We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure relaxation”
Review of Villa Le Maschere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Le Maschere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at Villa Le Maschere. I booked a Junior Suite which was in chini pavilion The Chini Pavilion is a small building and once was the gardener's house and the carriages. Now it has been restored and is a small residence. This is a reserved, quiet and beautiful. The windows open on to the italian garden.
There is also two swimming pool.
The hotel is in a central location. It is located 35 km from Florence. So I think it is suitable for those who want to relax in a central area and a little away from the bustle of big cities.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyEmily43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
There are newer reviews for Villa Le Maschere
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 576 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked this hotel with www.pinhigh.nl and got a fabulous price for this 5 star hotel: fine rooms with breakfast, diner and water en wine included. All this for 1.200 euro's/pp for 7 nights with on top free golf on the Poggio die Medici (normal fee is 78-90 euro's per green fee)
The breakfast is top and the diner only fine food ( try the risotto) Eating in the garden was a true experience.
We loved the hotel which has so much style and nothing is too much.

Room Tip: Ask a room with garden view. But they are all of good quality
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andre_verbeemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The property was beautiful. I liked the classical exterior with modern interior look. The pool also looked stunning especially in the Tuscan sun. The location was perfect, only if you had a car. The Mall and Florence are less than an hour away. The breakfast was perfect with the yummiest selection including the sweetest melons, paired with the lovely ham and Prosecco. You could also have breakfast under the trees in the courtyard which was really nice. The only complaint was that the aircon was somewhat inadequate, perhaps because of the heat. The windows were strangely positioned and therefore, can't really see the view.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Singap0reTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I booked this hotel for several nights on our honeymoon in July.

Jr Suite Room
The check in process was swift. When the hotel manager showed us to our room Junior Suite, I felt it was quite small (for a junior suite) and very empty. That was the biggest problem that I had with this room and with the hotel as a whole. It just felt very empty! Not in terms of occupancy, but in terms of décor choices and furniture positioning.

What creates some confusion regarding the rooms (if you look on the hotel website) is that there is the Main building and the Pavilion, which are both parts of the hotel. It’s not always very obvious which building in the same category would have a better room for you. In the main building there is also the Standard Collection and the Prestige Collection, so rooms of the same category might not look or cost the same.

In any case, our Jr Suite was not 2 floors, as was my impression from the website. It was just 1 room with a bed and a very long empty corridor where one could store luggage, I suppose.

Other Rooms
When we informed the manager that we really disliked the room, he embarked us on a little hotel tour. It was very nice of him to provide us with so many choices! He was aware that it was our Italian honeymoon and clearly wanted us to stay at Villa le M and be happy. So he showed us a variety of rooms in different categories higher than Junior Suite.

All the rooms we’ve seen at Villa Le Maschere had some unusual design elements, such as a free-standing bed, a bath tub built into the floor, a transparent shower cabin etc. The design solutions were quite unique. The problem was that I didn’t find them appropriate for a honeymoon – rooms felt cold, empty and overly modern. There was no hearty feeling that one would expect staying in Tuscany.

I supposed, one might say that you knew what you were getting into. Right. But when you actually find yourself in the middle of Tuscany, it all feels different.

Spa
As part of the tour, we also went down to the spa area. We really liked the pool, part of which was indoors and part – outdoors. There was also a sauna available. It looked like a very cozy arrangement.

Restaurants
We also took a peek at the restaurant and bar area. While we didn’t get to eat there, I can say that they also looked very modern. I wouldn’t be surprised to find modern cuisine there. The bar looked like a space ship.

Location
Another brief word on the location of the hotel. Barberino di Mugello is really a quaint working class town. I suspect that the inhabitants either work in some local factories or perhaps at the outlet mall. It’s not the kind of town where you would want to go for a romantic stroll in the evening. The plus is that a fantastic outlet mall is nearby: I ended up having a very successful shopping spree there.

Conclusion
In the end, I felt really bad because the manager took quite a lot of time to show us all available options, but we still didn’t like the hotel. Management dealt with the situation very well and we didn’t have an issue with unwanted charges due to a last-minute change of heart. I was grateful for that; it could’ve easily added some negative vibe to the first few days of our honeymoon.

I would like to give a word of warning to the traditionalists like myself. If you like old-style luxury, don’t expect to find old-style luxury, just renovated, here. Although the building itself might be old, from the inside it looks like a Philippe Starck -designed place built just a few years ago. If you, on the opposite, really like modern design, this might be just the place for you.

I also felt that the value was definitely lacking a bit. Even though we were on honeymoon and we were prepared to pay more for a room, if we really liked it, we couldn’t justify the 500EUR+ price tag for some of these rooms.

We ultimately found ourselves at Westin Excelsior in a suite with a view of Arno right in the middle of Florence and thoroughly enjoyed spending several nights there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Perfect for a romantic getaway but good if you bring the children alone. Food and wine list are top notch. It's like having your own renaissance villa in the hills of Tuscany. going for jog at dawn in the park behind the pool with the view of the hillside is priceless!

Room Tip: Any large suite facing the back of the hotel (pool) where you get a breathtaking view of the hills o...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orlando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Le Villa Maschere in August 2012 for one week. We're a family of four and we selected 2 interconnected suites. These worked out very well - spacious, clean, quality furnishings and windows that open.

You know the hotel room is good when the only way I would improve it is with better lighting in the bathroom.

Management, you say this is a non-smoking hotel, yet pool-side is where your smoking guests go to chain smoke. This is VERY, VERY unpleasant as a non smoker. Please make the pool area non smoking too. Wake up to the dangers of second hand smoke - it's killing people.

Suggestion: this hotel needs a tennis court, or other sporting activity.

Visitor advice: we recommend renting a car when you stay here. The hotel restaurants are lovely but expensive (as they always are). Without a car you are captive to the hotel restaurants and there are great restaurants within 5 mins drive, for example Latera restaurant was fantastic. Also a car will allow you to take a easy day trip to Siena or Florence.

Breakfast, which was included for us was impressive... Huge range of food, fresh and beautifully presented.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay very much. I highly recommend this hotel. Beware of the smokers by the pool!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steph H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Not far from Firenze the hotel is just located 40 minutes away from the city.
It's a 5 stars hotel, however the service, despite of very nice waiters, is not at the level..
Unfortunately food is really overpriced and I don't recommend it, just prefer going outside, in places where price are more reasonable, not pretending for something they don't deserve.

Rooms are nice, amenities are pretty good, but the state of the walls is not in a very good shape. I found the mattress a bit hard, but it depends on everyone.

Otherwise, the very good point of the hotel is its SPA and swimming pool which are wonderful (Sauna, Hammam, Jacuzzi), the only issue being the overpriced snacking ( like 14€ a panini??!!). When you stay in such a hotel, you'd rather enjoy normal prices (too huge gap between the hotel and the local prices).

There is no "proper fitness centre" (a pity considering the SPA quality), you will find very few instruments working in the middle of a  meeting room with no air conditioning.However you can enjoy the park and have a nice jogging.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mikow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dadada1, Direttore at Villa Le Maschere, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your comment and for the compliment to our Welness Center and waitress.
Your impressions help us to improve our service to satisfy our guest’s expectative.
I’m so sorry to read that your comment is only on the price list of our restaurant and nothing at all about the quality of our gastronomic. The dinner is served on Foggini terrace with a romantic and breathtaking view of the Bilancino lake. You could enjoy the menu of the swimmingpool prepared for a guest who wish to eat on the swiimongpool without move. The fitness center is located in a gallery with air conditioned. It is a workout area with modern equipments, surrounded by the art of Villa le Maschere's “Chini Collection”
Best regards

Danilo D'Angelo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Di Mugello
3.1 mi away
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
UNA Poggio Dei Medici
#1 of 6 in Scarperia e San Piero
275 reviews
15.8 mi away
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
Ville sull'Arno Hotel
#22 of 411 in Florence
824 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inn Hotel
Inn Hotel
#2 of 5 in Barberino Di Mugello
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Villa Campestri Olive Oil Resort
14.3 mi away
Il Salviatino
Il Salviatino
#90 of 411 in Florence
758 reviews
16.4 mi away
Villa Tolomei Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Le Maschere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Le Maschere

Address: Via Nazionale 75, 50031, Barberino Di Mugello, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Di Mugello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Barberino Di Mugello
Price Range: $180 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Le Maschere 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revival of tradition with a contemporary twist and refined settings where perfect harmony exists between history,art and design.architectural features, interiors and exteriors restored to their former splendor, are witness to the evolution of tradition and development of style and techniques that all go to make up the history of villa le maschere. Splendid frescoes and ornamental stuccos that are true works of art, render every room unique. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Villa Le Maschere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Le Maschere Hotel Barberino Di Mugello
Hotel Le Maschere
Resort Le Maschere
Villa Le Maschere Tuscany, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing