We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outside my usually holiday experience”

Basilica di Santa Maria
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.46*
and up
Mount Etna, Randazzo and Alcantara Gorges Day Trip from Taormina
Ranked #1 of 28 things to do in Randazzo
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Outside my usually holiday experience”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Well as the title says not my normal holiday experience.
Looks nothing from the outside, actually reminded me of the exterior of Leicester goal.
Inside the artwork is truly stunning, and you can lite a candle rather than a bulb.
I am so pleased I visited.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    41
    4
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
2 reviews
“very impressive church”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We attended a wedding in this church and it was great. However, there was too much echo from the speakers that we hardly understood what the priest was saying.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Europe
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Basilica di Santa Maria, Randazzo”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Situated in the Latin quarters of Randazzo, the Basilica di Santa Maria is constructed of lava stone in Norman-Swabian architecture. The Church is adorned with a beautiful set of melodic bells. Well worth a visit. At the side of the Church there is a belvedere.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This beautiful church in the nice town of Randazzo is well worth the visit (amongst the other churches there) As with a lot of the southern churches very pretty, lots of intricate details and not over the top grand size). We wandered through the churches in Randazzo and enjoyed them all as part of an easy walk.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammercounty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basilica di Santa Maria also viewed

Randazzo, Province of Catania
 
Randazzo, Province of Catania
 

Been to Basilica di Santa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing