our culinary tradition.
Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Kind regards
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    144
    33
    24
    7
See reviews for
66
340
9
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed here for one week on business, amazing hotel set in beautiful Tuscan countryside ,only a forty minute drive into Florence and just over an hour to Bologna, food and wine at hotel amazing and even managed to enjoy late afternoon in and around the hotels pools,Perfect for those who want peace and quiet a small step from the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelBowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Customer,
Villa le Maschere has been built in renaissance time as private residence outside the city. After five hundred centuries the spirit of living the “Villa” has not been changed!
Thank you for comment! And looking forward to welcoming you in the next future.
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This hotel it simply stunning, set in a beautiful location with amazing views over the Italian countryside. We stayed for 2 nights and it was a perfect relaxing stay during our busy tour of Italy.

We had a superior room which was a very good size but sadly overlooked the glass roof of the lobby so no views from here. It was very comfortable though with a good sized bathroom.

The wellness centre and pool area is lovely and well maintained.

The only let down was the Il Piopponero Restaurant, which we ate in on the first night. It is very expensive and the menu is far too pretentious. The food itself was OK but does not match the high prices. It is clearly evident that there is a problem here as the following night we ate across the road in a beautiful little restaurant called Le Maschere Enoteca, and found it to be 95% full of the hotel guests. Perhaps someone from Villa Le Maschere could have a meal over there and see what food people are actually wanting to eat. It was stunning and a fraction of the cost.

I would recommend this hotel but eat across the road.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the rear of the hotel, they will have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryW1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your posting. I'm very happy to read that you had e perfect relaxing stay.
On reading you comment on our restaurant I learn with regret that you did not found the quality of “Pioppo Nero” at the level of the rest of the Resort.
Our restaurant “Pioppo Nero” framed between the neo classic façade and the “Foggini” monumental stairs, seeks to offer the excellence of the local products with impeccable service.
I hope to be able to welcoming you again in order to have the chance to better let you relish the “Pioppo Nero” experience.
Kind regards
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

What can I say? From the moment we arrived, to the moment we checked-out this hotel was a marvelous experience. Staff who were courteous and friendly, and who were obviously very proud to work in such a beautiful property (one even took us on a guided tour of the building, showing us the old chapel, and other architectural gems throughout the building).
The room was amazing, with genuine raphelite statues in the cornices and a beautiful bathroom with more amenities than I thought possible.
The restaurant for dinner was lovely, with great service which was discreet but attentive, and the menu had a modern Italian twist which we enjoyed. The breakfast room downstairs had a warm and intimate atmosphere which was great for the time of day, and the selection was excellent. Freshly made cappuccino to order was welcome.
We loved our stay, and next time in Florence we will be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ineedabreak82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Customer,
the stunning renaissance Villa that I’m luckily managing, would be a body without a soul if the resort staff had not demonstrated awareness of the architectural jewel in which we work. This makes us lucky workers! I'm glad that this feeling has been felt during your stay.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in sunny Villa le Maschere, later in the fall to enjoy the seasonal produce in our restaurant PiopponeroI, thank you once again for the expressed appreciation feelings.
kind regards
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were looking for a relaxing pampering retreat and we could not have done a better choice.

After a little taste of beauty, luxury and peace at Villa Le Maschere, we decided to extend our weekend getaway to the whole week. We were delighted by the Villa and the surrounding park, the pools and spa being an oasis of peace.

Truly a beautiful hidden secret corner of Tuscany.

Mornings started off with a terrific breakfast, throughout the day we enjoyed the millions comforts thank to the exceptional help and kindness of the staff, dinner on the open sky terrace, and at night we had the chance of experiencing different rooms of the villa and the suites, which are absolutely magnificent.

Regardless of the fact that you do or do not play golf, the Golf club Poggio dei Medici, 10 min away by car, is a must see: one of the most beautiful golf clubs in the Country and definately the most beautiful in central Italy. The club belongs to the same property as the Villa so exploit the benefits from their close relationship.

Sincerely reccomended to all.

Room Tip: completely different rooms deserve to be seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carefulobserver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
reading your review we have the chance to fully understand what has to be consider a stay in our Resort: a 360 degrees’ experience.
The good mix of location, service, stunning renaissance Villa and comfortable rooms makes the Guest in the spotlight in a discretely way.
Hoping to welcoming you in the next future, we suggest to catch our coming middle season opportunity, focused into delicious gourmet opportunity!
Kind regards
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is sited in a massive Italian villa that has been painstakingly restored to its current magnificence. We had one of the well appointed Junior suites with a magnificent ceiling.and decor. The grounds are lovely and the service friendly and attentive.

My only negative comment is not the fault of the hotel at all. I am accustomed to annual visits to Tuscany, normally further South, and am in love with the stunning countryside and medieval villages. This hotel is situated about 40 mins North of Florence and although the local hills and forests are picturesque, I found the area much less appealing than Central Tuscany, with much less to see and do. If this is where you want to come, I would be surprised if there is anywhere better to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Villa le Maschere is part of the Italian national monuments, after a laborious period of restoration, this exquisite example of renaissance Villa has returned to shine.
The preservation of the original Villa ‘s spaces, do enjoy Guests the unique spaces , where spending their Holidays becomes a unforgettable experience.
Hoping to be able to welcoming you in sunny “Villa le Maschere” as soon as possible, I beg you to accept the thanks of myself and all the staff of the Resort.
Kind regards
Danilo D'Angelo
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is a beautiful old villa that has been restored, upon a hill with a view that is more painting like than real, absolutely beautiful. The hotel grounds are big and great for walks, and if you have a dog, the dog will love it, at least our dog Orwell did.
While the hotel itself is in a great location, a nice room, nice pool, great common areas as well as a very nice restaurant, the thing that really made the stay special was the staff. Everyone was polite, helpful, professional, friendly, and made you feel welcome, there was no stiffness but it all just felt natural and comfortable, one of the best experiences we have ever had. This is a hotel where you want to spend your day at, where you feel at home, we felt no need to leave at all. And we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orwellthemaltese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DDAngelo, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
we are very excited about your comment. Your satisfaction is our success.
The staff is the soul of the villa and is the most important element that can give to our guest unique experience. Our company believes in qualify staff.
The Villa is perfect even for our small animal friends. They can enjoy our park of absolute beauty with rare trees and relaxing router.
Hooping to see you soon I remain my best regards.
Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Di Mugello
15.8 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#18 of 422 in Florence
765 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
263 reviews
3.1 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
16.4 mi away
Villa Cora
Villa Cora
#7 of 422 in Florence
882 reviews
16.4 mi away
Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Maschere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Maschere

Property: Villa Le Maschere
Address: Via Nazionale 75, 50031, Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Le Maschere 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revival of tradition with a contemporary twist and refined settings where perfect harmony exists between history,art and design.architectural features, interiors and exteriors restored to their former splendor, are witness to the evolution of tradition and development of style and techniques that all go to make up the history of villa le maschere. Splendid frescoes and ornamental stuccos that are true works of art, render every room unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Villa Le Maschere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Maschere Hotel Barberino Di Mugello
Hotel Le Maschere
Resort Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing