We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Le Maschere

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Le Maschere
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Useless to write long rewies when a place is amazing and Villa Le Maschere is one of a kind! Absolutelly stylish, the mirrors room will leave you breathless. Just experience and you'll see! I can't comment only the restaurant as we only had breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adriano_BigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    118
    31
    22
    6
See reviews for
58
286
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we stayed here for 3 nights on the way back from Cyprus. initially we thought we were the only residents and it seemed a bit empty, but staff were welcoming and friendly. We were upgraded to a junior suite, stylish and modern in the setting of the historic villa. Close to Florence for a day out, but in beautiful surroundings. We asked for loungers in the garden, and the staff were helpful and put some by the pool for us. We didn't use the spa, but it looks great. Excellent breakfast buffet. Didn't try the restaurant, as the menu didn't grab the imagination. all in all, recommended

Room Tip: ask for the upgrade ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jzedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I traveled to Villa Le Maschere with a friend for Easter. The hotel is in Barberino di Mugello, which is not such an exciting place to be, unless you want to go to the outlet which is a 3 minute drive from the hotel. Honestly though, if you are planning a relaxing weekend or a couple of days of break this is the best place to do so. The SPA is simply delightful (there is a mini indoor pool and a nice outdoor pool). Unfortunately it was raining while we were there but we had an amazing time anyway. The rooms are amazing, we had a room in the modern part of the building, the bathroom was incredibly spacious and the shower was huge.
We only at in the hotel once since it seemed pretty empty and somewhat sad, but the morning breakfast made up for this (it was INCREDIBLE). If you are planning on going for morning runs you have the entire garden area and you can even wonder off into the tuscan hills.
Now for the slightly upsetting part, the staff is not as incredibly nice as they should be. We arrived at 4pm and had to wait an hour before going up to the room since it was being cleaned (seemed strange since the hotel is enormous and we saw about 15 people during the entire weekend). Also the friendliness when we asked for places to eat around the area was sort of missing.
But, even though nothing is perfect, Villa Le Maschere comes very close to perfection.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer rooms (very modern, bright and clean)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuxuryWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear guest,
We thank you for the posting. I read carefully each guest’s experience in Villa le Maschere.
We do appreciated your amazing comment on our property, room, Wellness Center, breakfast and about the park of 18 hectares runs down to the Bilancino Lake that contains many rare and notable trees!
I’ do apologize for a not very good feeling by our concierge service. Our goal is to make an highly professional staff for the environment in which it operated and your comment helps us to achieve the goal.
We have 65 different rooms and we wish to allocated, when it is possible, the best room available as was done with you. I apologize for the waiting time.
Do not hesitate to contact me to plan your next stay in Mugello!
Best regards

Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Car launch centered on Florence overnighted at Villa Le Maschere, which has a curious edifice reminiscent of a decorated barn. Extremely poor Internet connection meant unable to upload to YouTube and each email took several minute to process. Oddball room had a rickety desk and a big chair but no legroom underneath, so forced to use an armchair and coffee table to work. Drinks on the terrace was understaffed. The meal (stuffed Guinea fowl) was okay, but nothing special. Breakfast was served in some rooms in the labyrinthine rabbit warren of basement that proved difficult to find and required the skills of a pot-holer to emerge from. On this occasion the place promised more than it actually delivered.

Room Tip: I didn't get one so I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for the comment on your stay.
Villa Le Maschere has been built in the second half of the sixteenth century. 65 bedrooms and suites all varied in their decoration, fabrics and furnishings. It is one of the most beautiful late Renaissance country homes in Tuscany.
Villa le Maschere after the restoration remain the original structure and it is compressible that is not so easy to move around but in the same time there are a lot of indication to help our guests.
We serve breakfast in the restaurant “Cancello di Ghireto” the motifs of Cancello di Ghireto Restaurant are the green of the fabric, the prints and the floral designs in the great lamps, which re-evoke the romantic park surrounding the Villa. We use the outside terrace when the weather is good. Thank you for the positive comment on the meal at dinner.
Our internet connection is a professional ADSL, 7 mbps/512 kbps.
I hope that you will be back very soon with your family in Villa le Maschere.
Best regards

Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
benn77
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here as part of a week long trip in Italy and thought it would be the highlight of our stay. Unfortunately this was not the case!

Straight away I thought the hotel felt cold and pretentious and was trying to be something it is not. The standard rooms are terrible for the money. Our room was small, had no view and there weren't even basic extras such as complimentary water or a turn down service.

Service was incredibly poor for a supposed 5 star hotel. As per an earlier review we were ignored at breakfast and had to get up and ask for drinks etc. On checkout no one even asked if we had a good stay, which frankly we did not.

In summary this hotel needs to get new management and staff and lower prices, as at the minute it is truly awful value for money. Hopefully it could then be worthy of the beautiful building it occupies.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank benn77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you for the posting. The guest’s comment help us to improve our service.

I do apologize for the bad experience that you have had in our resort but I am sure that these is only an isolate case. During the summer as in the winter when we have low occupancy our service remain unchanged.

I’d rather to have more information about your stay in order to understand better what has happened so please contact me directly I’m sure that we will be able to satisfy your future expectative.

Looking forward to hearing from you I remain my best regards
Danilo D'Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed 8 nights and had an uograde to a Junior Suite. This is a first class hotel and the attention of the staff could not be faulted. Breakfast buffet is varied and plentiful. The quality and presentation of dinner was excellent - although the menu is extensive, we would have liked to see some changes in the menu over a period of 8 days.Dining on the terrace on a warm Tuscany evening is magic! The courtesy shuttle to Florence is a bonus. A rental car would be advantageous rather than the very pricey taxis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jarmstrong01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at Villa Le Maschere. I booked a Junior Suite which was in chini pavilion The Chini Pavilion is a small building and once was the gardener's house and the carriages. Now it has been restored and is a small residence. This is a reserved, quiet and beautiful. The windows open on to the italian garden.
There is also two swimming pool.
The hotel is in a central location. It is located 35 km from Florence. So I think it is suitable for those who want to relax in a central area and a little away from the bustle of big cities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyEmily43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Di Mugello
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#13 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Il Salviatino
#54 of 421 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Villa Cora
#5 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 702 reviews
San Lorenzo
Palazzo Castri 1874
Palazzo Castri 1874
#6 of 421 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Maschere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Maschere

Property: Villa Le Maschere
Address: Via Nazionale 75, 50031 Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Le Maschere 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revival of tradition with a contemporary twist and refined settings where perfect harmony exists between history,art and design.architectural features, interiors and exteriors restored to their former splendor, are witness to the evolution of tradition and development of style and techniques that all go to make up the history of villa le maschere. Splendid frescoes and ornamental stuccos that are true works of art, render every room unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Le Maschere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Maschere Hotel Barberino Di Mugello
Hotel Le Maschere
Resort Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing