We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indifferent?!?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Port de Pollenca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just got back (4th August 2012) from two weeks in Puerto Azul. We travelled with our two sons aged 15 and 13. I have never written a review before so will simply list pros and cons -

PROS -
Hotel staff are lovely and very friendly
Rooms are cleaned daily
Towels changed daily Linen twice weekly
Food buffet style, always something you like. Includes a chef's hotplate counter which is manned and provides fresh fried eggs at breakfast and a variety of freshly cooked meats and vegetables at dinner. As well as a children's buffet bar.
Location is excellent - 2 minute wall to the sea front and pine walk.
Food at pool side cafe provides pizza, toasted sandwiches, salad and burgers all very reasonable
Alchoholic drinks reasonably priced compared to bars in Pollensa

CONS
You have to get up at 7.30 am to bag a pitch for your sunbed i.e grab a chair from the pool cafe and sit in the spot where you want to put your sunbeds when they are finally unchained at 9.00 am!!! The first day we just got up as normal and did not get a sunbed by the pool. The second day I got up and sat where I would like my sunbeds to go and when they were finally unchained at 9.00am an old man snatched a sunbed out of my hands and shouted 'No!. The third day i went down at 7.30 am sat in my 'pitch' and then my husband came down at 8.45am to help me get some sunbeds! It was awful - but you had to do it as there weren't enough sunbeds for all the guests. Consequently half the day the pool was littered with sunbeds with towels on and no-one using them as they had 'reserved' them until they got back from the beach in the afternoon! Everyone I spoke to agreed that it was ridiculous but no-one did anything about it, even the staff said there was nothing they could do. You simply had to play along. On the up side I sat for the hour and a half and read my book in the peace and quite - got through two books!

The English! I am sorry to say that I am going to complain about my fellow Englishmen! If you want to go to a hotel where it is ALL English and everyone knows each other - most families had been coming for years - we spoke to someone who had been coming for 24 years! Its ideal for you - unfortunately we felt like outsiders being the first time we had visited the hotel!

The Pool - the baby pool had to be closed five times during our two week stay as children and pooed in the pool. This meant that everyone was in the 'adult' pool.

'Adult' pool - I put this in inverted commas because it clearly isn't an adult pool. There are signs saying no children under six, no lilos, footballs or diving. Believe me you take you life in your own hands trying to swim in the pool. If you aren't getting flattened by lilos or dinghys you are getting hit by footballs! Despite the entertainment team making the same announcement every day - NO ONE takes any notice and the rules are not enforced.


SUMMARY
We had fantastic weather, the beach is lovely, if you play along you can get a sunbed! Don't expect to be able to swim lengths - unless you get in before breakfast or wait until about 17.30 when most families leave to get ready for an early dinner - this is when we used the pool most. The man who tends the garden and pool does a fantastic job everywhere is spotless. The rooms are large as it used to be an aparthotel and the kitchen facilities are still there, (although to use the fridge it will cost you 35 euros a week) lots of storage, flat screen televisions with all national channels including BBC1 & 2 useful as we were there during the first week of the Olympics and were able to watch the summary show every night. Entertainment every night although do not expect anything special - we chose to walk along the seafront or pinewalk each night after dinner as it was cringingly bad some nights!

I would not recommend this hotel for couples! My 15 year old son made friends with some lovely English children so we didn't see much of him but my 13 year old son got quite bored and didn't want to sit by the pool. I think it is idealy suited for young families unless you travel with friends who have similar aged children if they are older as they will get bored.

Room Tip: Get up early to reserve your pitch for your sunbed - do not try and do this alone!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,024)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

760 - 766 of 1,024 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2012

Just got back from a week at the Puerto Azul - my fourth stay with daughters aged 12 and 10, so they're doing something right. The only negatives remain the rooms, which show the hotel's history as S/C apartments, the food which is a bit staid at times, and the entertainment which was much better in Thompson days but then there are now four staff doing what about 12 Thompson staff did. Some of the (not very) professional evening shows were a bit naff, and have got worse over the years.
On the upside, the rooms are clean and very spacious for the three of us. Maid service is excellent. Restaurant worked OK, and despite the above comment, there was usually plenty of choice and decent quality and buffet service allows the girls to eat with their eyes. Pool area is clean and as safe as water ever can be. Staff were polite and helpful. We got the sort of room we asked for. The sunshine was turned on almost every day, too.
To the few moaners and groaners (who, I'll bet, bring their own teabags!!), no, it's not the Sandy Lane in Barbados. It doesn't claim to be and isn't priced as 5 star. Just a good honest - and for me, relaxing - holiday. Will we go back one more time? It's a distinct possibility.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mummydaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

There were 11 of us in our extended family holiday consisting of 7 adults, 1 teenager & 3 children (ages 16,12,11,10) and we have all just had a fantastic holiday. Some of us came to this hotel 5 years ago and were very surprised that some of the hotel staff remembered us. This just goes to show how friendly and caring all the staff at the hotel are. The hotel allocated us rooms on the ground floor as requested as our daughter is Down's syndrome and uses a wheelchair.
The rooms were clean and spacious and the added bonus of paying for a the fridge to be switched on is that we brought food and drink from the supermarkets to eat at lunch times.
The food was good and varied and Malena and her waitresses were excellent. The bar staff were great too, especially Alberto who had us in fits of laughter. The entertainment team were great too, headed by Sorin who works so hard during the day and evening with activities and party dances. Our high light of the holiday was the Aqua Flash in the pool we had such laugh joining in and even surprised Sorin by dressing up on our last day of Aqua flash.
Some people mentioned the sunbeds but in our experience all hotels are like that but I think this hotel has it right by chaining them up and unlocking them at 9am. Yes people did tend to go down around 8am to reserve spots but everyone we had encounters with were very friendly and helpful. We did not come across anyone who was greedy with the sunbeds. We were a large party but only took 5 or 6 sunbeds between the 11 of us and used them all the time but on our 11 days there at the end of July beginning of August there were still sunbeds free throughout the day. The pools and pool area itself was very clean and the pool attendant worked hard to maintain it.
The area of Puerto Pollenca its self is very pretty. The promanade walks along to the harbour and the pine walk is beautiful. Worth taking a walk along there to look at the magnificent sand sculptures. We took a walk through the square and along the prom and a couple of times there were some street entertainers. It reminded me of Covent Garden in London.
To round up the hotel and area is such a lovely place to spend a great family holiday. I have mentioned some members of staff at the hotel by name but every member of staff at the hotel were friendly, efficient and like a big family themselves. We felt very safe and very well looked after. I think I speak for all my family (11 of us) that we will return as the hotel, Puerto Pollenca and Majorca is such a special place.
Regards Sharon from London.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side are quieter but if you have mobility problems email the hotel prior to ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shazms26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just recently stayed at the hotel from back end of July for 10 nights. My partner and I took our 7 month old son and stayed in block B. We had requested a high-floor pool-view room and when we got there, that's what we were given.. however.. there was no lift in block B (maybe we missed this when booking) so this proved a little difficult each day carrying a heavy baby in his pram up and down 3 floors! Not the hotel's fault as such, but we think the absence of a lift should be stated more clearly in brochures/websites - especially for a hotel that attracts so many families with young children and pushchairs!
The room itself was very adequate and had enough room to relax in without getting on top of each other. Fresh towels everyday and left very tidy. The "kitchenette" was incredibly basic (no cutlery, plates etc.. however we only ended up using it for our kettle and didn't even bother paying for the fridge facility. The beds were sufficient but VERY squeaky and the headboard fell off the wall !!
Food-wise, don't expect much variation for breakfast. Usual streaky, fatty bacon, sausage, scrambled egg (with a strange consistency) , fried eggs, beans & grilled tomatoes everyday. This is ok for a while, but we found ourselves gagging for some proper English breakfasts! One very good (and cheap) place can be found as you turn left out of the hotel, left again, and a short walk along can be found "The Pines", or alternatively, in the other direction a place called Can Blanche. During the day, snacks from the pool-side bar are very reasonable and drinks are cheap too. On an evening, there was a lot of choice.. but none of it seemed to really go together! We found ourselves getting a real mish-mash of dishes and just having to "make it work". For children, they have their own small buffet area and there are lots of highchairs available.
With regards to sunbeds, before you do anything, toss aside your common courtesy and regard for anyone else in the hotel before grabbing one! We were astonished with how greedy the other guests were. The sunbeds are chained up until just before 9am, so people were going down early, grabbing a plastic chair, putting their towels on them and reserving their "patch". Then, about 8am, we saw people emerging and sitting in their patch, waiting for the guy to come and unlock the beds. It probably takes less than 5 minutes after unlocking the beds for all the good spots to be taken and there be none left for anyone else. The best part about it is, most of the people who reserve them, saunter off down the beach all day and don't even touch them!! Very unfair for the rest of the guests and puts you off even trying to get a sunbed to be honest.

So, all in all, a GOOD stay at the hotel, but could be improved with a no-reserving policy for the sunbeds & a BIT of variation for the breakfasts. All the staff were very friendly and polite and the general cleanliness of the hotel was spot on.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelleChrisLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just got back from 10 nights at the Puerto Azul, rooms are basic but very clean, lovely food, nice pool but a bit of a fight for sunbeds in the morning, good program of entertainment and very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend it for a good all round family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

10 days end of June beginning July. 2 adults and a 10 year old boy. Paid half board coz it was cheaper than B and B which we normally do as we like to eat out on an evening.
The hotel - very good. I'd judge it as a 3 star plus if there was such a thing. Reception staff very nice. Wife and i very happy with the food but our very fussy 10 year old struggled slightly. There is a lovely outdoor eating area adjacent to the nice cool restaurant. Daytime games at various points in the day hosted by a very nice english speaking Spaniard and his team. Evening entertainment as usual. 3 - 4 good professional acts and the usual staff cabartet. Pool area very attractive and cleaned every morning. Sunbeds released from their "chains" at 9.00 every morning. No hassle at all during our time period but may be a fight at the height of the season. Rooms basic but cleaned every day. Split across 3 blocks A,B and C. We researched the hotel and got the exact room we asked for (A318) overlooking the pool area with the mountains in the background which was especially nice as the sun was going down and creating lots of shadows and silhouettes while we were sipping our wine. Slight downside of this block was a bit of noise from drinkers at the outdoor bar beneath the window. Stopped about midnight. BBC channels on telly which helps and sky on large telly in reception. Hotel enclosed so feels very safe. Air con in lounge/kitchenette good but didnt seem quite as effective in the bedroom. Other people said there's was fine so it may just have been our room or us being fussy.
Location - quiet residential area 5 mins max from lovely pine walk in one direction and 5 mins to "the sqaure" (restaurants) in another. Another 5 mins along the pine walk and you're at the marina with the full range of dingy's up to luxury motor yachts. Hire a small motor boat for an hour (30 euros) and have a little ride amongst them !! great fun. Spar 3 mins from hotel.
The resort - great ! one of the prettiest proms you'll come across. Restaurants on pine walk a little more pricey than the square but you are paying for the view. Puerto Pollensa has its own big market one day a week but well worth the 15 min bus fair to Pollensa village market or Alcudia market.
No clubs, loud discos or rowdy groups.
Definately recommend hotel and resort.
Kev and family
North Yorks

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JDP40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We have just had 2 weeks here and travelled with our 3 kids - aged 6, 3 and 18 months.

We had a brilliant holiday and we will probably come back again at some point. Aside from agreeing with other reviews about cleanliness, high quailty fod, entertainment and good standards of pools for childrens, our main highlight is a bit more specific.

The main reason we were able to have such a good holiday is because Malena (Head Waitress) did such an amazing job in helping us with our 18 month old daughter who has such severe allergies to all dairy, egg, sesame and nuts and can collapse on even a trace of certain foods. Malena completely overwhelmed us with how great she was in helping us. Nothing was too much trouble for her - she was kind, available when we needed her help, informative and really helpful. This meant that we could then relax and enjoy the hotel for all of the reasons stated in other reviews.

The only way our holiday could have been improved is if the sofa bed in the living area had been of a better standard and the rooms, whilst exceptionally clean, are a bit tired and need updating. That said, this is a great hotel which offered a wonderful family holiday and is great value for money. Well done Peurto Azul!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Port de Pollenca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,158 reviews
1.0 mi away
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
FERGUS Style Pollensa Park SPA
#14 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
2,273 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoposa Daina Hotel
Hoposa Daina Hotel
#4 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Aparthotel Club del Sol
Aparthotel Club del Sol
#18 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sis Pins
Sis Pins
#6 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
740 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
Hoposa Uyal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puerto Azul Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puerto Azul Suite Hotel

Address: Calle Pere Melia 4, 07470 Port de Pollenca, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Port de Pollenca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#8 Family Hotel in Port de Pollenca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Port de Pollenca
Price Range: $120 - $1,154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Puerto Azul Suite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puerto Azul Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Puerto Azul Aparthotel Hotel Port De Pollenca
Valentin Puerto Azul Aparthotel Pollenca
Puerto Azul Suite Hotel Majorca/Port De Pollenca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing