We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A good family holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My family (2 adults and a 10year old) stayed at the Puerto Azul from Aug 19 - Sept 2 2013. We booked the hotel on the internet with separate transfers and flights. The booking was quite straight forward and was followed by confirmation from the hotel.
On arrival at approx 12:15 we were told our suite was ready, but on entering the room found sand on the floor in the living room and both the bedroom and bathroom. Also there was suncream smeared on the bedroom dressing mirror. There were also lots of ants on the balcony. These problems took care of immidiately we reported them to reception, with the staff being genuinely apologetic. They also left us the ant spray can, but the ants never returned.
For the rest of our stay the room was cleaned spotlessly, with towels and sheets changed every three days. The chambermaids were always very friendly and accomodating if you required anything extra or wished to have a lie in.
We knew about the extra charge for the fridge in advance, so we had no problem with this, but paying 37 euros for it does tend to feel a little bit like money grabbing. We brought a little travel kettle with us as we like a hot drink first thing in the morning and it was cheaper than renting a kettle from the hotel. We also took plastic glasses and plates for snacks. Bottled water in 6lt bottles was available at the supermarket just round the corner from the hotel for 1:10 euro.

The room electrics work by placing the door keycard in a slot by the door. When card is not in the slot,no plug sockets work, so you can't charge phones etc while you're out. This can be overcome by placing any plastic credit card sized card in the slot - we used both a Boots reward card and a Matalan card on different occasions.
We had no problem with the airconditioning as you have to remember to close the balcony door due to a magnetic sensor at the top of the door which cuts out the aircon when door is opened. Ours worked fine and on several nights we turned it off due to the room getting uncomfortably cool
. We stayed in room C215 (2nd floor of C block next to the lift) which sort of overlooked the pool (which we requested). There were several palm trees right outside which was fine with us as it afforded a little privacy and shade, and you can see the pool through the trees.There was also a nice breeze afforded us being on the 2nd floor. There are clothes drying racks on the balcony,use these to dry towels etc, as when balconies above are hosed off, the water drips onto the railings of the balcony below. Balcony is also quite spacious,with a table and chairs.

The room furniture is somewhat tired looking, but is functional and I personally found the beds comfortable - though I do like a hard bed. We also paid for a room safe for keeping money secure, I can't remember exactly how much the safe hire cost, I think it was around 20 euros for 2 weeks, but it did allow for some peace of mind. The bathroom was kept spotless and supplied with plenty of toilet paper. Shower is the above bath type and worked fine.

The public rooms were always kepy very clean, even on the two days it rained while we were there. Reception staff always friendly and helpful with regards to bus information and things to do such as local walks etc.

Pool is not as big as it appears in the brochure photos, but it also was kept spotless and clean. There was also the daily sunbed rush at 9am, laughable really. Guests were up as early as 6am putting towels on chairs and placing the chairs where they wanted the sunbeds to be when the beds were unlocked at 9am. Also dragging parasols around to their chosen spots. There are enough sunbeds for every guest in the hotel plus extra. We usually went to the pool around 11am and sunbeds were still available, you just had to look for a spot to put it, which were also available if you don't mind where you lie in the sun. And you still had good access to the pool.
The pool is in three parts. A main 2 metre deep pool, a roped off smaller part approx 0.75 mt deep and a separate kiddies paddling pool which is fenced off from the main pool for safety.
There is a kids club for the under 8's - we didn't see any kids older than this using it. it usually takes place before noon and throughout the pool day with the usual pool games etc. The entertainment staff always seemed to be on duty and appeared to work extremely hard. You've not played "bingo" untill you've tried "chicken bingo" to win a free coffee.
Inflatable toys were allowed in the pool although it states they not allowed by all the notices posted around the pool. There is no pool lifeguard on duty.

The restaurant was open from 8/10am for breakfast, and from 6:30/9pm for dinner. We were half board and so never had lunch there, but I think food was available for lunch.
There was always plenty to eat for breakfast including fruit, cold meats and cheese, pastries, toast, cereals, etc., as well as hot cooked bacon, sausages, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans and eggs - fried, scrambled and boiled. Note that the toaster is turned off at 10am prompt, even if your toast is still in there. This could either be frustrating or very funny depending how you looked on it.
Dinner was a little hit and miss. For me personally the food was pretty bland, mostly being unseasoned. It is served buffet style, as was breakfast. There was always at least one soup, cold salads, meats and cheeses. Usually there were around five hot dishes as well as a dish cooked to order on a separate part of the buffet. This could range from sliced steak to local fish and was usually the best of the dinner choices, but again under or not seasoned - maybe I'm just fussy. The paella was the nicest thing I had whilst there, though there was always something to suit all tastes. And you could eat as much as you wished. There were also a variety of sweets available as well as fruit and cheese board.
There was a separate section for kids food as well - chicken nugget and burger types of food, along with ice-cream, jelly etc.
Any drinks have to be ordered and paid for at the table, but we usually got our drinks from the pool bar prior to entering the restaurant, so we never had to wait to be served by the waiting staff.

The restaurant was always spotlessly clean like the rest of the hotel, though if you entered the restaurant after 8:15 you would had to queue for a table. I've worked in catering and hotels most of my life and in my opinion there were never enough staff on duty to quickly re-lay the tables for arriving guests. The staff re-laying the tables did a thorough and efficient job, there just wern't enough of them, therefore resulting in the queues. Maybe the management have cut back on staff, as even though they always had a smile for the guests, they were very rushed.

What can I say about the hotel nightly entertainment ? Sometimes amateurish, but funny, somtimes loud. Brought in entertainment usually better than the hotel entertainment staff, which is mainly aimed at the kids. It finishes approximately at 11:30 pm. If it's not your cup of tea,then there's plenty of entertainment going on within a 5 min walk of the hotel.

Puerto Pollenca is a lovely place The pine walk is a very relaxing place to amble along, both day or night time. There was always something happening in the main square with its many bars, cafes and restaurants. We never felt threatened or unsafe when out at night, even in some the darker back streets, plus there always seemed to be a police presence around.
The hotel is situated quite centrally, 2 mins walk to seafront, 5 mins to the pinewalk, 5 mins to main square, 5 mins to bus station, 10 mins to ferry dock.
There are some good places to visit :

Alcudia old town, frequent aircon bus service approx 1:80 euro, takes 10 minutes.

Pollenca , costs 1:80 on bus takes 15/20 mins. Great market on a Sunday but very busy. Lovely old style spanish town. Great views from the top of the Calvari steps - all 360+ of 'em.

Cala san Vincenz, bus 1:80 euro, takes 15 minues. Lovely quiet village,4 bays, 3 with sandy beaches.

Formentor beach 12 euro adult, 6 euro child return ferry. Regular service takes approx 25 mins. Great views from ferry, beach is outstanding and very picturesque. Bus service is cheaper than ferry and takes same amount of time. Great cafe right on the beach and not too expensive. Beach frequented by many locals, especially at the weekend.

Cala Bouquer, an easy 50 min mountain walk/stroll - path accessed within 200mts of the hotel. Some stunning scenery, beach is pebbles, but quiet and relaxing. Can only access this bay by walking or by boat.

If you don't do anything else on holiday here, go to Soller by bus over the mountains. It runs once per day and costs approx 6:80 euros. The trip takes 2 hours and the scenery is spectacular if a little hair raising along narrow mountain roads with hairpin bends.From Soller visit Port de Soller, 5 mins by bus, approx 1 euro. very pretty bay. Catch bus back to Soller and take the train to Palma, 12 euros it goes through the famous orange groves and many tunnels, approx 40 mins. Take bus from Palma back to Puerto Pollenca, 8 euros approx 60 mins.

We had a very relaxing holiday in Puerto Pollenca and at the Puerto Azul hotel. I only gave it a 3 star rating due to the rooms being a little tired and in need of a deserved refurb, and the fact that the food in my opinion was a little below par. If they did a more spanish type of food it would probably have been a lot better than them trying to do english types of food (their chichen pie was a bit of a disaster). I guess they're trying to cater for a mainly english clientele.

There is supposed to be a major room refurb at the hotel this coming winter, so if they could up the standard of the food some, I would rate it as a 4 star for next year.

All in all, another good family holiday.

Room Tip: Block C good for breeze and sun till 2pm. But may be a little noisy for some before 11pm, due to bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank mickymacNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    357
    107
    25
    11
See reviews for
496
275
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just returned from 2wks here on half board .Good location , easy to get in and out of if one has hired a car, with free onstreet carparking. Hotel just minutes from pinewalk , with shops,restaurants etc and of course the beach. The hotel was busy, BUT at same time quiet as no rowdiness from quests. We are in our 50's and were among the youngest, with only a few couples with young children who on the whole were well behaved. It would be family orientated during school holidays, hence our going late Sept. Food very good, staff good, room , was a suite type as basically a conversion from self catering ,tv had BBC 1, 2 and Sky sport albeit in German. Would definitely recommend.
The only negative point is being charged 2.5euro perday for hire of fridge, which you will need for water/beer/ fruit etc AGAINST that there is free WIFI (in brochure it just says WIFI available, so i took that had to be paid for).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

this hotel was lovely the staff helpful and the housekeeper did her job with pride! The rooms were clean and towels changed 5 times in a week. We had to hire a fridge and kettle but got air conditioning and full English tv for free although we were never in!. The entertainment was crazy from Spanish dancers to a full rock band but enjoyed what we saw.The hotel is minutes from the beach front and backs onto the mountains. The food was very good on par with a 4 star we thought loads of variety, all hot and plenty of choice. You can even have fried breakfast in the morning if you wanted it. We loved it the pools were clean and well maintained the gardener always at work. Use the buses as we did and you can get anywhere cheaply on the island would I go again you bet!

Room Tip: high in the b block is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liddy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

we have been here twice and once again found the hotel lovely. The staff go out of their way to help you. The food was good with a fair choice of meals. Although the entertainment was terrible this year compared to last year. The main thing that annoyed us was the fact that the hotel wasnt full but there were still mindless morons putting towels on the sunbeds at 7.30am!!! This is majorca not germany.The bedrooms and bathrooms are being upgraded for nxt year and apparently the cost is being passed on to the customer in a 25% rise in prices nxt year. The staff were a bit concerned about this and we will certainly think about whether we can afford to go again.

Room Tip: air vent needed in bathroom as it steamed up very quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Helpful?
1 Thank 608michaelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel R, Director General at Puerto Azul Suite Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We thank all our repeating guests for their continuous visits, our intention is to increase the category up to 4 stars, but not up to 25% in the price. at the moment the prices for 2014 are not yet confirmed.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

On arrival entrance and reception area well lit and inviting, main accommodation areas unfortunately called Blocks are some what austere however the room with bathroom and seating area are basic but satisfactory and clean as is the remainder of the hotel, the veranda with seats table and cloths drying rack are useful. I shall move onto the dining room and food as this is naturally key to ones holiday, the dining room is of a good size and pleasant, the food on offer is Buffet Style and does not claim to be fine dining, the choice of both breakfast and dinner is wide and varied including Hot and Cold choices all of a reasonable standard all be it not always very hot, drinks are offered at the table, the method of service and table clearance can at times be seen as somewhat chaotic due to the numbers being catered for and the Buffet Style. Nice Pool Area, Bars, Staff first rate, entertainment not to my liking to, 70's but I didn't have to watch it. The Hotel location is not on the sea front but is fine only a short walk away. Puerto Pollensa and area is a nice resort plenty to see and do well patronised by the Brits. As is much the case in life, you get what you pay for this holiday for myself and my wife represented Good Value for money. Well done Management and Staff, thank you.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor overlooking the road suited us, quiet and I imagine much quieter than ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

There were 5 of us (parents plus 3 teens/20 somethings), so 2 rooms, adjacent to each other. We love suite hotels as you get so much more space than in a normal hotel. Our balconies overlooked the street behind the hotel and the mountains beyond there - pleasant enough and certainly nice and quiet. Take your travel kettle, a few bits of cutlery, pay for the fridge hire - a few euros - and buy a few paper plates. You'll be set up nicely for light lunches and snacks in between really good meals on the half board basis. We had no complaints about the rooms - spotlessly clean, decent bathrooms etc etc. There is the usual problem of towels on sunbeds at the pool, but the staff are helpful when need be. The Reception Staff are fantastic by the way.

Restaurant: well organised, great choice of food every single day, some repetition, but equally lots of variation and a few themes going on eg a chinese style evening - best puddings and cakes we've ever eaten on Spanish soil! not good for the figure.... and best croissants ever found in Spain. Couldn't fault the food in any way really although obviously not everything is to everybody's taste, there was so much choice it couldn't be a problem. The house wine was pretty rough though, and when we complained (ours was definitely corked) they replaced it with a better wine for which we had to pay the difference, but they actually told us off for pouring it into our glasses before complaining. Given that they bring it out already opened and don't offer it to anyone to taste, we felt this was a bit much, so we drank water for the rest of the week with our meals in protest!

From the hotel, it is just a very short walk down to the sea front, where you can walk along the pine walk to the left or beach and marina front to the right where there are lots of shops. The town market was also fantastic. The wi-fi is not very good in this hotel, but if you go into town there are loads of bars with free wi-fi and there is a municipal free wi-fi as well if you sit in the main square.

Shops: there are several small shops within a few minutes walk of the hotel so it's easy to get fresh bread, fruit, salad stuff, cooked meats, cheese, bottled water, etc etc

We would definitely go back to the Puerto Azul and hope the renovation goes well for them.

Room Tip: If you want a pool view you will have to put up with loud entertainment, it does finish at a reasona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My husband and I recently spent 10 days in the Puerto Azul hotel and we had a lovely holiday. The hotel was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Having read reviews before we went, I knew the accommodation was basic and due to be renovated but we still felt it was decent accommodation, very spacious and good value for money. The food was lovely, breakfast was delicious and in the evening there was a good choice and we always found something we liked. The staff were very friendly and worked really hard clearing tables and keeping things moving.

The location of the hotel was perfect. My husband is a keen birder and he spent most mornings in the Boquer Valley which was just at the back of the hotel and we both enjoyed lovely walks along the beautiful Pine Walk which was just a few minutes away. Puerto Pollensa itself is a beautiful resort and as we wanted to see more of Majorca we visited the Cap de Formentor, Pollensa town, Palma and also drove through the mountains to Soller and Valldemossa. All in all, it was an excellent holiday and I wouldn't hesitate to return to this hotel, it had everything we wanted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandBaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,042 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
Hoposa Bahia Hotel
#1 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villaconcha
Hoposa Hotel & Apartments Villac...
#8 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#15 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 32 in Port de Pollenca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Azul Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Azul Suite Hotel

Property: Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Address: Calle Pere Melia 4, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Puerto Azul Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Puerto Azul Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Puerto Azul Aparthotel Hotel Port De Pollenca
Valentin Puerto Azul Aparthotel Pollenca
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing